18
Dec
08

The blessings of balance

teetertottertimeBalance is a critical topic when you consider doing a “diet” for a lifetime.  It is best to think of your “diet” as a lifestyle change.  Balance is healthy.  I have and usually do go to the extreme wether it be eating right or exercise or work.  I have realized that balance is key to my success at moving towards a healthier me.  I don’t have to run ultra-marathons all the time.  I can just go out and enjoy running for 45 minutes.  I don’t have to eat the same thing day in and day out to keep the weight off, I just have to keep variety with my foods so that I can remember that healthy living is more enjoyable than unhealthy living.  The most important thing about balance is that it helps you stay on track for a long long time.  It may seem slow going for the type “A’s”, but in the long run it is more successful.  Extremes cannot usually be maintained for too long, and then, BURN OUT.  Not this time.  I am staying fit and healthy for life.

Check out this post from another blogger who I like.  It is pretty much on topic and I really liked it. 

http://talesofadisorderedeater.org/category/exercise-addiction/

4 Responses to “The blessings of balance”


  1. 1 somedayistoday
    December 18, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I too am an extremist! It’s been a long journey trying to change that habit and perspective in my life. Balance is absolutely a major key to success in a healthy lifestyle. I don’t want to ever “diet” again. Deprivation is not the answer. Our bodies are craving many things and it’s up to us to listen to its needs. Just because I’m craving something sweet doesn’t mean I need to eat a gallon of ice-cream or if I’m craving something salty to eat a bag of salty vinegar chips!! I’m learning how to make better choices. I’m an “A” type as well and this change seems slow! But as you said, it’s a change for life. One day it will be second nature that will take time and consistency in my life choices.

    Thanks for the great post!

    • 2 run4change
      December 18, 2008 at 10:46 pm

      Man, my mouth actually watered when I read salt and vinegar chips. I love those so much. They are a forbidden item to never enter my house. I do eat them after a marathon though. I loved your comment and it was much appreciated. Thanks a lot.

  2. December 20, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Wow, super website. I find I fuck up when I lose balance and go UBER hardcore into the fitness. I crash, I burn, my eating patterns shift.

    • 4 run4change
      December 20, 2008 at 4:06 am

      I know, isn’t that so true. I am the same way. When I get all extreme I always end up screwing this all up. Thanks a lot for your comment. It is much appreciated. Balance is one thing I have to learn. HA, maybe I should learn some for blogging then I would not be so addicted to this thing.

      Anyway, come by and visit. I am always putting new posts up to encourage and inspire us all to health and weight loss.
      https://run4change.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

