20
Dec
08

I blundered my weight loss program, but I’m getting up now.

cookies

I botched it up, fell off the wagon, backslid, and blundered my plan.  Well, it wasn’t that horrible.  It was just a moment, a couple of hours.  I consumed a significant amount of junk, stuff I usually stay totally away from.  As you can see from the picture above, cookies were a big part of my blunder.  At work I got this enormous gift pack of candy, cookies, pretzels, etc.  It must have weighed like 20 lbs.  I kept SNACKING.  Overtime I had eaten a whole lotta nothin (Well, nothin that was good for me).

WEIGHT LOSS BLUNDER.  It happens to all of us.  It is a normal part of our growth process.  We can’t reach our goals without messing up so we might as well prepare ahead of time for them.  It is important to have a game plan in place for these instances.  What I really wanted to post about was what we do with the screw up. I wanted to be honest about  my weight loss blunder to myself and all of you, which is the first step to getting back up from a fall.  You have to be honest with yourself.  If I were to fall off a bike in the middle of the road Iwould never dream of staying down.  I would hop up, get back on the bike and hope that nobody saw me fall.  You have now witnessed me fall and now you can witness me get back up.  In the big picture of our health and weight loss journeys, a blunder of a couple of hours or even a couple of days is just a blip on the radar.  The most important thing is that we get up, dust ourselves off, and get on with our journeys and good choices.  Hopefully we have others with us to give a helping hand when we are down.  If you don’t, maybe this blog could be that “helper”.

The world is harsh enough.  We don’t need an extra beating for our blunders.  What we need is the courage to start again.  It isn’t easy, we get depressed and down, we feel like giving up or waiting until next Monday or whatever, but we don’t have to.  I have learned to plan for these times and my plan is to get up and keep going making my next life/food choice a good one.  This way I can start a new string of victories which will in time cancel out the memory of the fall.

Any comments on this post would be especially appreciated.  Muchas Gracias.  A good related link is: https://run4change.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/self-sabotage-and-weight-loss/

4 Responses to “I blundered my weight loss program, but I’m getting up now.”


  1. 1 run4change
    December 20, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks sarah for the comment. I am very honored that recommended the post. I wasn’t particularly proud of what I did, but I felt like it was REAL and well worth the slight embarrassment.

    Once again thanks for the comment it is much appreciated. Come by any time.
    https://run4change.wordpress.com/2008/12/13/before-and-after-pics/


Leave a Reply

