21
Dec
08

Unveiling the “fat” mind inside the skinny body

 

Fat guy with the "fat" mind

Fat guy with the "fat" mind

Skinny guy with the fat mind

Skinny guy with the "fat" mind

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I read a post today that I identified with very closely.  I never thought that I would identify with a post such as this, but it sure hit home.  In my journey to becoming a healthier and fitter person, some things have gotten distorted.  Especially things within my “fat” mind.  You know, the thoughts and perceptions that fill your mind as a person trying to lose weight.  The fears, the hopes, etc.  In order for me to really express this “fat” thinking inside a “fit” guy I will need a bit more room than this post allows for.  So make sure that you check out each part of the story below.  The story will follow the same format as the original post, although some of the aspects are a bit different.  I have also provided a link to the post that inspired me to unveil the crazy journey into my mind.

The root post that inspired me was written by Melissa at Tales of a Disordered Eater.

12 Responses to “Unveiling the “fat” mind inside the skinny body”


  1. 1 lissa10279
    December 22, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Thank you so much for linking to me, Jason. This is one of the ugly byproducts of losing weight — and changing your identity — that so many of us go through, but no one really talks about. It’s the nitty-gritty tough stuff … and it’s what led to the creation of my blog.

    Take care and best wishes!

    • 2 run4change
      December 22, 2008 at 2:40 am

      Thank you Lissa.

      Your comments encourage me to the utmost. You are great and your blog is helping many. Have a great night and thanks again. Let me know about the guest blogging thing. I don’t know much about it, but I think you would add a great source of comfort to my blog.

      Thanks again.
      https://run4change.wordpress.com

  2. 3 miquie's
    December 23, 2008 at 4:08 am

    i talk a lot about what is going on in my own head on my blog and i can relate to some if the things you haVE written throughout this blog. thank you for blogging about the brute honesty of yourself and your life. take care of yourself and you are in my thoughts…

    • 4 run4change
      December 23, 2008 at 1:08 pm

      It is that inner thought world, when shared, is what helps us all out. We so often feel like nobody could possibly struggle with this, or think like that, or do this so and so. Thanks for coming. I am heading over to your blog right now.

  3. December 24, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Hi Jason,

    Thank you for your kind words. Yes I am starting over in more ways than one. I have a long road ahead of me and your encouragement means a lot.

    Can I interview you for my blog? I would love to hear how you did it.

    Hope to hear from you.

    Jay

  4. 7 lil 1/2 pint
    December 24, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Wow! You look like a whole new person! I’ve talked to quite a few people who started C25k around the same time as us – or even later – and they all have experienced significant weight loss.

    So far, in 2 years, I’ve lost 5 pounds. I’m hoping eventually to be able to lose another 20. My goal was to do this by the end of this year but since it didn’t happen, I’m moving the deadline to next December.

    • 8 run4change
      December 24, 2008 at 10:46 pm

      That is great that you have been running for two years. Just add a little more food/nutrition watching and you’ll be golden. Thanks for stopping by and commenting


Leave a Reply

