22
Dec
08

Exercise: Tips on getting out of bed and out the door

Snow on my deck at 4 am

Snow on my deck at 4 am

I am having a very tough time getting out the door for my runs.  We are having a record setting snow fall here.  I have not seen snow like this since I was building snow forts in my backyard in the 5th grade.  These days, the snow tends to keep me inside rather than drawing me outside.  So for a week now I haven’t done any activity.  This is very unlike me.  Activity is usually a priority in my life and weight loss/maintenance efforts, as it should be.  BUT IT’S SO YUCKY OUTSIDE!! Even my dog didn’t want to get up today

Oh it is so warm!

Oh it is so warm!

Here are some tips that we can take to heart to help us get the activity we need to stay healthy:

TIPS TO GET OUT THE DOOR AND INTO ACTIVITY

  • MOST IMPORTANT!  DEVELOP A MORNING (or evening)  ROUTINE
  • Get up right away when your alarm goes off.  It is tough once you lay there in your nice and warm bed.
  • Have your work-out/running clothes next to your bed.
  • Have your morning coffee ready to pour
  • If possible, get a partner.  If one of you doesn’t want to get out there, the other will give you loving encouragement (kick your butt).
  • Remember that something is better than nothing.  Even if you can only do a work-out video, run, walk, do sit-ups, etc. for 10 minutes; just do it.  This will help you develop the habit.  You can increase the time later.
  • If you just can’t do it in the morning, do it immediately upon getting off of work.  Once you get home there are a million things that will suck you into the black hole of inactivity.

Also, remember this healthy life style anchor:  Nobody is ever disappointed that they did their exercise once it is done.  You might not want to do it, you might not want to be doing it, but you are always happy that you did it.

8 Responses to “Exercise: Tips on getting out of bed and out the door”


  1. December 22, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    My friend directed me to your blog that she just happened upon. What an amazing story you have. I am too a runner and have done 3 half marathons and am currently training for my 1st full marathon. I have lost about 50 pounds from my heaviest of a little over 200 pounds over the course of a few years. I am a part of an on-line health and fitness community called Phit-N-Phat. http://www.phit-n-phat.com basically it is a group of women striving for a healthy lifestyle through good eating, cardio and strength training. Thank you for sharing your story on-line. What an inspiration you are to so many. Keep it up and good luck with the running in spite of the snow.

    • 2 run4change
      December 22, 2008 at 4:56 pm

      Thanks so much for the wonderful comment. I am glad that you stopped by. come on by for more encouragement when you need it. I post everyday about the weight loss, running, and health journey. I will have to go check out http://www.phit-n-phat.com

      thanks again

  2. December 22, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Can we not talk about snow? We are burried in it here! I actually spent 25 minutes stuck in my drive way on my way to the gym. I was determined to get a workout in though. Kudos for you for running in this crappy weather. I only run on the treadmill until it warms up. By the way, thanks for checking out my blog. Since I haven’t figured out how to make my name link to my blog just going to post it here for anyone who wants to visit. – http://mamawantsasixpack.wordpress.com Awesome before & after pics by the way! Keep up the hard work. I’m bookmarking ya and will visit again for sure.

    • 4 run4change
      December 22, 2008 at 7:41 pm

      Good job with your determination on getting to workout. Exercise is such a help physically and emotionally. And there is nothing at all wrong with running on treadmills. Hey, that is what they are for.

  3. 5 Anne Lee
    December 22, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Yeah, I guess snow is fun for only so long, huh? It’s great that you’re still trying to get out there and do your run anyway. I’m glad that I just do my 20-minute jog on the treadmill. If that brakes, I’d be outside as well, and today in Maryland, it’s very cold and windy. It’s bad enough that it’s cold, but the wind chill makes it unbearable. I agree with your tip of making exercise a morning routine. I’ve tried putting it off until after work before, and it just doesn’t work. 9 times out of 10, I would end up not doing it.

  4. 7 enjoytheday
    December 22, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Great tips Jason. Working out right after work is really effective for me. In the snow, I have been working out to strength training DVDs. But I do miss running outside.


Leave a Reply

