22
Dec
08

You can’t run too slow!!!!!!!!!!!!

Slow running

My friend over at http://mamawantsasixpack.wordpress.com/ brought a totally important running topic to my mind today.  In fact, I think it is one of the most important running topics that we can blog about.  Especially for normal people like us.  Basically, she made a comment that I hear ALL the time, “….trying to make an effort to start running again (well jogging because I am really slow).”

This is very common talk among people who want to start running. I’ve thought like this millions of times.  As I have learned from my readings of Jeff Galloway and others, running “slow” is a good thing.  From the start of my little running career, I decided that I would be the captain of my own running ship and not care if people passed me by.  I was tired of feeling inferior because my run was some peoples walk.  Hey, I was out there wasn’t I?  Even during a marathon I don’t care anymore.  I just run on at a pace where I am comfortable and can enjoy the process of getting to the finish line.  I have seen many people yelling and screaming in pain at the finish line because they let others be the captain of their running ship.  They tried to keep up with others who were faster.

Just starting a running program is huge.  You don’t need to worry about how fast you run.  You’re still running all the same.  Don’t let anyone tell you different.  We may not be the next marathon world record holder, but we can run, run at a pace that picks us up physically and emotionally.

Here are several reasons why running “slow” is such a good thing!

The benefits of running slow

  • You are out there longer.  I know this may seem like a bad thing, but your body starts using fat for energy much more after 45 minutes.
  • Whether you run 3 miles in 20 minutes or 45 minutes, you still ran 3 miles.
  • Long, slow running transforms your legs muscles into fat burning machines.
  • Slow running is more enjoyable and less torturous.  This allows for a long-term relationship with running.
  • Keeps your heart rate in the fat burning zone.
  • Reduces your chances of running related overuse injuries.

If you want to get started with your own running program and start being captain of your running ship click here:  Start running!

15 Responses to “You can’t run too slow!!!!!!!!!!!!”


  1. 1 enjoytheday
    December 22, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    I agree with you Jason. I think that the important thing is to get out there and exercise, period.

  2. December 23, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Thanks for the motivation! I had just started back on running again and have had to go so slow. This was just the encouragement I needed to get out there. I even looked up 5Ks last night and have one I want to do in April. This was just the kick in the butt I needed to get out there and really work on it. Tomorrow’s my cardio day so I will definitely be running (at least part of it anyway)!

    • 3 run4change
      December 23, 2008 at 1:56 am

      That’s great. My first 5K was in Texas and it was Halloween 5K. I was so excited to be in it. I actually got second in my age group, the only thing was is that there were only two in my age group!

      Thanks for the comment

  3. 4 kmelody
    December 23, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks Jsson for the great post and very motivating blog! This post is a great reminder…I was unable to really feel comfortable with my running until I slowed it down. In fact, I had to download some of the podrunner podcasts to keep me at a slow enough pace 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog, I appreciate it!

  4. 6 moreprivate
    December 23, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Loooove all your blogs. 🙂
    Last year in cross country I was literally the slowest girl on the team!
    (Not this year, yay!!!)
    But even this year I’m one of the slowest. Which is why I’m starting training back up again NOW. I want to get better, and that’ll get better with time.
    But yeah, I always enjoy just running at a pace I’m comfy with, and it feels amazing. 🙂

  5. 7 run4change
    December 23, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    I like “comfy” running!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 8 moreprivate
    December 23, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Me tooooo! And if that’s a 12 minute mile, then so be it!!!

    • 9 run4change
      December 23, 2008 at 3:15 pm

      12 minute mile? Shoot, when I started running, most walkers were passing me up. I actually love running a 12 minuter.

  7. 10 moreprivate
    December 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Haha. At my first race, the race I was running in finished, and then another race started and there were people from the other race who finished before I did… It took me like 45 minutes to do 3 miles, pretty much! Haha.

  8. December 23, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Hey, thanks for stopping by and giving me some encouragement! I was very excited to see this post and as soon as the kids are in bed, I plan on reading more. 🙂 Can I add you to my blogroll?

    Best,
    Alexia, another slow runner!

    • 12 run4change
      December 23, 2008 at 7:52 pm

      Thanks for coming over to run4change. I am excited that you are excited. That is great. I am a slow runner also. Proud of it. I get the luxury of getting my body to burn fat for the majority of the time I run. What lucky guy I am.

      Thanks again

  9. 13 lonerunner
    December 26, 2008 at 1:44 am

    running slow has some benefits.. I do enjoy the slow and relaxed pace but sometimes having to much of it can be bad, if your goal is to set a PR. 🙂

    • 14 run4change
      December 26, 2008 at 2:41 am

      This can be true after some time. I set PR’s in just about all my marathons and ultras without any speed work/training. As fitness, Vo2 max, lactate threshold, etc. increases the room to set PR’s significantly reduces. I still had a lot of room to improve. Setting a PR in finish time is much different than setting a PR in distance or setting a PR in weight loss.
      Thanks so much for the comment and coming by for a visit. Come on back anytime. Oh yeah, I also enjoy the slow and relaxed pace. It is invigorating to get after it also though.

      thanks again


Leave a Reply

