24
Dec
08

Funny habit: I’m still adjusting my shirt after losing the big belly:)

Over weight belly

I realized the other day that I carried with me a funny habit through the weight loss process into the present maintenance stage.  It is a familiar habit.  So familiar that I didn’t even realize that I still did it.  This habit is one that I think just about every over-weight or self-conscious person does.  What is it you ask?

THE SHIRT ADJUSTMENT!

The shirt adjustment is performed when you sit down, position yourself comfortably, and pull your shirt away from your stomach as to minimize the appearance of its size.  You know what I mean.  Men and women both do it.  It is what we do to feel better about our stomachs.

I still find myself performing this most important task.  Even after going from a jean size of 44 to a size 32, I still do it.  When I sit down, I pull my shirt away from my stomach so that it looks more loose.  I didn’t realize how ingrained my old habits were.  Just a silly post about something funny a discovered myself doing.

10 Responses to “Funny habit: I’m still adjusting my shirt after losing the big belly:)”


  1. 1 fatmanrunnin
    December 24, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Haha, I know this one! I still do “the shirt pull” using the same technique I perfected back in middle school…as nonchalantly as possible, too. Thanks for pointing this out, I’m not so alone!

    And yes, it’s a complete drag to not be able to work out, depressing, almost. Exercise used to be something to be avoided, but I’m so happy it’s a necessity in my life now.

    Hope your weather improves, Merry Christmas, and thanks for the comment!

    http://fatmanarunnin.wordpress.com/

    • 2 run4change
      December 24, 2008 at 4:54 pm

      Ok I’m in the clear. I didn’t think I was alone on this one, but after I posted it I got a little scared. I thought, “Oh shoot, maybe I am the only one who does the shirt pull”. I also think I learned back in middle school too. Thanks for making me feel better. Thanks for the comment.

  2. 3 FollowMyWeigh
    December 24, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    hahaha! yes i totally do the shirt adjustment, and notice when others do too haha.
    btw thanks for the add to the blogroll, i’ve added you to mine as well.
    Merry christmas!

  3. 5 somedayistoday
    December 24, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    I’m in the club! Doesn’t everyone do the shirt pull, hahahaha! I definitly do that and probably always will. I notice when others do it too!

  4. 7 lil 1/2 pint
    December 24, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    That’s so funny!

  5. 8 gplongwood
    December 26, 2008 at 7:58 am

    I totally do the same thing. So funny.

    • 9 run4change
      December 26, 2008 at 8:03 am

      Isn’t though. I am glad I put this one out there. i never would have known there was such a large “shirt pullers” family. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

