26
Dec
08

10 ways a skinny spouse can help their over weight partner lose.

 

My naturally thin wife

My naturally thin wife

A lot of us who are trying to lose weight or maintain our losses have spouses that are different than us.  I am sure that a few of those differences may have just popped into your mind right now.

 

One of those differences, as you can see from the picture, is sometimes our spouse is naturally thin.  Don’t get me wrong, my wife makes great food choices most of the time and she exercises, but she has never really had a problem like me.  Not sure if it is because she isn’t addict to the comfort of food or genetics or what.  The reality is that it is up to each person to make a decision to lose weight and keep it off.  But hey, a little help never hurt.  Anyways, here are a few things that my wife did during and after my weight loss that helped me reach  my goal. 

  1. She loved me and never made fun of me when I was fat
  2. She never tried to force me to lose weight.  She did tell me her concerns regarding my health, but never emphasized the fattness.
  3. She gave me lots of  positive encouragement about going to weight watchers.
  4. She stopped buying the foods that really, really tempted me
  5. She hid the foods that she loved that I was trying not to eat.
  6. She exercised with me at least a couple of times per week
  7. Until I gained enough experience and strength, she allowed me to pick resturants that were “safe”
  8. She participated in my journey by going to my 10%, goal, and lifetime meetings.
  9. She reminded me that I was attractive to her before and after.
  10. She never gave up on me.
8 Responses to “10 ways a skinny spouse can help their over weight partner lose.”


  1. 1 thatdirtythirty
    December 26, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    I think it’s wonderful how supportive your wife is. I find it very important to have support from the people we love because it makes everything worth it.

  2. 2 FollowMyWeigh
    December 26, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Aww it sounds like your wife has been so supportive. she is very beautiful inside and out 🙂

  3. 3 td4185
    December 26, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Having a supportive spouse is crucial. Yours sounds ideal. My wife is also naturally thin and an ex-aerobics fanatic. She’s an ex-fanatic only because we now have 2 children that have made both of us “ex” lots of things. Thanks again for your continued encouragement on my blog.

    FYI, you’ve got lots of white stuff falling all over your blog. 🙂

  4. 4 gplongwood
    December 27, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    We are both blessed in this way. I too have a naturally thin and beautiful, supporting wife and know I would be nowhere without her.

  5. December 29, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    She has shown the truth of this statement, “Love is not a feeling, its an action”…………Kudos to her and you, for your awareness in picking such a supportive spouse 🙂


Leave a Reply

