31
Dec
08

Q&A post 2: Where’d you get your running confidence? and Marathon build-up?

Moments after my 2nd marathon finish

Moments after my 2nd marathon finish

Thanks mamawantsasixpack for taking some time out to have some fun on my blog?  I appreciate the participation.  Here are your questions:

1.  “How long did it take you to work up to a marathon?”
2.  “How fast was your first 5K?”
3.  “Where’d you get your running confidence?”
I like those questions and it will be very enjoyable to answer them.  So here it goes.
My marathon build up was not typical and usually (even Jeff Galloway) it is recommended that a person run for at least one year before attempting a marathon.  I had none of that, I am just to obsessive for that.  Anyway, it took me seven months to go from a 2 mile long  run(245 lbs at this time) to my first marathon finish.  Keep in mind though, I never ever missed a long run (this is the typical run you do on a weekend that is longer than others and it increase 1-2 miles every week to two weeks).  What joy it was.  It is possible to finish a marathon, even for a big chunky dude.  By the time I ran the Portland Marathon I weighed 195 lbs.
I have yet to really run an organized 5K.  I did do several practice 5k’s to try and predict my marathon finish time as Jeff Galloway recommended.  I can’t remember exactly, but my time was around 38 minutes and I was sucking air bad at the end.  Way worse than at the end of my marathon.  I finished my first marathon in 5 hrs and 35 minutes.  Pretty much all my running in the beginning was at a pace around 12:45-13:30 minutes per mile.
One concept that Jeff Galloway strongly suggests (there is controversy around this concept) is that you run the distance before you race the distance.  So my last long run before Portland was 27 miles.  I was confident because I knew I could make it to the finish.  I was scared silly though.  I had done all my running alone or with my wife.  I didn’t know what it would be like with 1000’s of people rubbing up against me.  I was so nervous that my heart rate was around 185 at the start and I was only walking 🙂  Things got better and I realized that I was with 1000’s of regular people.  That helped.  Also, I read that I am the captain of my own running ship and that I did not need to run as fast or as far or smooth as anyone.  I just needed to run for me.  I still get shy around people who look like “real runners” though.
8 Responses to “Q&A post 2: Where’d you get your running confidence? and Marathon build-up?”


  1. 1 TD4185
    December 31, 2008 at 8:53 am

    At the risk of sounding effusive, you really are a motivational person. The reason is that you’re, well, regular…like us. You’re not a world-class trained athlete telling the rest of us how easy it is (if only we had access to the world’s best nutritionists, coaches, and had to do nothing all the time except for train).

    You’re a guy who said he was going to do something and you did it. That inspires me 100 times more than reading what a professional has to say. Please keep it up and have a happy new year.

    • 2 run4change
      December 31, 2008 at 9:19 am

      Pretty much can’t get overly effusive with me. Great choice of words too. You know, I am a regular guy. I have done some amazing things with the help of friends and family. In the end, even at the finish line of attaining a personal goal of some sort, I have the same fears, joys, blunders, victories, etc. that we all have. That is what I also get motivated about, because I know that regular people (99.9999999999999999999999999% of the world) can do amazing things. Thanks so much for the comment, I take it to heart and move on with great gusto 🙂

  2. December 31, 2008 at 9:21 am

    That is great for your first marathon! I too am running my first marathon in March and although my main goal is to finish, I hope to do that within the 6 hour time frame they give us!! I finished my first half marathon in October and I did it within 3 minutes of my goal time. I wanted to finish in 2:30 and I finished in 2:33. I was still very proud of myself!

    • 4 run4change
      December 31, 2008 at 9:32 am

      And you should be. Running 13.1 miles is a giant endurance event. You’re an edurance athlete isn’t that so cool. Millions of people just relaxed on the sunday watching TV. You, you transformed into an endurance athlete and pushed to experience you limits. Great job.

  3. December 31, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Thanks for sharing this! You have really inspired me. I find runners (in general) to be somewhat intimidating. A lot of them have so many rules that I stopped running. You have really encouraged me with giving it another go. I actually ordered the book you posted in your last blog post. I am not quite ready to commit to a marathon yet, but I am almost ready to commit to a 10K.

  4. March 20, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Ummm… Jason,

    You DO look like a REAL runner!
    😀


Leave a Reply

