01
Jan
09

Q&A post 3: Over coming obstacles to weight loss!

obstacles

I like the deep questions.  Thank you for your help in making this Q&A post so interesting and exciting.  I got your question and will do my best to answer it.  Your question was:

“I was wondering what obstacles did you face during your weight loss/exercise journey and how did you overcome them?

Fantastic question.  I had many obstacles, as do we all, that I had to overcome during my journey.  Many of the obstacles I am still trying to tackle.  Sometimes obstacles keep coming back and sometimes you beat them up and they are gone forever.  I am going to list my major obstacles and how I dealt/deal with them in a straight forward format.

  • Fear–  I was so afraid to start my journey because I feared I would fail.  I overcame this by having a partner in the opening battle.  That partner was my sister.  Shoot, we were both scared I guess, but we stepped out anyway. I hated the way I looked and feared I would always be that way more than I feard the journey.
  • Change-I don’t like change much and if I was going to lose weight and keep it off I had to face the fact that I needed to change.  There was no way around it.  I overcame this by making a decision to be uncomfortable in order to attain my weight loss goals.  It was uncomfortable but I made it through.
  •  Hunger- Oh yeah, now we’re gettin’ down to business.  On WW you never have to be hungry, but when you’re used to eating 12 pieces of pizza and now you are eating 2; come on now.  Two pieces maybe brought fullness, but I wanted to be stuffed.  I overcame this with veggies.  On WW veggies are free.  I would eat them right when I got home because I would be so hungry at this time.  I ate salsa and pickles all the time.  If I wanted to feel more full, I would just eat more veggies.  I also always ate a lot of veggies before I went out to eat.  Potatoes are pretty good at this too, they have points but the fill me up.
  • 3 month point- I always quit all my diets at this point.  I was scared that I would do it again so I planned ahead of time.  I announced the great victory of surpassing 3 months to my WW group.  I planned on making it a special thing with my wife too.  I made a HUGE deal out of going just one day beyond three months.  This kept me going.
  • Emotional eating– I have always tried to medicate myself with emotional eating.  I constantly fight with this obstacle.  I thought I should talk about an obstacle that I still battle with.  I don’t just want to eat when I am sad either.  Any emotion that is more intense than normal brings on the urge to eat.  I overcome this on a case-by-case basis by stopping and thinking about what I am about to do.  I tell myself that the food probably won’t be that good anyway, I will feel guilty 5 minutes later, and it just might start that cycle that takes me all the way back to 307.6 lbs.  This usually does it, I don’t do it.  Not everytime though.
12 Responses to “Q&A post 3: Over coming obstacles to weight loss!”


  1. January 1, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Hunger and automatically eating have always been a problem for me too. A friend and I were just discussing this last night. I like to eat – ALOT! I like the taste of food. For whatever reason, I like eating until I am stuffed as a tick. That has been a real challenge for me. I am doing better with it, but I am still not where I need to be.

    The emotional eating is another story. For me, it is not just when I am feeling the intense emotions, but also boredom. If I suspect I am going to be bored while doing something, it is best for me to not have food anywhere around.

    Congratulations on a very successful year. Keep it up, and don’t let your guard down for a minute. You never want to go back to where you came from.

    • 2 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 6:16 am

      Yes, I will need to keep my guard up just as if I am starting my weight loss journey. That’s how it works I guess. I am with you. I just love to eat and get full. Even when I eat healthy I try to pick foods that give me quantity for the calories so that I get some size to what I am eating. My problem is that I automatically eat even when I am not hunger. Good comment and thanks for coming by. I appreciate it. Keep up the good work.

  2. January 1, 2009 at 6:42 am

    What a great story and blog! I’ve lost 100 pounds but then I had a baby. I only have 15 pounds to lose now but it feels like 100! The picture of the boulder really sums it all up. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll be back to read yours often.
    Best,
    Jacque
    http://www.101smackdowns.com

    • 4 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 6:47 am

      I love the boulder pic. I agree, it just says “obstacle”! That 15 lbs certainly can feel like a 100 when you have to try and get it off. Those last lbs are toubh.

  3. January 1, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I love what you said about your 3-Month-Point challenge. I always seem to face that a couple of months into my weight-loss efforts as well. I’m currently working to soldier through it this time around, and I really appreciate that “going one more day” strategy you used.

  4. January 1, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    I can relate to all of those! The fear of failure was a big one for me until I realized that I would never be able to do this perfectly, there will always be setbacks, the key is to pick myself up and keep on! You are such an inspiration!

    • 8 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 7:16 pm

      That’s right. As time goes on, I have realized that not quitting and giving up is the biggest thing that stops us from reaching goal. If we can just, as you said, pick ourselves up; we will make it to goal even if it takes a long time. Thanks a lot for the insight.


Leave a Reply

