01
Jan
09

Weight Loss Machine: Running on Auto-Pilot

autopilotIt’s true, running on “autopilot” turns me into a weight loss machine.  The fat just melts away and nothing can stop it.  Well, I guess it’s not that good.  But last night during my run, I got into “the zone” or “runners high” or “endorphin city”.  Sometimes when I run I get to a point where I am on autopilot.  I ‘m just going.  No effort, perfect rhythm, a wonderful time of running, no thinking (well, I was thinking about this post).  It was a good run.  When it feels that good it helps me to stay out longer and I burn more fat as a consequence.  Hence, the weight loss machine. However, don’t let that autopilot thing deceive you.  I still had about 15 times during that hour of running where I said to myself, “Ok, that’s good enough… Time to go home now.”  Wanted to stop but I just kept on.

I also had a good night with my eating.  I did eat 4 cups of chex mix.  That was a bit excessive but I counted it all (24.5 points for me to be exact).  I went over the daily points but I have not eaten all the weekly points.  So all in all, it was a good food night.  I got to indulge a little, stay in my points, and not feel guilty.  The big victory is that I counted the dang chex mix.

14 Responses to “Weight Loss Machine: Running on Auto-Pilot”


  1. January 1, 2009 at 11:06 am

    That Chex mix gets in my mouth! I’ve gotta leave it alone 🙂 Glad you enjoyed yourself! How much did Max get?

    I’m getting into auto pilot on the dreadmill. I find the hardest part is mental not physical.
    I have to talk myself out of getting off a few times during the session but it’s usually at the beginning never at the end. I DO visualize myself as a fat-burning machine! My body’s co-operating with the plan so far.
    Run on!

    • 2 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 11:12 am

      The zone is wonderful. One thing about running or any other exercise, is that once it’s over, you are never disappointed that you did it. You may not want to do it, you may hate doing it, but you are always glad you did it.

  2. 3 gplongwood
    January 1, 2009 at 11:52 am

    I hope I can get to that zone. I have found that after about 25 minutes, I seem to be more comfortable, is that the runners high? or just a second wind? Anyway, I always look forward to the 25 minute mark. I hope it wont be long until I can actually run that entire time, right now I just walk a couple and run 2-3 minutes and so on.

    • 4 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 12:03 pm

      That is the perfect way to do it. Walk/run/walk/run. I still do it. And to tell you the truth (I don’t know why this is), running always seems tough to me until I reach the 1 hour point. I feel like I breath hard, my legs are tight, etc. prior to the 1 hour mark. After 1 hour I feel like I can go for a long long time. You’re lucky to get that in 25 minutes. Cool.

  3. 5 robfitness
    January 1, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    May I say what an awesome blog you have going here. Your total transformation just amazes me. You do look awesome and I bet you feel just as good too. What a difference! Hope to get to that point, but still is a bit of a ways off for me, but I’ll get there. I’ll be checking back regularly because you have some great writing here. You really have inspire me to push myself a lot harder and to be honest your story is just like mine and probably like a lot of others as well. For some reason I still have a lot of trouble running, even after losing my 125 pounds. That I just don’t understand. You would think it would be easier now that I have lost that weight.
    Keep up the great work your doing.

  4. January 1, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Way to go, Jason – over an hour jog and you counted the chex mix. I love the cheddar one and it’s get me everytime the snack monster attacks (lately, it’s winning). I so need to get back on track, get “into the zone” with my eating and my exercising again. I’ve been a bit of a slacker. I just hope I can still fit into the dress I bought to attend my cousin’s wedding on Saturday. Thanks for keeping up your blog postings on a daily basis.I look forward to reading each and every one. Don’t worry, I don’t have a stalker personality. :0)

    • 7 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      I was feeling dang depressed there for a while today. LTerVever, your comment picked me up a lot. I am so happy that someone is getting something out of these crazy posts each day. It helps me and I want it to help others too. Don’t feel to bad about slacking lately. I have been too. I feel like I just got back going good again this week. I have no idea how I lost 3.8 lbs. Your comment is appreciated very much, thank you.

  5. 8 ladlam
    January 1, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Hi Jason, just wanted to say congratulations on losing such a huge amount of weight. That sort of weight loss is honestly unimaginable to me, well done.
    Just curious because I much prefer sprints and middle distance running, what sort of pace do you keep to only just be coming in to a comfortable stride after an hour?

    • 9 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      I would say that I was probably doing around at 9:30-10:00 pace during the run in the post. Sometimes I go faster. On long runs I go slower, around 10:50-11:30. Thanks for the encouragement, it is so nice to receive it. Especially today

  6. January 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    It’s great that you counted all of your points! 🙂

    • 11 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      Oh thank you so much. I was tempted not to, but I did anyway. Sometimes it is hard to face the truth, but facing it is so much better for us isn’t it. Thanks for the comment. It helps keep me going.

  7. January 1, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Speaking of “in the zone”, I wonder if you have a post or you can write something about the different types of heart rate zones and which ones burn which. I know I’ve read that there are 3 or 4 heart rate zones that will burn different things in your body. Like the top zone (heart rate maxed out) burns muscle and glucose (bad) but somewhere in the middle the zone burns fat. I found a website that gave me the different HR zones (http://www.fitzones.com/backup/heartratecalc.htm) but I’m not sure what the different zones are for. Do you?

    P.S. thanks for the comment on my blog. I want to be good so bad! I’m just being bad over and over, though.

    • 13 run4change
      January 1, 2009 at 8:00 pm

      Thanks for the comment and visiting again. I will do a post about the HR info. as soon as possible.


Leave a Reply

