02
Jan
09

Q&A post 9: How long did it take me to lose 130lbs?

mypetfat.typepad.com

100 lbs of fat Image credit: mypetfat.typepad.com

I know that this Q&A answer is out of order, but it was a nice and concise question that called for a nice and concise answer.  The answer is simple statistics.  Here is the question:

“….so how long have you been on the fitness journey to get you from 307 to were you are now? Is there anything you would have done differently?”

Ok, I want to start off by saying that what happened to my body won’t happen to every “body”.  At least not as fast.  I lost a lot of weight pretty quick, but don’t give up or get discouraged if you don’t lose like I lose.  We are all different, walking in the same journey.

  • Journey start date and weight:  December 13th, 2006.  I weighed in at weight watchers for the first time at 307.6 lbs.  Afterwards I went and ate a half-pound bacon burger, large fry, and a large coffee/chocolate milk shake.  That is not to mention the snacks I ate once I got home.
  • Started running on: April 5th, 2007.  I had lost around 60 something pounds at this point and could just barely run/walk 2 miles on the treadmill.
  • Reached doctors goal: around September I think.  My doctors goal was 210 lbs.  He actually wanted me to weigh 155.  I told him he was insane and left to do a lot of research and take my body fat.  I went back and told him what I found and he made my goal 210. 
  • First marathon:  October 5th, 2007.  Finished the Portland Marathon in about 5 1/2 hrs.  I weighed 194 going in.
  • My goal: was to weigh 179 like I did when I was a sophomore in high school.  I reached this goal 1 yr later on December 13th, 2007.  My body fat went from 51% to 11%.  My cholesterol went from 307 to 151.  Pants went from 46 to 32.  Shirt went from xxx to medium.
  • 2 years later:  Was able to maintain my weight within 10 lbs on Dec. 13th 2008.  I currently weigh 185.
  • Would I change anything:  I don’t think so.  The only thing I wish I could have done was finish my 12th marathon in one calendar year.  I was not able to make it to my 12th because of work.  I attained 7 marathon finishes and 4 ultramarathon finishes in 1 calendar year.. Other than that, the journey to now was more than I could have ever asked or imagined. 

Thanks for asking this question.  Answering it has inspired me a lot.  I will keep on my brother.  Thanks.

13 Responses to “Q&A post 9: How long did it take me to lose 130lbs?”


  1. 1 robfitness
    January 2, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Thanks for the post! You are quite an inspiration to me and I know others. In that one year you have accomplished so much and you have to be so proud of yourself for what you have done. Plus the others that you inspire along your journey is well worth the effort. I can see that you sure do love running! It’s something that I would like to get into, but then again for now I am going to try to stick with the triathlons. It’s something that really interests me and who know one of these days I might even get inspired to do the “Ironman”. I feel that everyone should find there one activity that gives them the most satisfaction and stick with it and achieve all that you can.
    Thanks again for the info, brother!
    Just for a bit of information. My whole journey too started about 2 years ago when I realized that I had to change my life in so many ways. I was being so destructive inside and out and was probably real depressed about the way my life was going. It’s sure not what I dreamed it to be. So what started this journey for me…it was when I again realized I needed help!
    That day happened on February 3,2006 when I excepted Christ as my Lord and Savior. From then on my life has been more fulfilled, happy and blessed and I owe it all to “HIM”!
    By the way thanks for letting me rant on here for so long.:-)

    • 2 run4change
      January 2, 2009 at 2:01 pm

      Chills. All I can say is Chills. That is a great comment and I thank God that a comment like that can be on my blog. I also gave it all to Jesus. After years of drinking and mischief and horrible crap, I gave my life to Him in the back yard of a party where I was dying from some junk I took. I made it though, He brought me through. Thanks for the comment.

      Oh yeah, you could do an Ironman, just give it time. If you like the tri’s you go for it.

  2. 3 charleshbaker
    January 2, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Very good post. It’s nice to be talking to someone who has lost over 100 pounds. Seeing people on The Biggest Loser is amazing, but I don’t have conversations with those people. Keep up the great work with your blog and keeping your weight where you want it.

    • 4 run4change
      January 2, 2009 at 4:04 pm

      Muchas gracias Mr. Baker. I appreciate the words. You have a good one and keep up the hard work.

  3. 5 Su
    January 2, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Holy tamales, Batman! I can’t believe you went from not running or exercising and weighing over 300 pounds to finishing a marathon in less than 12 months! That is awesome!

    I have been reading “Marathoning for Mortals” and they advocate running three times a week, cross-training, and two days of rest. Sounds sort of like your running plan.

    I plan to keep reading your blog now that I’ve found it. I know you will be a big inspiration for me and for many others! Keep up the terrific work!

    • 6 run4change
      January 2, 2009 at 5:47 pm

      Yes, when I trained for my first three marathons and my first ultra marathon i did like your book says. I pretty much ran for 30 minutes twice a week and then did a long run on the weekend. I ran a lot more for the longer races beyond 35 miles. I am back to the old way now. My plan for my races this year is to pretty much do at least 2 runs of 1 hr each during the week and then do a long run on the weekends. Thank you for you nice comment and you will do great.

  4. January 2, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    mypetfat creeps me out! I linked to it on my blog one time. LOL.

    I am slowly going from a person who thought she couldn’t even try to lose 30# without failing to someone who sees that she will be able to lose more than 100#. I’m so close to 50# down, I can taste it. Er, maybe that’s a bad comparison 😉 Like Mr. Baker mentioned, it’s not like TV, but “talking” here, it’s more real.

  5. January 2, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Running = not so much my thing, but your story is good. I’m hoping to lose an average of two pounds a week this year, going from 258 to 160 or so. Probably not likely to happen, but, hey, I lose nothing by trying and gain quite a bit if I succeed! 🙂 I’ll poke my nose over here often.

    • 9 run4change
      January 2, 2009 at 10:39 pm

      Sounds great. I bet you’ll do awesome. Keep up the good work, and running is only one way to get moving. That is a good thing, ’cause I never wanted to do it in the start, but it grew on me over time.

  6. January 4, 2009 at 8:19 am

    They say that we learn from changing our habits, which is hard enough to begin with. However, I don’t think we completely change these habits in some areas so it becomes a life long quest. My friend stopped smoking 10 years ago and is always working out. He doesn’t like to be around smokers or smell smoke, yet every once in a while, he still has a craving for a cigarette. I think changing our eating habits may be a harder, life long quest.

    • 11 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 8:26 am

      That’s funny. I had a friend in Texas who had 30 years without a cigarette. He still found himself reaching into his shirt pocket for his pack every now and then. This is why I like to call it a journey. There really is no destination. We attain goals, but find that we have new ones once we get there.

  7. 12 DL
    January 7, 2009 at 1:41 am

    HEY GREAT encouragement here! I’ll be back- need to lose 40 pounds…now considering running too after reading some of your pages… walking now.. only in JESUS do I get strength to consider and attempt these mountains

    • 13 run4change
      January 7, 2009 at 5:15 am

      That’s great. It is a good thing that the WORD says that with man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. We can do all things throught Christ who strengthens us. Keep up the good work and you are going to make it to your goals.


Leave a Reply

