03
Jan
09

Good run, great bagels, and doing fine

Caped MaxDarn it!!  I have officially eaten all of my 35 extra points.  I am still totally within my program.  That is why I have those extra points.  I feel pretty good about it.  All the time I am learning to be more balanced and less obsessive with my weight loss/maintenance.  I also got to run last night.  I ran 3 miles while my wife talked with a friend who was visiting.  It was really cold with snow and ice on the road.  I wanted to stop after the first loop.  The loops at my house are 1 mile each so I did three.  I wanted to stop less and less as I got more into the run.  Again, I ate a little bit of junk last night too, but I counted it.  I ate some Ritz crackers.  Oh the buttery wonderfulness.  So succulent and tasty.

On the advice on another weight watcher at my meeting last week, I have discovered a wonderful bagel.  The entire bagel is only 1 point.  It has 110 calories and 7 grams of fiber.  It is a healthy choice for those of you who like bagels.

Check out the website for these bagels.  I loved them.

19 Responses to “Good run, great bagels, and doing fine”


  1. 1 afatgirl
    January 3, 2009 at 7:14 am

    I love the 35 extra points. Even though I have a horrible habit of eating them all at one time; typically a restaurant with appetizers, drinks and dessert on top of the meal 🙂

    I’m a bagel lover, so I will be looking for those! They look yummy!

    • 2 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 7:18 am

      I tend to eat the 35 at once also. Usually in the same way you do. This week I have been trying to spred it out more. Seems to be ok so far.

  2. 3 Sharon
    January 3, 2009 at 7:34 am

    Bagels are a delicious weakness, especially with fat-free cream cheese. I’ve been avoiding them because most have over 250 calories. I will have to try those. Thanks for the tip!

  3. January 3, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Oooh thanks for the tip on the bagels. Love bagels. I love the WW program because you can eat all things in moderation. Good for you for counting your points. Great job on the run too. I would like to try running one day, but I want to lose a lot more weight before attempting that. 🙂

  4. 7 cecile
    January 3, 2009 at 10:17 am

    I tried those bagels with fat free cream cheese this morning. Yummmmmmmmy! Thanks for the tip.

  5. 8 somedayistoday
    January 3, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Bagels are yummy goodness! I can’t have bagels very often. As a diabetic those are bad, no matter the points, calories or how healthy they may be. I’d say about every 4 to 5 months, I splurge on one and go to ‘the nines’ and get it with lox!! That’s even more yummy goodness! 🙂

  6. January 3, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    What’s the deal with the bagels? Do they actually taste like bagels, are they smaller, etc? I looked around the website but couldn’t find an actual description of how the alternative ones differ from their standard ones (which are the usual 240-ish calories).

    I just got back from the farmers’ market with some montreal-style bagels, which are my biggest weakness. But they are quite small, and are brick oven baked right in front of you – they’re still warm!

    (Love the site, btw, have gotten back into my running groove over the last eight weeks and feel great).

    • 11 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 11:52 pm

      The bagels are “normal” sized. They are not huge jumbo bagels and they are not those small little one either. Very tasty. A little too tasty possibly. 🙂

  7. January 3, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Weight Watchers makes a good bagel too. I can’t find them at the stores here half the time though. Thankfully for me bagels aren’t one of my big weaknesses. Since I have never done WW I am not sure what 35 points equals into, but good for you for sticking with your plan.

    • 13 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 11:53 pm

      I am not sure on the WW calculations and secret code or whatever because it depends on fiber. I usually figure 60-100 calories for a point, depending on the amount of fiber.

  8. 16 FollowMyWeigh
    January 3, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    i really wish i could run outside. i am not the type to run outside in the dark in 20 degree weather though! =T

    • 17 run4change
      January 3, 2009 at 11:58 pm

      I like to run in the cold and the dark. I am lucky I guess. It just seems so refreshing. It rains a ton where I live, so the what do you think I hate running 🙂 33-34 degrees and raining. That is a bummer. That is a deal breaker a lot of times. Not every time, but A LOT!

  9. January 4, 2009 at 8:05 am

    It seems to me, although I may be wrong, that changing and sticking to good eating habits is harder than maintaining a consistent exercise program? I wonder.

    • 19 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 8:25 am

      I think maybe it depends on the person. There are some people who love to be active. Have an exercise habit is easy for them. Others absolutely hate exercise (as I once did) and for them it is tuff. But I guess we need a balance of both to do the best we can.


Leave a Reply

