04
Jan
09

Do you make these mistakes?

Ski food

Sometimes we just say “screw it”! The mistakes we make during our weight loss journey can really beat us up.  It is easy to leave a restaurant feeling like a failure.  I know because I did it yesterday. So what are these mistakes and how do we improve after making them.

  1. Sometimes we just say “screw” it!  This is a mistake we really never have to make.  We never have to stop counting what we eat.  Even if we falter big time, we can still count, write down, and keep track of what we eat and learn from it.  You can improve on this weight loss mistake by carrying a small note pad with you to jot down what you ate while you were away.  Also, jot down how you might have been feeling when you said, “screw it”.  This will help you prepare for future events.
  2. We wait to long between our snacks/meals!  This is a huge mistake.  If you wait too long between meals, you are going to be unnecessarily hungry.  When you are ravenous, you are not wanting to eat fruits and veggies but rather fast junk like cookies, chips, and other trigger foods.  Once it is too late, you try to tame that wild hunger and get stuffed and probably don’t count it.  Improve on this by being prepared with snacks on hand.  Fruit, low cal. bars, lots of water, and anything healthy thing that will get you by and keep your hunger level even.  I eat every 1.5-2 hrs on most days.
  3. We don’t plan!  Going out on a date, to a movie, visiting friends, or going to an office party? YOU NEED TO PLAN.   If you don’t plan you are likely to just say “screw it”, let yourself get to hungry, and feel like crap for not doing good on your program.  You can improve on this by taking just 5 minutes to make a mental picture of what you are going to do in the circumstance before you leave.  To take it a step further, write down your plan before you leave and check out the menu’s on-line of the restaurant you’re going to .

Just so you know, I make these mistakes too.  Actually, I made all of them yesterday.  I went skiing with my wife, didn’t eat for many hours, and guess what happened.  Well, I said “screw it” for only 13 minutes out of 24 hours and the pictures show the damage :).  I didn’t eat it all by myself.  I shared it with my wife.  I didn’t count it at the time, but today I am going to go ahead and back track to get it all down on paper to deal with the damage right up front.

 

Ski food after

24 Responses to “Do you make these mistakes?”


  1. January 4, 2009 at 11:09 am

    mistakes
    schmistakes

    life is too short to not indulge sometimes, right? 🙂

    (she types her fingers still a tad stick from an IHOP visit this morning)

  2. 3 Sharon
    January 4, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Your ski food looks yummy. I hope you had fun.

    I’ve said “screw it” lots of times, and I always feel so guilty afterwards. Planning ahead and eating small, frequent meals works best for me too. But also? Drinking water helps me feel more full and not eat as much.

    • 4 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      Water is huge isn’t it. I totally agree. I also read that about 80% of americans are in chronic dehydration. Dehydration’s cues for you to drink often times “feel” the same as hunger cues.

  3. January 4, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Yes! I have a terrible time fighting the “screw it” issue (although I refer to it as the “fuck it”). I struggle with patience and weight loss- I have started dieting a hundred times and a hundred and one times I have said “fuck it” because of the emotional turmoil and challenges involved. At some point in the last couple of months I have started to face the “fuck it” monster and pick myself back up afterwards and keep going! It is so hard though because in the MOMENT sometimes eating whatever you want is easier than struggling against the anxiety of making a better choice.

    • 6 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      The moment is where we get our victory though. That doesn’t make it even a tiny bit easier either. Each little “moment” victory adds up overtime though. It did for me anyway. I will for you too. It is hard not to throw it all away in the moment I think because hey, it’s just a moment 🙂

  4. 7 robfitness
    January 4, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Well at least you realize the errors of your ways and hopefully this little setback, if that’s what you want to call it, is something you can reflect on the next time you run into a situation like this. I guess we all learn from our mistakes or bad judgment. What’s important is that you didn’t let it bring you down which could lead to even worse things. So what was the damage done? How bad was it on your point system?
    Believe me I have made those same mistakes many of times. For me it’s the planning thing that gets me or what I also call an unexpected turn in the road that you don’t anticipate. That’s why sometimes I keep a trail mix in my cars glove compartment for those times I do forget to bring something along.
    What I like and appreciate about your posts is your total honesty about everything and I feel that helps out others as well. We are all only human and we move on, learn and work harder at it the next time.
    Keep up the great work.

    • 8 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 2:31 pm

      29 points is what I came up with. Not totally 100% sure since I did not measure and I think I am over estimating which is what I usually do. I counted 29 points on my WW online. That put me at 54.5 points for the day. Skiing gave me 7 points worth of activity. I will do perfect today, so for the week I will still be within everything I need to be points wise. Not to bad, but not optimal. But who lives optimally all the time 🙂

  5. 9 ladlam
    January 4, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    A great post! I honestly don’t feel very guilty about enjoying a good meal out, perhaps because I haven’t had to worry about losing weight for a little while, just maintaining. I think you learn to make much healthier decisions when eating out though, which helps!
    I’m definitely guilty of points 2 and 3 at times though. I particularly liked point 2.
    http://ladlam.wordpress.com

    • 10 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 2:33 pm

      I am getting better about my guilt associated with food. THat is a big thing for me because I eat when I feel guilty. I am pretty much maintaining too so I will be probably be good this week I think. I guess I should look at it like I made a victory because I didn’t eat all of it myself as I would have in the past. This time I shared it.

  6. January 4, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    It’s really hard when you are eating out. Especially breakfast. I once actually had a waitress refuse to ‘hold the hashbrowns’ because it would be the same price and she didn’t think I looked ‘that fat’. THANKS! But I was able to refrain from eating them. There are healthier choices to be made, even eating out.

  7. 13 ladlam
    January 4, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Just think of it as a little reward for yourself and remember not to reward yourself too often! There’s no need to beat yourself up too much over it. Maintenance is much easier than losing the weight. Plus you need to eat more when skiing because your body naturally burns more calories to keep warm. At least that’s what I tell myself when I go skiing 😀

    • 14 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 4:44 pm

      Not to much beating, but I need a good dose of reality. That is why I post it. I have had huge successes in my life. I could give it all back if I am not real. Being real with you, with me, and with my weight loss journey will keep on the right path. I thank God that guilt does not rule my eating and efforts anymore, but a healthy conviction is well placed for me. Thank you very much for your comment and support. Your words go a long way. Thanks again and have a great day.

  8. January 4, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    That’s a good idea about taking a note pad with you to jot down what you’re eating but more importantly what you’re feeling when you order those horrible foods. I’d never thought of journaling my thoughts about the food I’m overindulging on. I think I’ll have to try that the next time I say “screw it”.

    • 16 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 8:10 pm

      It will help you figures out what is happening that leads up to the screw. It is just a simple fact that sometimes we are so strong and other times not so strong. Why is the reason for writing it down.

  9. January 4, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Ha! Every time I step foot in a diner knowing I am going to order a spinach/feta cheese/white egg omelet, as soon as I see the words “corned beef hash” all bets are off!

    Although my hubby and I make a compromise. I order what I want, he orders what he wants and we get a small side of corned beef hash! I get my three fork fulls and I am in heaven!

    Just stumbled upon your blog, looking forward to checking it out!

    • 18 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      So very glad that you stopped by. This is a fun and caring place. The readers are totally awesome and are great encouragers and inspirers. Keep coming back to take part in the party. I also appreciate the comment. Thank you for stopping in and the door is always open.

  10. 19 FollowMyWeigh
    January 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    oh yes i am def. familiar with saying “screw it”! i think i am getting better at that though, and haven’t really “lost it” in a while, whew!

    skiing…i’m sure you needed all those extra calories =)

    • 20 run4change
      January 4, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      I was actually disappointed with how many points WW online gave me for skiing. I swear it must have been wrong. Only 7 points for 2 hours. For 2 hours of running I get 18.

  11. January 6, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Whoa, were you tailing me this weekend or something??? I totally said “screw it” while I was in New Orleans and I paid for when I could NOT breath after each meal. Good for you for back tracking. At this point, I don’t think I can even remember what all I ate. I will need to show some restraint next time and use these strategies you suggested. I am already forgetting all the things WW taught me. Time to go back to a meeting!

    • 22 run4change
      January 6, 2009 at 2:43 pm

      Lter, I wish soooooooooooooo bad that I could write down in words the way this comment made me feel. First I got chills knowing someone else has said “screw it”, second I felt tingly because it was a recent experience, and third I LAUGHED MY FREAKING BUTT OFF OUT LOUD WHILE AT WORK (REALLY LOUD) about not being able to breath. I can barely write this I am laughing so hard. Not to make fun, but to empathize. If I could get a dollar for everytimg I “can’t breath” I would be a very rich man. Thanks for the comment and inspiration that you bring to this blog. 🙂

  12. January 7, 2009 at 11:56 am

    I’ve found that I have to build a ‘free day’ into my workout plan because if i don’t i get uncontrollable cravings. So i bust it for 6 days a week, and the day i have off i’m allowed to eat whatever i want (within reason). It has worked well for me!

    • 24 run4change
      January 7, 2009 at 12:05 pm

      As my running volume is sometime pretty large, I have a lot of liberty to eat what I want even without going off my program. I just like to make better choices which is not what I always do.


Leave a Reply

