08
Jan
09

Huge victory: Post workout pic of a 40 miler finished!

jim-1-001

Post workout pic dedicate to katschisfitcetera. Just finished running 41 miles

 This post is in response to a request from another Journeyer.  She is a great person and you can check the post out here 

So I thought I would be a good sport and post a post-workout pic for all to see.  Red face and tired (but elated), here I am just after finishing my favorite ultra marathon, The 2008 Strolling Jim 40 miler.  The first 20 miles was pouring down rain with thunder and lightning.  The second half was 80 degrees.  Anyway, it was an experience.

15 Responses to “Huge victory: Post workout pic of a 40 miler finished!”


  1. January 8, 2009 at 10:04 am

    You’ve got a great attitude!

  2. January 8, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I get tired just thinking about it. It’s funny to me how not tired you look.

    • 3 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 11:03 am

      You know, I really wasn’t THAT tired. You get excited and as I have said before you go through up and dowsn a lot in a race that long. I was in an “up” at the moment. I just love that race. Almost all ultra’s are on trails, and in fact, most ultra runners hate running on roads. This is the oldest running ultra marathon in the united states and it is on the road. Not the most popular. Thanks for your comment and encouragement.

  3. January 8, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Wonderful! 🙂 You look so accomplished!

  4. January 8, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    THANK YOU, JASON!!! How awesome that you’ve come so far that you’re running 41 miles! That’s an Olympian effort. You look so happy in the photo…wonderful!
    I happily linked this post for all to see!

  5. 8 robfitness
    January 8, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Great Job done there. With that accomplishment and the weight loss from your WW weigh in you have to be sitting on cloud nine by now. What an awesome job and a great pic as well. So how long did it take you to run the 40 miler? I know I’d still be running it, that or I’d be carried away via an ambulance. 🙂 lately I have been having some knee issues so I guess running long distances will be out of my future. Just hope it doesn’t prevent me from running my triathlon part.
    Keep up the inspiring work.

    • 9 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 2:14 pm

      It took me 7 hrs to run the 41 miles. It took me around 11 1/2 hrs to run the 50 miles (in the mountains)

  6. 10 dhhmerritt
    January 8, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Jason, you impress me. I could say that I wish I was like you, but to be honest, I don’t like to run (as you once did), and frankly I don’t want to run; however I do wish that I liked running.

    Right now my personal goal is just to go to the gym once a week-and I’ve met it this week. It’s hard to schedule around Hadyn’s feedings, my feedings, her sleep schedule, and planning the perfect time between to go to the gym.

    I’m proud of you. Keep it up.

  7. 11 robfitness
    January 8, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    That’s just pure amazing man! Awesome job and what an inspiration.

  8. January 8, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Whoa!!!!! I’m still getting over the marathon a month thing and you go and run a 40-miler???? You go, boy! Unbelievable, incredible, awesome, and just amazing!!!


Leave a Reply

