08
Jan
09

Where’s the heart?? Ranting and raving!!

Ski foodI usually never just rant and rave about stuff.  I just can’t help it right now though.  I get sooo sick and tired of these “weight loss” blogs that don’t have anything heart to offer.  No, I am not talking about my beloved friends on the journey towards health.  I not talking about people who struggle or succeed on their journey.    You guys have great heart and are great people.  I am not talking about any honest weight loss blog that wants to help people. I am talking about the blogs/websites that don’t have heart.  They want you to buy the acai berry, the fast fat loss pill, the miracle machines, and the “only way” programs.  I am new to this whole blog land.  Maybe I don’t know what the heck I am talking about.  There is weight loss information upon information upon information out there on the blogs, BUT WHERE IS THE HEART!  Now there is nothing wrong with good information and education.  We need that as our ammunition for the journey.  I guess it is just my personal preference, but I want there to be heart in my blog.  Call me a “feeler” if you want.  I want real.  I want emotion.  I want life, real life.  I could cut and paste stuff from here and there and create a buffet of info.  People might learn something. but will they get touched.   A blog might get the views, the numbers, but I want change.  I want us to start believing that we can do stuff that we thought we couldn’t do.  I hope so bad that this blog has heart.  I thank all of you for coming by and reading and sharing your hearts.  I want this to be a place for all of us on this journey to help, push, encourage, and inspire each other to become healthier and happier.

Sorry for the wierd and gushy post, I just had to get it out.  Am I all alone on this one?  What do you guys think?  Thanks.  Where’s the heart?

32 Responses to “Where’s the heart?? Ranting and raving!!”


  1. 1 The not-so skinny chick
    January 8, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I appreciate your heartfelt posts! It helps me to know that a real person has achieved success on a sensible plan.

    • 2 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      Oh thank you so much. I feel much better now. I thought that maybe the post was stupid or out of line. I just went to a certain blog and got all frustrated. I seriously appreciate your comment

  2. January 8, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Jason, your blog is definitely full of passion & heart!
    I get the feeling that you’d like others to achieve the same success as you have with all your soul.
    I love your honest posts that reveal the rawness of this journey we’re on.

    • 4 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      ONce again thank you so much. Appreciated mucho. I have been having fun checking out your blog by the way.

  3. 5 somedayistoday
    January 8, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    It’s all about the heart! I hate hearing, “all you have to do is…” “miracle cure here”…and so on. We need to stop creating the “one size fits all” diet programs because it’s not! I’m finding out what works for ME, the unique person I am. I have type II diabetes, I’m a fast Oxidizer (how my body metabilizes food), I have weak knees and ankles, high blood pressure etc….We all have different needs. I’m learning what works best for me physically but also emotionally! I’m human and have the same stuggles as all of us. It’s the heart that keeps us inspired and motivated to make the right choices that are good for us! Nice Rant…I got to too! 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 3:38 pm

      I am glad you had a channel to rant on. Thanks for the comment. Keep fighting on, you are doing great.

  4. January 8, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Yes, Yes, I want that, too!!! You have such a great way of getting those feelings out there. Your blog definitely has heart.

  5. January 8, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    I agree with you. The sad part is that these blogs actually get hits. It may just be me, but it seems like these advertising blogs turn people away from blogging that are looking for a blog with heart.

  6. 11 AmyMay
    January 8, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    **applause** You’re so right! Thanks for visiting my blog today. I’m bookmarking yours 🙂

  7. January 8, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Yes, your blog has a lot of heart! I’m a newcomer and still working my way through the archives, but I like what I’ve seen so far.

    Blogs with heart are the only kind I follow. Stories by real people facing the challenges have inspired me quite a lot, as has support from other bloggers. I think that’s one of the differences that has shifted my focus from simply “lose the weight” to “get healthy.”

    The other kind? Meh.

  8. 15 ladlam
    January 8, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    So true Jason! I hope that my blog wasn’t the one you are referring to! Although I have no advertising so I suspect not…
    Where’s the fun in visiting a blog if you can’t connect on some personal level with the blogger?

    • 16 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      Nope, not your blog for sure. Your blog is cool. And it is not so much the advertising on the sides or whatever, it is the spirit of the blog and it’s content.

  9. 17 Clint
    January 8, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    You got heart a-plenty goin’ on here.

    It’s interesting to me to read about a successful “journey.” I’m still standing on the other side of that great chasm for now, but I am determined to have some fun crossing it. Have a good time ALL the time. There’s just no other way to go about it.

    • 18 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 7:07 pm

      THanks a lot for the encouragement. I am so happy to know that there is “heart a-plenty goin’ on here”. That is just great. Thanks man

  10. January 8, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I completely agree with you. As someone who’s trying to lose weight, I don’t care about these other ways. It’s more inspiring and interesting to read blogs like yours. When I end up on blogs that advertise diet pills or whatever, I end up leaving because I don’t want to read those kind of things.

  11. 21 Kari
    January 8, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Hey Jason ~ thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and for the positive words you shared. I really appreciate that!! I hear you on the wondering if what you put in your posts is helpful to others. It’s so easy sometimes to feel like what we have to offer isn’t enough or isn’t good enough but we have to remind ourselves that sometimes all it takes is one person to make a difference in someone else’ life. And as for having heart. “Real”. that is what people want to see, hear, feel, share, experience. a blogging community where it’s not just about what you have to do to get to that healthy number but all the ups and downs that come along with it throughout that process. I totally hear you. But rest assured….your blog has heart! Keep on keeping on!

    • 22 run4change
      January 8, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Thank you for your kinds words. I am glad I put this post up. I almost didn’t. It has renewed my vigor for helping and caring. Thanks for your inspiration

  12. January 8, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Wow, you make such a great point about it! Totally agree with you with the lack of heart there.

  13. 25 myweightylossjourney
    January 8, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Jason, your blog definitely has heart. I just hope mine does too!

  14. January 9, 2009 at 12:27 am

    I love reading about real people and their real struggles and triumphs. Keep it up!

  15. 27 maggieapril
    January 9, 2009 at 5:31 am

    Yep, there are an awful lot of advertisements out there posing as blogs. Ick. Who needs ’em?

    And I would have to say yours is one of the “heartier” blogs in cyberland. Keep up the good work.

  16. January 9, 2009 at 7:25 am

    I keep coming back to your blog because it totally has heart. You seem to be completely honest and transparent with your readers which is really hard and also really inspiring. Thanks for being authentic!


Leave a Reply

