09
Jan
09

Go home strong and healthy tonight with these 3 tips

strong-and-healthyDo you worry that your crazy day at work might have just put you over the edge enough for you to say “screw my weight loss program”.   Well that is how I feel today a little.  Not overly bad,  but my wife won’t be home and I am feeling tired.  Lonely and tired, good reasons for the “fat mind” to try and take control.  We don’t have to let it though.  So although in the back of my mind this big fat guy is saying, “No one will be at home.  Eat whatever you want.  You deserve it!”; I am going to be able to withstand because of a few small things I did prior.  We can all try these things it they may just give us that little edge we need to hold on when our resolve is down.  Here they are;

  1. I ate every two hours today.  I only had two large carrots left towards the end, but I still ate.  This keeps you in a safe realm of hunger.  I do this everyday and it helps.
  2. I have made a plan to at least do some exercise when I get home even though today is my “day off” from running.  This will burn some lonely time up and it will make me feel stronger with my plan.
  3. I have already decided what I am going to eat as soon as I get home in order to stay on track.  I will eat some pickles right away and this will fight off any lingering hunger from the last two hours.

That’s it for this little post.  I was struggling and I wanted to think of why I was going to make the right choices tonight.  Well, now you get to read my thoughts.  See ya later.

17 Responses to “Go home strong and healthy tonight with these 3 tips”


  1. January 9, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    I try to have some cooked chicken breasts in the fridge for times like these.
    I cook up some frozen veggies with it and it’s a quick supper for when I’m frazzled. Or I’ll make a protein shake and have a banana with it.
    I eat every 2-3 hours, too, to keep from being hungry.
    I live alone so I have to monitor my own behaviour 🙂 Blogging really helps me to feel connected when I’m not with friends or family.
    Have a great night, Jason!

  2. January 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Thank you for posting this. This happens to a lot of us. At least it happens to me. I get bored, lonely, tired and just want to toss it all aside and say “Popcorn with melted butter oozing on top, here I come”. But that’s my first thought and my actions don’t always follow along, thank goodness. I try to remember the good feelings I had after walking or, recently, trying to run, and how good it feels to get into that smaller, cuter top or pants. That helps me stay on plan. Plus, not allowing myself to get too hungry.

    • 4 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm

      I laughed about the popcorn, maybe I won’t eat healthy tonight after all. HAHA just kidding.

  3. January 9, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Oddly enough, I am having one of those days too. I really want to go get something to eat, I don’t really care what, and stuff my face right now. Fortunately, I am stronger than that, not much, but just enough to prevent the face stuffing. 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 5:11 pm

      Great job on the honesty. That is a fantastic comment and one that uplifted me a lot. Thanks for that and good job on not stuffing your face. 🙂

  4. January 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Hey there, thanks for the advice about Vabor rub, I am going to try it. 4 ultras huh? Amazing. I have been toying with the idea of running a 50 miler this year or in ’10. My sister and her husband live in utah (that is where I am from) and they are running a 50 in March and in June. I really wanted to be able to run the June race with them, but not sure it will work out. (I live in Ky) I need to find one around here and focus on training for it. I also would like to re-qualify for Boston and run again in ’10.

  5. January 9, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Hey. Hope you enjoy your evening at home ~ I have learned that I have to enjoy the “moments” of life and celebrate the little wins each day, heck, even sometimes each hour. You gotta learn to enjoy the “process” ~ because the process is called life.

    Smile,

    SAM
    http://www.smilesbysamdotnet.wordpress.com

  6. January 9, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    You could always get out the dishsoap & coffee grounds and stare at them for a little while.

  7. January 9, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I think we all have days like that. Hopefully everyday is not like that for you!

  8. January 10, 2009 at 12:19 am

    You do make such a valid point of being prepared and planning ahead.


Leave a Reply

