09
Jan
09

Q&A post 8: Slogging Through Day to day weight loss!

www.eduplace.com
image credit: http://www.eduplace.com

This may seem like a weird topic or just  a bland kind of question, but it’s not.  This topic is very important to our weight loss journey.  Day to Day, that is how we live, that is reality.  New Year’s resolutions abound, but sooner or later the “day to day” routine hits us.  It happens to me.  It always hits me at 3 month intervals it seems.  I say to myself, “This sucks!  This food and exercise is just boring.  What happened to the fun and excitement?”  To comfort myself and all of you, THIS IS NORMAL!  This is life.  We aren’t at the weight loss Disneyland.  We are in our life walk.  Some days are good, and some days are bad.  We get depressed,  joyful, sick, well, etc.  Sometimes we get news and it totally breaks us, whereas on other days we get news that makes us feel like a million bucks.  We gain, we lose, we stay the same.  Day to day baby!!!  How and the heck do we stick with it through thick and thin? Here is the question that you sent in:

 “How do you stick with it…slogging through day to day and sticking with stuff…, whether it’s diet or running or whatever?”

My answer to this is simple.  Once again, I learned this from my wonderful teacher, Willard Tate, years ago. Take joy in the routine of life.  Appreciate and try to enjoy the smaller things that our weight loss journey has to offer us.  Maybe it is just that you spend 10 extra dollars to get that yummy pineapple.  Maybe you just sit down on a bench when taking your walk and just check out the beauty that surrounds you for a moment.  It is ok to be bored.  So many people think that if you’re bored something is seriously wrong.  Don’t believe that for a minute.  There can be peace found in the day to day boring routine.  Stability can be had in our weight loss journey.
This is how I stick to it.  I just keep walking and walking and walking.  Sure, as I said before, I get frustrated and bored and agitated at the monotany sometimes.  I have learned to really enjoy so many small things now.  A great way to appreciate the fact that you are on the journey is to write down 10 things each day that you a grateful for.  Write them down.  Try to think of things that your efforts have accomplished and write those down.  Remember, they don’t have to be big things.  Just think, you woke up, you took a shower, you ate some yummy stuff, you listened to music…………………..  Simple but priceless!
11 Responses to “Q&A post 8: Slogging Through Day to day weight loss!”


  1. January 9, 2009 at 11:57 am

    You have a gift for getting straight to the point and keeping things real. This is a great post. Very helpful and well said.

    • 2 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 11:59 am

      Thanks for being the first one to step in and comment. I appreciate it and keep up your great work. Thanks again.

  2. January 9, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Thanks for your unrelenting positivity. Seriously. I know you must get down on the journey sometimes but thank you for making an effort to make the best of everything.

    You (and Roni @ ronisweigh.com) inspired me to open up about WW in my life on my blog today — thank you!!

    • 4 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 12:27 pm

      It is for certain that I get down. In fact, I always get down. But, I just come to the blog and write and post. Talk to you guys, talk to my wife. My wonderful wife is actually the who helps me stay more positive. I have a tendency to get stressed and have a lot of anxiety, but her and my weight loss and running and blog have helped that tremendously.

    • 5 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 12:29 pm

      Oh yeah, there is one other thing. I think that there is a law at work. It is like the law of gravity. When I feel “down”, if I help others feel “up”, I tend to feel “up”. It seems as though what you give you tend to get. I have struggle with depression before, and the times where I have done this (not easy when you’re feeling down) it has always helped. There is just something about helping others that strengthens the helper as well.

  3. January 9, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    What a great post! My whole outlook on my weight loss journey is to take one day at a time.

    And I love what I eat now. I am eating high quality foods that don’t weigh me down and are actually fueling my body instead of allowing it to just exist. That is fun. My taste buds have changed and I don’t think I could go back to my old way of eating ever again.

    I love the idea of making a list of things you are grateful for because it really would allow you to see all that you have accomplish thus far. There is joy in that and not just in reaching the end goal.

    • 7 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 1:49 pm

      Very well said comment. I totally agree and I am sure the other readers to do. THanks for coming by and commenting. I appreciate it.

  4. January 9, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    This post is one of my favourites of yours!
    It absolutely speaks to me. I’m a homebody and used to feel bad about being “boring” but really I think I’m one of the lucky ones because I’m easily pleased and amused by life. There’s so much to be happy about in this life if we only look for it, eh?
    Like Kimberly, I too feel HAPPY about feeding my body well and working out.
    And I definitely agree with you, Jason…when I’m feeling down it definitely brings me up to lift another person up!
    I love coming here to read your posts. You’re an insightful, honest, warm-hearted person and it really comes through in this blog of yours!

    • 9 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

      That is a reallly nice comment. I thought I might get a little flack for saying that “boring” is ok. Really though, it is and think about all the junk we do to try a stay away from boring but find ourselves in trouble for it. Thanks for the comment.

  5. January 9, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    What an amazing post! Really sitting down to appreciate the things around you is important too. My morning cup of tea with relaxing music is something I always look forward to!

    • 11 run4change
      January 9, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      OH that sounds great. I have my morning gigantic coffee in my hand driving to the next mini mart to fill up the coffee again on the way to work at 4:30 in the morning. BUt hey, I have been driving that road for a long time now and I actually love my drive to work. Of course, I have zero traffic so that is a plus. THanks for coming over and talking. Have a good night.


Leave a Reply

