10
Jan
09

Body Image: Will I ever accept mine?

body-image

Like the cartoon above, often times I see myself appearing bigger than I really am.  Obviously, looking at my before and after pics, I don’t look like I used to.  Regardless of that fact, I still feel fat sometimes and I struggle with accepting my body.  My wife can tell me I am a HOT! husband, my mom can tell me I’m handsome, people at work can tell me I look great, but I am stilling learning to say these things to myself.  I never want to accept being overweight and unhealthy, but I would like to improve the way I think about how my body looks. 

How do you deal with this issue?

Below is a short BODY IMAGE ACCEPTANCE TEST and then a good article on HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR BODY IMAGE.

Hopefully these two small resources will be of some value to you.

Here is the link to take your body image acceptance quiz.

Take your body image quiz!

Read this article on practical ways to improve how you feel about and see your body.

19 Responses to “Body Image: Will I ever accept mine?”


  1. January 10, 2009 at 4:36 am

    I’m going to link to your post today. I think many of us are dealing with this no matter how far along our weight loss journey we are.

  2. January 10, 2009 at 5:42 am

    I think we have to learn to trust ourselves again. It sounds wierd, but at my heaviest (220 lbs) I saw myself as the same skinny girl I always was. It wasn’t until I saw a picture from a wedding I had attended and asked “who is that?” Only to be told it was me! I have lost 40 lbs so far and am 30 away from my goal weight, but I still question myself when I look in the mirror. Even though I have dropped 3 pant sizes and feel better all around, I still question how I look.

    I guess it is just another obstacle to cross in the great quest for ‘normal’. Great post. Sorry for the novel of a comment! LOL

    • 4 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 5:52 am

      Oh don’t worry about the long comment. We love to hear from everyone and long comments mean that you care about what is happening here. THanks for the comment and I totally agree with you

  3. 5 CJ
    January 10, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Thanks for the article and quiz. I too struggled any time I have lost weight in the past and now just since losing 30 lbs. I never think I look any different. I have lost 2 sizes and can’t see a difference. Now, I have a lot to go yet, but still…………if everyone else can see it, why can’t I? It’s amazing what how our minds and our bodies are disconnected! Thanks again!

    Oh, and YOU LOOK MARVELOUS!!

    • 6 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 8:22 am

      Thanks a lot for the compliment and the comment and the visit to the blog. I really liked what you said, “how our minds and our bodies are disconnected!”

  4. 7 CJ
    January 10, 2009 at 8:26 am

    This so describes me! I do have a lot of weight to lose and have lost 30 lbs. already. Unfortunately, I can’t tell. I have lost two sizes, but yet can’t see it. Everyone tells me they see it, but I don’t! Definitely something I have to work on. Thanks for the links, they are very helpful.

    Instead of “I’ve lost 30 lbs”…..I should be saying “I’VE LOST 30 LBS….WOOHOO!!”

    I have just stumbled upon your site through “fitcetera”……..You look MARVELOUS~!

    You are definitely an inspiration!

    • 8 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 8:31 am

      Thank you so much CJ. Your comment is an inspiration and a real truth that we all struggle with at times. Some more than others. I know I do. Thanks a lot for you in-put.

  5. 9 CJ
    January 10, 2009 at 8:48 am

    sorry, didn’t mean to post twice……my computer went haywire and thought I had lost the original post!!!

  6. 11 Amy Constantine-Kline
    January 10, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I’m often shocked when I see pictures of myself. I have no idea what I look like. Sometimes I’ll see myself in a mirror at the mall or something and not know that it’s me. Also, to top it off, sometimes my own husband can’t find me! Even he still thinks of me as bigger than I am!

    • 12 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 8:56 am

      That is so funny. I am somewhat of a quite guy who doesn’t really love to run into old friends that I have seen in ages. Now, I don’t even have to avoid them because I can walk right by them and they don’t know who I am . I have actually talked with people and they still didn’t know who I was. That is pretty funny that the hubby doesn’t recognize you. His mind will change faster than yours probably though. We will get there!

  7. January 10, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I don’t have anything close to the amount of weight to shift that some bloggers do. But I still have that lousy body image, like many women. When I see photos of myself at various times over the last decade or so, when I was younger, I often think “wow I was really slim/good looking/fit” but of course at the time thought I was a disaster. It’s frustrating and I don’t know how to resolve it.

    • 14 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 9:22 am

      When me and my sister look at pics and say,”Oh man I look fat!” My mom always laughs and kindly rebukes us saying, “Don’t say that, this might be your skinny pic someday.”

  8. 15 robfitness
    January 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

    How funny! meaning your last comment. I am struggling with the same problem. I know the scale says I lost 134 pounds as well, but the mirror still says I look like 385. Well the mirror really didn’t say that, cause then you would think I am crazy 🙂 This is a major obstacle for me and hopefully one day I’ll conquer that. Thanks for your great posts, man! There all so informative, well written and I see they come from your “Heart”.

    • 16 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 11:52 am

      Your comment gave me the chills again man. You always do that. Thanks for stopping in and hopefully you didn’t eat any of the pie during your stay 🙂

  9. January 10, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Even though I’ve realized that the outside look is linked to the internal I still struggle with it too. But I try to remember this, grumpy people don’t look good while a happy person does look very attractive and HOT! =)


Leave a Reply

