10
Jan
09

Can you win the daily battle? Of course you can!

food-and-dinner-001We can win the battle of the bulge on daily basis.  We won’t win everyday, but we will and can win most days.  As you know, at the end of yesterdays workday I was feeling that it was a bit unlikely that I would gain victory.  What happened you ask?  I did what most of you did last night.  Won that days battle.  I wasn’t perfect oh no.  About ten minutes before I left, all the employees were gone and on my way to the restroom I saw a mostly eaten bag of fire spicy fritos in the lunch room.  I smoothly walk over and grabbed it.  Oh yeah, I ate ’em.  Not many left in it, but I did count it as three points.  That was the only messy part of the night.  I went to my sisters after work and walked for 30 minutes with her.  I made the dinner in the pic when I got home.  Chicken (3 oz), potatoes (9.75 oz), and veggies (5 pts).  That is a pretty good amount of food for 5 points.  I was pretty happy with it.

So just remember that it’s possible to do a good job even when it seems like you won’t.  It was not the funnest Dinner # 2or most creative stuff to eat, but it was healthy and it kept me on track very well.  Oh and by the way, this meal is a go-to for me all the time.  This is my favorite thing to eat at night.  I replace the chicken with tilapia sometimes or the potatoes with noodles.

17 Responses to “Can you win the daily battle? Of course you can!”


  1. 1 Amy Constantine-Kline
    January 10, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Very nice. I like meals like this after a hard day. You can feel good about what you’ve eaten.

  2. January 10, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I can totally relate to the Spicy Fritos incident. But overall, you did win the days battle. Great post! You did amazing!

  3. 5 afatgirl
    January 10, 2009 at 8:54 am

    I needed this post today. (I find myself saying that a lot *lol* ) But I did NOT win the battle the last few days (I had a long blog about it today) but I am focusing on the small victories. The positive things I’ve done. I will win in the long run, not EVERY day, but most days.

  4. January 10, 2009 at 8:58 am

    You so right, I’m finding out that it’s all about the small battles with each challenge and if I (we) will win those, then this big war isn’t nearly as hard to win as it is when your just looking at the big picture. I just wish that some days there wouldn’t be so many battles!

  5. January 10, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Because the husband doesn’t cook much…okay unless you count stirring something lol…we often turn to a meal like this. It’s satisfying, healthy, and easy which is great especially after a long day at work!

    • 10 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 9:20 am

      That is good, ok, just had an emergency at work so I forgot what I was saying. Thanks for the comment.

  6. 11 zhannamomma
    January 10, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Thanks for your encouragement. I look at every day as a win or lose. Sometimes its those noodles that the kids don’t finish. They don’t even taste good. So why do I eat them rather than just throw them out? Make that my next challenge.

    • 12 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 9:29 am

      No kids yet, but working on that one. I tend to snack on my wife’s left overs though. She has no trouble with food and often does not eat everything on the plate. A foreign concept for me.

  7. January 10, 2009 at 9:54 am

    I ran 10 miles today, on the treamill. UGH… Waking up to a thunderstorm ruined my outdoor run. I really wanted to eat some doritos with my lunch, thinking I deserved them after a long run on the DREADmill, but I just drank a Diet Coke instead. That is a treat in its self for me.

    • 14 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 9:57 am

      I love diet coke. Thunderstorm huh? When I ran the strolling jim 40 miler, the first 3 hours were in rain, thunder, and lightning. I was kind of scared but I traveled half way across the country to torture myself with this ultra so I wasn’t backing down. Great job on getting your run in. I 100% absolutely love doritos. HUUUUUGGGGEEEE weekness.

  8. January 10, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I actually like “unfun” dinners like this 🙂
    They’re easy to prepare, fill you up & make you feel good about eating them.
    I find that foods like lasagna or pasta with sauce are foods which I eat too much of because they’re TOO delicious! If I keep things plain I can resist seconds.
    Thanks for the link love today 🙂

    • 16 run4change
      January 10, 2009 at 11:09 am

      No problem. I love pasta things too. My wife makes them a lot. For it goes like this, 2oz pasta 4 pts. For me I estimate 4 oz pasta 2pts. 🙂


Leave a Reply

