11
Jan
09

believe it or not! I had some pie and it was good.

turtle_pumpkin_pieHello everyone.  So far there are 15 votes that I would eat some pie, 9 votes that I would have no pie, and 2 votes that I would eat the whole pie.  Well guess what, last night I went skiing again with my beautiful wife Audrey.  Guess what I took with me and left in the trunk.  Oh yeah, the pie.  It waited patiently for our return.  When I opened the trunk up I could smell the crust.  Anyway, my wife and I shared a piece.  We traded the pie for the going out to dinner.  So I had a very small amount of pie which I am pretty sure amounted to 8 points.  The dinner we had last weekend after skiing put me out 20 something points.  Although not as filling, the pie was very good and it was very satisfying.  Thanks for participating and voting.  That was really fun to me and I hope you enjoyed it too.  The great part is that I still managed to stay within all necessary points even though I ate the pie.  Not to bad I guess.  I also got 4 points for the skiing that I did, had a great time with my wife, and lived a little on the wild side flying down the mountain.  I guess, all in all the “PIE EVENT” went well.  The cool thing about this journey and this life is that we can live a little you know.  We can enjoy.  The real truth is that I would have eaten the whole thing or at least more than half just 2 years ago.  And that would have been after my dinner :).  So victory is in hand still.  Thanks for your support. You guys are great and I thank you for reading this blog.  You are a great comfort and inspiration to me.  Muchas Gracias.

10 Responses to “believe it or not! I had some pie and it was good.”


  1. 1 maggieapril
    January 11, 2009 at 5:35 am

    Wow – you did great! You allowed yourself a treat without beating yourself up about it, and you kept it under control. Personally, I would have never mentioned it to my signifcant other, eaten the whole thing myself, and then fired the employee who baked it. (just kidding)

  2. January 11, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Howdy ~ Congrats on having a wonderful night with your wife and enjoying some of the pie. My question to you is: Why would your employee bake you a pie…? Am sure that they know that you are working towards being the healthiest you ever ~ actually, maintaining that lifestyle…so why would they give you a pie? Smile. My son was sharing a pizza with my daughter yesterday, and he walked up to me with it and put it in front of my face saying, “Doesnt this look GREAT” ~ Just had to smile and tell him to enjoy it, and went back to working on what I was doing. Just my “food for thought” ~ Have a blessed day! SAM http://www.smilesbysamdotnet.wordpress.com

  3. January 11, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Life is amazing, if you take it in stride! Good for you for enjoying your pie (and eating it too!) The best part is, you worked most of it off skiing before you even took a bite.

  4. 4 CJ
    January 11, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Well, I am glad you had your pie and still stayed within your points. That’s what this diet life is all about. We didn’t get fat on one piece of pie, or trying to re-arrange our diets so we didn’t eat a lot of calories that day so we could have the pie. We gained weight when we would have the horrible dinner and half the pie afterwards! Being mindful of what we are eating is what we are trying to achieve, isn’t it? I think you did great! You are an inspiration with what you have already accomplished, and obviously what you continue to accomplish. You showed the rest of us that you can “have your cake, and eat it too”…..Thanks!

  5. 5 gplongwood
    January 11, 2009 at 8:08 am

    You’ve really figured out how to balance yourself. Good job. Enjoy the pie.

  6. January 11, 2009 at 8:55 am

    That’s awesome. You enjoyed the pie, and stayed in control!

  7. January 11, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Good attitude – everyone needs a LITTLE pie. 🙂

  8. 8 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Maggieapril, I would have done the same thing. What you are saying is very familiar to me.

    Sam- Almost all of my employees have no idea that I have even lost a pound. All they see is that their boss runs a lot. So she did not know. My brother does that pizza thing to me, not with pizza usually, but with something/anything that I like. I work with him.

    Tigerlilly- Yes, it is a good strategy to work out and plan for these types of things. Sometimes you can’t, but hopefully you have saved some points. The thing I love about the new weight watchers momentum is that when you go over your points it takes away from your 35 extra’s first. So all in all, I have 40 points right now of activity left to eat just today. After I go running, I will have around 70. I am allowed to eat all of them on the new style WW and because I am on maintenance.

    CJ- Being mindful.. So important. Without that we would just go off I guess. Thanks for your encouragement.

    Longwood- I hope to have figured things out. I feel like a magician sometimes the way I seem to be able to pull points out of my pocket 🙂

    Sharon- You are awesome. I did stay in control and I have now officially thrown the pie away. I did take one last nibble of crust though. I love the crust. I didn’t mention this earlier, but just above the bottom crust there was a thick layer of caramel and nuts.

    John- you are right. everyone needs to eat those special little things lightly and in moderation. if we don’t, we just can’t do this for life. Life is not perfect, nor are our diet efforts, and thank God for that.

    THank you everyone for your comments and support. Your reading, comments, visits, and encouragement carry me further than you imagine.

    Jason

  9. 9 Rhonda
    January 13, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    See, you really can have your pie and eat it, too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

