11
Jan
09

Long runs, eating out, and laziness. Staying on my weight loss journey for today.

Caped MaxToday is the day for my first long run in a while.  I am going to go out for 4 hours.  After that I am going to go out to eat with my wife somewhere.  Sunday is the last day of my WW week so I think I will be sitting pretty good as far as points and think I will stay the same or lose when I weigh-in on Tuesday.  I am looking forward to doing my run.  Not sure how it will feel going this far, it has been about 2 months I think.  I am sure I will be tired, but as you all know, my theory is just one foot in front of the other.  Doing that I should be getting home in 4 hr at about 22-23 miles run.  Sunday is hard for me to stay on track.  It is a lazy day for my.  Since I went skiing last night and got home around 12 a.m., I could not run first thing in the morning.  This will take a big chunk out of my day later so today should be pretty easy to stay on track.  Thanks for reading, you guys are the best.  Best of Sunday’s to you.

26 Responses to “Long runs, eating out, and laziness. Staying on my weight loss journey for today.”


  1. January 11, 2009 at 10:09 am

    4 hours and 22-23 miles???? Okay, now I am feeling really small. I thought I was doing good with 5 miles. I’ve got to up the exercise. I know I’m not where you are physically, but I also know I can push it a little more than I have. The next time I go farther than I ever have, it will be to your credit, Jason!

    • 2 run4change
      January 11, 2009 at 10:20 am

      You can do it, but there is no pressure. Remember, the number one rule for running is that you are the captain of your own ship. If you want to run longer, you go for it. If you don’t, you go for it. you are doing such a fantastic job. And just think, 6 miles is actually an official olympic endurance running event. Six miles is even a long freaking way to run. Great job LTer.

  2. January 11, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Wow, look at you go! You’re amazing!

  3. 4 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    THank you Sharon. I am actually just heading out the door for the run. I will let you know how it goes. Thanks for leaving the encouragement for my just at the right time.

  4. January 11, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    WOW…. 23 miles for a long run. I never ran more then 20 getting ready for a marathon. Good for you. I need to get more serious about my LONG runs.

  5. January 11, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    “This will take a big chunk out of my day later so today should be pretty easy to stay on track.” I think you may have something big here. I know when I stay physically busy, I tend to do better on my fitness goals. Boredom or monotony eating, even in our supposed fast paced society, is a huge problem. We eat to break up our daily routine.

    A question. You and other Weight Watchers bloggers keep mentioning points. What does that mean? How does it work?

    Hope your run goes well.

  6. 7 robfitness
    January 11, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Like running 40 miles the other day was nothing? You are amazing and sure full of a lot of energy. I guess that is bound to happen once you lose 130 pounds. Hope your run went well. So how long did it take it you time? Do you keep a journal of the time and distance you run?
    Loving all the “heart” you put in your posts. They truly are inspiration and we know were the inspiration comes from, don’t we? HE is always there with us guiding us on our journey and picking us up when we fall.
    Have a blessed day, my friend! 🙂

  7. 8 charleshbaker
    January 11, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    @run4change – Great job. I hope you enjoy this long run. I cannot comprehend running for that length of time or distance. And just think, you’re doing it after skiing yesterday which is notoriously tough on the legs! I admire you man. Keep up the good work and good posts on this blog.

  8. January 11, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    HOpe the run went well.

  9. 10 ladlam
    January 11, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    4 hours?! Wow, that’s awesome commitment. I couldn’t imagine spending 4 hours out of my weekend just running. Good on you!

  10. January 11, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    It is very hard for me to stay on track on Sundays. I understand what you mean I went to the gym today, hurt my thumb lifting weights and already had a good workout so it would have been ok to leave, but I didn’t I biked for 30 minutes and not just pedaling along, I mean HR up and sweating, the whole 9 yards. I was very proud of myself. Have a great run. You ROCK!! You’re my new hero!!

  11. January 11, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    hope you had a wonderful run!! what a way to beat a lazy sunday. I’m off to a 90-minute yoga class now…

  12. January 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Hope you had a very successful run ~ I am still not sure if I will really include running into my exercise program, but have been doing a little jogging ~ as I lose a little more weight it might make more sense ~ I did do 41 minutes on the Wii Fit today and love the progress I see on that. Hard to believe that I can actually get my heart rate up using a computerized game system. Marcus and I will be working out together in the morning ~ hope to be able to move my arms afterwards. Who would have guessed that Jumping Jacks, Squats and Push ups could kick my butt. Have a great night!

  13. 14 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Sam, i call running and jogging the same thing. ANyway, running isn’t the only way to get activity in. Anything you like and will do is the activity that you need to do. You know what I mean

  14. 15 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    fitforfree. No wonder you are so awesome. Yoga kicks my butt. I totally love it though. It is a body transformer I think. My muscles showed up a lot more once I did yoga, but man was I sore. You’re hardcore. Great job.

  15. 16 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Mommymeepa, totally great job on stick in there for the bike. That took some determination and good thinking. Fantastic. And yeah, sunday is a tuffy for me.

  16. January 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Yep. I know. I guess I consider running something that involves a much longer route than jogging. I am considering doing the 3 day Breast Cancer walk this year…it is 60 miles ~ that would take some real effort to be prepared for it ~ and I would have a goal to work towards. Just have to make sure that I really want to commit to it before I jump in. Smile ~ SAM

  17. 18 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Ladlam, That is the reason I stopped training for my 100 miler. It took to much time. My wife didn’t want to give me up for that much time and neither did I

  18. 19 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Andrew,

    The run went well. I am tired right now and the legs feel a bit numb. But all was well. I hit a rough patch though around 3 hours. We miserable for about 10 minutes.

  19. 20 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Charles, YOu could do it. I thought just like that before. The skiing did take a toll. My goal was 22 miles, well, my tentative goal. I did 20.5 because i just felt more tire in the start. THanks for stopping by again. We like your comments.

  20. 21 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Rob, actually that pic was from April 2008. I hope I did not mislead. That was not my intention. And yes, HE does give me all the inspiration and heart and life, and everything. THanks for the awesome comment. The run went good

  21. 22 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    AK, I agree with you. When we are active and “busy” we tend to eat and live better. Points are the weight watchers equivelant to calories. 1 point ranges from 60-100 calories and the amount of fat and fiber in the servings dictates where it lands in that realm. Thanks and stay warm 🙂

  22. 23 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Janice, I was feeling a bit tired from the start so I just took things easier today. I ended up going 20.5 miles. As I near the 40 and 50 miler, my long run will probably be a marathon each week. Not necessarily official race, but the distance. I also go by time more than distance now a days. My longest run before the 40 miler will 6 hours and 7 hours for the 50. THanks for encouraging me.

  23. 24 run4change
    January 11, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Sam again, I know people who have done that walk. It is a killer I hear, but the cause is a killer to and that is why it is worth it right. Thanks

  24. January 11, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I did that walk. It’s incredible. you can do it.

    • 26 run4change
      January 11, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      I gave a lady some money to do her walk. It was right after my first marathon and I remember being so proud of her. She did great.


Leave a Reply

