12
Jan
09

Biggest loser: I know I’m late!

the-biggest-loserOk, since I don’t have TV at home, my mom or my sister record the biggest loser for me.  It has been our tradition to watch it each week after our WW weigh-in.  I really like the show.  I did not like the last season so much because game play seemed to take away from the miraculous life change that can occur.  So I watched the first episode of this season last night.  I cried, and laughed and cried and laughed.

I was never that big as you already know, but the emotions and the feelings that they are experiencing are the same that we experience.  Just the hardcore self-exposure and humiliation is so tough to watch.  I know it is an essential step toward healing, but the hurt and fear associated with it is amazing to me.  I cheer them on.  Another funny aspect is when they all get to the gym and they are cheering and clapping.  I think to myself, “oh man, they have no idea do they.”  They will understand the journey more as time goes on, but they have made it to the starting line and that is all that matters for now.  I wish though that the show did not have votes and that the person losing the least amount would just leave.  That would make it more pure and more to my liking.  Anyway, just my two cents.  Have a good day.

20 Responses to “Biggest loser: I know I’m late!”


  1. 1 CJ
    January 12, 2009 at 11:45 am

    I haven’t watched biggest loser in a few years, but something made me “Tivo” this one. It is encouraging to watch it being done, even though I realize in the real world, their losses are not “reality”. It is motivational though, at least for me!

    Thanks for the supportive comment on my blog. I appreciate everybody’s support so much! It really means a lot!

  2. January 12, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    I have watched this show since the first season as I began my journey with season 1! Granted I didn’t lose that fast however it was so motivating to me and still is 5 years later.

    I loved the first show of the season and truly had a hard time deleting it off the DVR because it was just so emotional and raw. I have felt that way, sometimes I still feel that way. We have to heal to the core and boy that takes time.

    I realize that these people are the same as you and I. I wish that we could see all the contestants that have been on and know how they are all doing. I know that some haven’t kept the weight off and it’s enough of a struggle without the publicity!
    I digress.. thanks for sharing your thoughts.. I too laughed and cried.
    I am looking forward to tomorrow nights show. I think it will be the best season in a few years….

    • 3 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks Carrie. It should be a great season. The first one I watched was the finale where Eric won. Since then I have been hooked. Thanks for commenting and adding your contribution to run4change.

  3. 4 robfitness
    January 12, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Before I headed off to bed I want to thank you man for your comment and prayers. I did post the “issue” I am having and hopefully that will clarify what’s going on. I know this comment has nothing to do with your post here so i hope you don’t mind it.
    Also for some reason when you posted that post about the 40miler I just thought that you just did it, then I realized you said in 2008. For some reason 2009 is still hard to comprehend and I got all mixed up, but still running 40 or more miles is an awesome feat.
    Now speaking of running. Tomorrow I am going out shopping for a pair of running shoes that I’ll be needing for my triathlon in April and since you are the running expert, do you have any recommendation for what and who makes the best ones?
    Thanks again for everything. Your an awesome guy!

    • 5 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      Hi Rob. No problem on your comment content. I love all your comments and I wil check out your blog here in a bit. My best recommendation for shoes is to go to a specialty running shop where they actually watch you run in the shoes you are trying on (either via video on a treadmill or outside on the road). If they do that, you will be in good hands because that is the only way for them to see what type of shoe you need for your type of gait and foot. Also, bring a worn out pair of shoes with you. If it is a running shop, they will be able to look at how that shoe wore out and know by the wear how your foot strikes the ground.

  4. January 12, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    You know, I watch shows like the biggest loser for the inspiration it makes me feel. I’m not heavy and fortunate enough that I don’t have any weight issues. Shows like TBL, and positive blogs about weight watching happen to inspire me in other areas of my life.

    • 7 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      That is great Bobby. I hope that run4change inspires you to improve your life exactly how you desire to improve it.

  5. 8 charleshbaker
    January 12, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I never watched The Biggest Loser until 2 January 2009 when I caught a few reruns. It is an amazingly inspirational show. Watching these folks expose their bodies and fears on National TV made it a lot easier for me to post my before pictures on my blog. You posting your pictures here helped with that, too.

    Of course those reruns worked and made me want to watch this new season. From what I understand the folks on this season are the heaviest ever on the show. They lost huge amounts of weight! How do you lose 35 pounds in one week? That’s just crazy!

    • 9 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 2:29 pm

      I know isn’t it insane. I guess we should be thankful that we can’t lose that much in a week becaues we don’t have that much to lose. It is inspirational to be sure. I love it. Thanks for coming over and contributing.

  6. January 12, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    I’m a huge fan of the show. And I cry, and laugh, and cheer them on while watching too. It doesn’t matter how much poundage wise that you have struggled with to lose, when you have been overweight and struggled with it you just know the emotions they must be feeling. That is why I get such an attatchment to the show. And I agree…I wish that the percent with the lowest lost was the one to go home. But I guess they need that edge.

    And your comment about going and getting fitted for shoes. Finally a few months back I went to the running room and got fitted properly for a pair of shoes. It was the longest I had ever been in a store trying on runners but they were great suggesting different ones for the type of foot I had and such. I walked away spending more money than I ever had on a pair of runners but I’ll tell you what….it makes a world of difference. Now I slip on my asics and it feels like wearing slippers. SO comfortable!

    • 11 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 3:07 pm

      Beleive it or not, I got chills reading that comment about the running shoes. I just wrote up a post on “How to buy the right running/walking shoes for your feet”. It will post next week. Thanks for your support.

  7. January 12, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I’m hoping to watch it this season, I only watched the Australian version once on youtube. But it was very inspiring!

    • 13 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      THere was an AU marathon for the biggest loser some time ago that my sister recorded. It was different but still very inspiring. Thanks for your contribution

  8. January 12, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    just put up a new post on my blog at http://www.mommymeepa.blogspot.com I have had to deal with a lot of emotional stuff the last few days. I have had to deal with a lot of my shortcomings and realizing things about myself that have contributed to my weight gain and how I never want to be that person again. I would love for you all to read my post and give me your input on how you deal with the emotional crap that comes along with the working out and eating right. Any input would be great. Thanks in advance. Melissa

  9. January 12, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I’m a huge Biggest Loser fan. I’ve even joined the Pound for Pound Challenge. I’ve only been watching TBL for the last 2 seasons, but I’ve loved every minute of it. Except of course, Vicky from last season. I wonder if she ballooned back up after she was off the show. I wonder if she learned anything at all on the show. It was sad hearing her say how she didn’t know what she could cook for her kids. She’d been on the show for months and still hadn’t learned anything she could take back with her. What a shame. The rest of the contestants, though, seemed to have learned so much about themselves. That’s what I like the most about the show, besides the amazing transformations, is how they dive so deep into themselves to try and figure out how they got where they are. It’s such an inspiration. It’s really helped me be able to make it through my own weight loss journey.

  10. 17 run4change
    January 12, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Cara, I laughed when you talked about Vicky. I was wondering if anyone would bring her up. She almost made me not watch the show anymore. She stole the magic from the show if you ask me. She stole the emotional healing and uplifting vibe. Thanks for the comment and I agree with everything that you said.

  11. January 12, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    sounds like a fun tradition 🙂
    i hope to follow it better this season. i could never follow the whole thing, but the transformations are amazing!!

  12. 19 run4change
    January 12, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Madison, It is a fun tradition. I really enjoy it. The only bad part is that I get up at 3:30-4:00 in the morning to go to work and my meeting is a 6 pm. Dinner and then biggest loser is a tax on my time but it is worth it.


Leave a Reply

