12
Jan
09

You can eat more on your weight loss program

Caped MaxIf you want to eat more on your weight loss program, YOU  CAN!  Here is one key principle that will allow you more “wiggle room” when it comes to calories.  This last week I did pretty good on WW.  As you all know, I had my battles and my moments, but it went well over all.  Here is my activity and intake stats.

  • On average I ate 7 points more than my daily allowance per day.  My daily allowance is 31 points for weight loss.  I want to loss 7 more lbs before my race in May.
  • On average I did 10.8 points worth of activity a day
  • I consumed all of my extra 35 points
  • I had a calorie/points deficit of 56 points at the end of the week.
  • I did 7 hrs and 32 min. of running and walking.  My average pace during walking and running combined was 11:59 per mile. And I did a total of 39 miles with a long run on Sunday of 20.5. I ran for 4 days this week.

Activity gives you “wiggle room”.  Simply because of running and walking, I was able to eat some extra nuts, olive oil, and pie through out the week.  I was also able to go to Red Lobster for dinner last night.  I ate 3 bisquits, 6 oz salmon, a baked potato, broccoli, and salad.  I did pretty good on counting and I don’t think I lied to myself that much.  So whether you are losing or maintaining, activity will help you eat more.  That is all for now.  Bye bye.

11 Responses to “You can eat more on your weight loss program”


  1. January 12, 2009 at 7:29 am

    Yes, you can eat more calories on your diet only if you are working out hard. I would rather just stick with a low calorie diet and stay focused on my fitness goals than eat more and have to workout more, butthats my view…

    • 2 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 8:02 am

      Of course it is possible to lose weight without exercise. And I don’t recommend exercising only to eat more. Eating more and more often is another way to increase your metabolic rate which in the long run is very good for us. Let’s say we hit a wall in our weight loss, it would be better to exercise more rather than eat less. There is a point where eating less makes our bodies think they should go into starvation mode.

  2. January 12, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Great reminder, Jason. It’s almost like you are reading my mind these days. I am also in weight loss mode right now to get back down to my goal weight.

  3. 5 Angela
    January 12, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Thanks for this Jason. I have been wearing the martyr hat this week, and trust me, it doesn’t fit very well. My WW weigh in days are Thursdays, and for this week I have already earned 40 exercise points. And trying not to use my 35 extra points as well. Well needless to say, I’m stinkin hungry! Tonight for dinner I made homemade spaghetti sauce, whole wheat spaghetti, and mixed greens. I had some garlic bread leftover in the freezer, and wanted it really badly. I had two big pieces of the garlic bread, which required using 4 of my extra points. I can’t tell you how much better I feel. I’m so terrified of a gain that I haven’t been allowing myself any freedom. Thanks for this reminder! P.S. I cut 20 seconds off my mile! Wahoo!

  4. January 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Exercise does permit you to eat more. Thank f…ing whomever you pray to. Or possibly the Flying Spaghetti Monster (umm wiki if reference not caught). I do anywhere from 5 – 12ish activity points per day, I think I used 50ish activity points last week — my difficulty is figuring how many activity points to consume. If I just stick to my allotted 23 points I am hungry, which is not a helpful place to be, and also useless due to low energy. And bitchy, to be honest. Lately I am finding striking the balance to be difficult. Le sigh.

    But yeah, kudos to you for figuring out and utilizing your wiggle room! Having that convo with the body is difficult — but will for sure be hellauseful as you train for your next race!

    • 8 run4change
      January 12, 2009 at 6:12 pm

      It is hard to find that sweet spot. I think eating about half of the AP’s is pretty good though and a fine place to start.

  5. January 15, 2009 at 11:53 am

    I would be a miserable person if I didn’t earn at least five APs a day to add to my daily 22 point allowance! Five is the goal I’ve set for myself as a bare minimum, but I often earn closer to seven and sometimes around 14 on weekends when I can do longer activities. I usually eat at least five of my APs, but if I feel like eating more, I do. I don’t feel guilty since I’ve earned them! I don’t work out more just so that I can eat more, but I’m certainly glad that it works out that way.

    I think you have a very healthy approach to the points, and I also applaud your use of points for pie. I find that, if I start to feel deprived, things don’t go so well. I know that I need treats to keep that from happening, and earning APs makes it easier to work some of those in.

    • 10 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 11:56 am

      Very, very well said comment. 100% true and a wondeful contribution to the post. Hope everyone reads it. Thanks sweetie for encouraging us.


Leave a Reply

