13
Jan
09

Angry and disappointed but food is not my medication.

Max in the dishwasherI have had a day at work.  Nothing horrible happening here, just some internal dialogue that I am having.  It has gotten me a little down.  The good thing is that I am not eating as a result of not feeling that great.  Why am I not eating?  Not just the simple fact that I have been or am being delivered from using food as medication, but I have my weigh-in tonight.  My tradition, although I do not recommend this nor is it healthy, is to not eat anymore after 12:30 on the day of my weigh-in.  I am sure it does not make a difference but feeling empty at the weigh-in makes me feel better.  I still eat the correct amount of points for my work day but I just eat them before 12:30.  Hopefully I do good and lose something.  Staying the same would be ok too.  I am also looking forward to going to my sisters house afterward and watching the biggest loser.  Thanks for all of your support.  Good blogging to ya.

19 Responses to “Angry and disappointed but food is not my medication.”


  1. January 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    congrats for being stronger than the food! you rock!

  2. January 13, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    It’s funny how we have these little weigh in supersitions.

  3. 5 maggieapril
    January 13, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Ha! I understand the empty stomach. I weigh in Thursdays at 9:00. (I’m self-employed and take Thursday mornings off.) It’s the only day of the week I skip breakfast. I take a Fiber One bar to eat in the car afterwards.

    Stay strong and good luck at weigh in!!

    • 6 run4change
      January 13, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      Good. I am not the only “empty” weigher. That is nice to know maggieapril. Keep up the good work.

  4. 7 Gervase
    January 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    Hi there. Just curious, how often do you weigh in?

    • 8 run4change
      January 13, 2009 at 3:31 pm

      I weigh-in once per week. I tried to go to once per month but that was just to hard and it made me paranoid. I have weighed in once per week since I started. I think it is a good way to go. Daily is to much and your weight can fluctuate drastically from day to day. I have gained 8 lbs in a day only to have a loss in that week.

  5. 9 gaiagirl
    January 13, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I totally understand where you are coming from in terms of self medicating through food. I posted on my (new!) website this week about my battle with weight, and it’s proved what I’ve pretty much known all along – that I’m an emotional eater. Stressed, angry, lonely, afraid, upset, happy, elated, on top of the world: I use food in all of these situations. A book I found that has really helped me out is “Shrink Yourself” by Roger Gould. It can get a bit pyschobabb-ly at times, but it has helped me greatly in identifying and managing emotional eating and distinguishing between real and physical hunger.

    I would never weigh in on a full stomach. I used to weigh in on Monday nights, on my way home from college, right before dinner. Now I weigh in on Wednesday mornings, first thing before breakfast. But I think consistency is the key. If you weigh in with a full stomach one week, do it again at the same time and in the same condition the next week and so on. I’d be concerned if you got too hungry though, so be careful of that

    My website: http://myweigh.webs.com
    Everyone is more than welcome to stop by. It’s a fledgling, but I’m loving working on it!

    • 10 run4change
      January 13, 2009 at 3:56 pm

      Hello again. I would love to weigh on a full stomach but since I also believe that consistancy is key, I have not been able to take the gain for that one week and then get on a new system you know what I mean. i will visit you place right now. See you soon.

  6. January 13, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Gervase, are you on facebook and do you have a friend named Michelle with red hair. I do not want to put her last name on here. I think I recognize your mugshot. LOL

  7. January 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Hi jason — thanks for visiting my blog :-). It’s great that you’re writing about the real ups and downs of the weight loss journey and the importance of healthiness being a lifestyle that has to continue beyond the loss itself. That internal dialogue never seems to go away, but it sounds like you’re finding healthy ways to deal with it!!

    • 13 run4change
      January 13, 2009 at 9:02 pm

      Thank you so much for stopping by and contributing. I appreciate your encouragement greatly. Thanks again. I will continue to be real and honest about this journey.

  8. 14 Rhonda
    January 13, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    I totally do the same thing. I’ve lost the shoes, spit out the gum, worn the lightest clothing I own, removed the wedding band …whatever it takes for the good weigh in. 🙂 I hope it was a good one for you.

    • 15 run4change
      January 13, 2009 at 9:04 pm

      Man, you wedding band must be HUGE :). Thanks for your comment and stopping by the old blog. Have a great night.

  9. 16 Rhonda
    January 14, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    LOL ….My ring, sadly, is not large enough to effect weighing in. I get tickled just thinking that it might help me somehow. Just like getting rid of my gum. You probably wonder just how much I chew! 😀

    • 17 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 2:34 pm

      I totally understand where you are coming from. It is a comforting ritual. The ring thing just popped into my mind though.

  10. 18 ChangeIsGood
    January 16, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I know what you mean about weigh-in habits too. Whenever I weigh in, I make sure I exhale completely, then hold my breath until she writes down the number. (Yeah – because air weighs SO much!) I also lean way back on my heels. Years ago when I weighed in, I was leaning forward to try to see what the scale said, and the WW lady said “lean back, it makes you weigh more when you lean forward.” I tend to think she was full of cr@p, but ever since then, I’ve always leaned back as much as I can. I remember one weigh-in when I was so concerned about a gain that I leaned back, back, back…until I fell back off the scale. They probably thought I was drunk. 🙂

    I also have a friend who always weighs herself at the same time in the morning every week. She seems to think that if she weighs in later, the number will be different, even though nothing has entered or left her body in the meantime. yeah.


Leave a Reply

