13
Jan
09

Time for another Q & A post: Ask whatever you want to!

questionmarkSince there are a lot of new people making visits and enjoying the readers comment and encouragement.  I thought it might be a good time to set up another question and answer session.  Ask me anything you want.  I am going to list the previous questions that have been answered.  If your specific curiosity has not been satisfied, ask away.  Don’t be shy either, I like to answer the questions and people love to read the answers.  Who knows, your question might really help someone out.  So just go for it.  Here is a list of the previous questions and there answers:

So those are the previous questions.  What do you want to know right now?  Ask about loose skin, running, WW, etc.  No holds barred, no rock left unturned.  Go for it.  Just use the contact form below and enjoy  the fun!

21 Responses to “Time for another Q & A post: Ask whatever you want to!”


  1. 1 run4change
    January 13, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Come on. Don’t be afaid to ask 🙂

  2. 2 robfitness
    January 13, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Speaking of loose skin, that’s a good point. You see sometimes these guys on the Biggest Loser and I remember seeing one guy in the finale when he took off his shirt you could see all the loose skin. It is a concern of mine as well after losing 130 lbs. I still have another 40 or 50 ponds to go. So has your body adapted to your weight loss by toning up the extra skin or do you still have access skin. Just curious to how your body adapted to the weight loss.

  3. January 13, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Do you tell everyone you meet that you lost 130 pounds? When I lose even 2 pounds I want to tell everyone I run into that I lost 2 pounds. When I hit 20 pounds I told everyone at the gym that day. I didn’t care if I knew them or not. You said a lot of people at work didn’t know the big you. I would be telling them all. Anyway, just wondering.

  4. 5 run4change
    January 13, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    I don’t tell that many people. I always tell people if the subject of them losing weight comes up or if running does. I want to inspire people so I do tell the ones who would care. i mean, everyone likes to hear it and the think it is amazing, but only some of them walk away with hope in their own hearts. I do tell people though. My wife tells me right now that she thinks I tell a “medium” amount of people that I meet. Thanks mommy for your support and comment.

  5. January 13, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I think you got my other questions, right?

  6. January 13, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Regarding the flappy skin, do you think you’ll ever have surgery to remove it? I am just so full of questions. This is fun.

  7. 10 gaiagirl
    January 14, 2009 at 12:41 am

    I think I may have just posted this on the wrong page, so here goes again (I think I posted it to your previous Q &A about how long it look to lose the weight).

    Basically, my question is what is your advice to someone transitioning from losing to maintaining weight? I lost weight before with WW but didn’t maintain. My WW leader failed me by not providing the book, maintenance program or any info, but I also failed myself by not seeing that I needed to educate myself about this. What is your advice, besides regular exercise?

    • 11 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 5:50 am

      THis is a fantastic question. I will definitely have a post on this one. I will email you with the post date and the sneak peak soon. Thanks for your contribution. This will help a lot of people and it will ease the fears of many.

  8. 12 myweightylossjourney
    January 14, 2009 at 2:32 am

    My question is: How do you tell your friends or family when they think they are doing the right thing, but they aren’t really. Let me explain.
    A friend of mine asked me over for dinner tomorrow night. She said she was going to make a nice big pasta dish. She is a very large girl, and we have often eaten way too much. I tried to explain to her that I would rather a nice big salad instead. She doesn’t seem to understand how important it is for me not to eat like my old ways. How do you (and other people) make your friends and family understand the new way you eat? I can’t get it through to them, and I find myself turning down invitations.

    • 13 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 5:56 am

      Another good question. This is a tough one, as I have people who ask me to eat things that I shouldn’t or don’t want on purpose just to see if I will fall for it. That is not good. A lot of times people who have not made it to the starting line want to see us eat the old way because it justifies the way they want to eat. They just aren’t at the place you are. I will answer this soon and email you.

  9. January 14, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    As far as the friend thing goes, you could ask her if you can bring a salad. Load your plate up with mostly salad, have a little pasta, and your both happy. One thing you will learn if you attend weight watchers is that it is ok for you to be assertive, not rude, but assertive. You are always going to have those people in life and Jason is right, a lot of people will have a hard time that you are doing well and it is guilting them, so even if they don’t mean to they will offer you bad stuff. I have a friend where when I go to her house she always has the bad stuff, so now I know that I just bring my own snack. She has gotten the hint and doesn’t offer anymore. She used to bring the plate of horribleness and put it right under my nose. We used to be work out buddies, now she doesn’t workout anymore. It’s really sad. I think that another aspect is that a lot of people have heard us all say we are going to lose weight, we do, then we gain it back and more. I think my friends don’t realize that I’m for real this time. It’s like they are waiting for me to mess up and gain it all back. I’ve just hit the 20 pounds lost mark and I think my family and friends are finally getting it. Hang in there and just offer to bring stuff to dinners, bring snacks, and be assertive. Also, once you are done eating make sure that you and your friend go out to the living room to talk. Do not continue your conversation around the kitchen table or standing in the kitchen. Those are all traps for eating unconsciencely.(I know that is spelled wrong and my spellcheck is not helping me)These are all things I have learned on my journey. I hope these hints help. Your real friends will eventually come around. My best friend and I have gotten overweight together and now we are both with a personal trainer and losing weight. She is up to 12 lost so far and I am up to 14 lost since we got our different trainers. It’s great when you have friends on your side. I will be praying for that relationship because I know how hard it can be. Hang in there.

    • 15 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 9:13 pm

      The mommy is right. So much of what she said is right. Good answer. Can I put that up with my answer on the post for this question. That would be great if i could.

  10. January 14, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Of course you can put that up with your post. I would be honored. Jason I am so glad that we found each other in cyberspace. This blog and the people on here are so helpful to me in my journey. I really appreciate the time and effort you put into your blog. Thanks so much.

  11. January 14, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    I have another question for you. . . just what is your angle? 🙂

  12. 20 carolynwantstoshrink
    January 15, 2009 at 6:47 am

    thanks for your wonderful words of support.


Leave a Reply

