14
Jan
09

Do you do it with your wife? Q&A

2008 Portland MarathonDo I do it with my wife you ask?  And how often?  Thank God for my wife because if it wasn’t for her, I never would have started doing it: Exercise that is.  This Q&A question is about my wife a little bit and if I exercise with her.  Here is the question:

Does your wife run with you?  What suggestions do you have if you have a spouse that does not exercise with you?  Did your wife ever deal with a weight problem?

Yes I do.  I run with my wife as often as I can.  She has been  a champ.  She as been running pretty consistently since I met her and has finished 2 half marathons.  Every week she runs pretty much. She often joins me at the end of my long runs and finishes up wit me.  We also do a lot of week day runs.  My wife has never had a problem with being over weight and she is a very balanced and healthy person al around.  She is a moderate eater and I envy that.

My advice to anyone who’s spouse does not exercise is make sure YOU exercise.  You need to take some time for you and only you.  Focus on you for a little bit.  I am not saying to turn into this selfish self-help person who’s self realizations cause family neglect and broken lives.  I am just saying take a couple of hours a week for yourself where you exercise and plan your eating.  This will make you a better wife/husband in the end anyway.  You can do it.  You don’t want to neglect your family of spouse.  They are important to you.  Another thing to do is gently, ever so gently, encourage your spouse to move more and live healthier.  You can do this by never making them feel like you want them to lose weight because they are ugly.  You want them to be healthy.  After all, you both take care of each other in your own little ways.

13 Responses to “Do you do it with your wife? Q&A”


  1. 1 ladlam
    January 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Good post! Sadly my partner has no interest in exercising with me, but that’s ok. She is more than understanding about me spending an hour locked away working out, and is happy to live healthily in other ways!

    • 2 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 1:37 pm

      That’s great. It is nice that she would like to be healty in other ways. Keep up the great work looking youself away for the hours. 🙂

  2. 3 gaiagirl
    January 14, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    My fiancé and I are both unfit, but are working on resolving that problem. He has recently taken to accompanying me on my walks. It’s great because I feel much safer walking at night now. He’s even challenging me to little sprints every so often. It’s fun, and we get a chance to talk and unwind. It’s lovely! It’s great that your wife runs with you. One more shared passion can’t hurt right?

    • 4 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 2:35 pm

      My wife feels safer too. I am glad I can bring her comfort like that as I am sure your fiance’ feels the same. It is nice to have a partner in this.

  3. January 14, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I love running with my wife. 🙂

  4. 7 afatgirl
    January 14, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Thanks for this post! It actually inspired me to exercise with my husband (rather than just cheer him on! *lol* ) He’s been bugging me to start for YEARS! And I, I have been too darn lazy!

    Although, I must say I like having exercise time to myself as well. It’s time to think, time to pamper me 🙂

    • 8 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      afatgirl, thanks for encouraging me like that. I really appreciated your comment and I am so happy to know that you have started to do some exercise with the hubby. I also agree with you 100% that doing it by yourself is crucial too. I obviously like my alone time or I wouldn’t be going out running by myself for 5 hours at a time. It is creative time, thinking time, almost relaxing time if that makes any sense. Thanks again for your contribution

  5. January 15, 2009 at 7:11 am

    that’s wonderful. my boyfriend is interested in being more fit but does not like to run or work out . . . I guess you’re right, the only thing we do is try to be a healthy example and not expect anyone else to change for us. thanks for this post 🙂

  6. January 15, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    You guys make a beautiful couple! I work out with my husband too, running and lifting and climbing the CN Tower’s steps :), although I haven’t been able to persuade him to play basketball with me (yet). It wouldn’t be as much fun without him, truth to tell.

    • 12 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      Hi Emma, I have more fun when my wife is with me too. She is the love of my life. Thanks for your contribution of encouragement. Have a great night.


Leave a Reply

