14
Jan
09

I wanted you guys to see some hardcore human determination: Video

These are a couple of my favorite videos.  They show some women who are 100% committed to finishing their races.  These are clean videos that are totally true.  They are of two different Ironman Hawaii finishes.  Both are very famous so you may have seen them already.  PLEASE CHECK THEM OUT.  IT IS AMAZING WHAT PEOPLE CAN DO.  Also realize that these competitors did not properly follow good hydration and caloric intake for an endurance event.  That is why they are having a hard time.  That is the only reason.  They are in shape, but the did not eat or drink correctly.

Juli Moss http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRB1p89k7_I

THE CRAWL http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTn1v5TGK_w

13 Responses to “I wanted you guys to see some hardcore human determination: Video”


  1. 1 robfitness
    January 14, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Man, thanks for the comment and that is pretty scary. May I ask what kind of “herbal energy stuff” caused the problem. Now a days you just never know what will do what to you. All I really take extra are a couple of things. One is called No-Explode and the other Betagen. Both are to help me with my lean mass and strength. At this point I am seriously starting to question them. I don’t think those are what caused the problem, but I do want to eat and ingest clean foods in my body and these are just extras, plus artificial, that my body probably don’t need. Do you take any extra supplements to help with your diet or running?
    I know I have our loving God watching over me and I continually pray that He will do whats best. After all, our lives are in HIS hands and HE does provide what we need, not what we want.
    Thanks a bunch, Man! love all your Q & A posts. Will you be doing one on the subject of Loose skin?
    Take care and have an awesome evening.

    • 2 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 5:21 pm

      Hi Rob, You are a man of God dude. The stuff she took was in a packet. It was the stuff that you get like at the gas station. She was on the way back from Cali. at my wedding. Only took it once too. I destroyed her liver and she was in ICU for months in a coma. She finally got a new liver and is doing great. I can ask her the specific ingredient if you want. She knows which exact herb it was. The Dr’s isolated it somehow. I stopped taking all supplements when I purchase this book called “burn the fat feed the muscle.” I lost 40 lbs on that diet, but the guy is an authentic person who really does his research and does not try to sell anything other then the truth: It take hard work and good diet to lose weight. ANyway, he said not to use any and that if you are eating healthy food then you are getting what you need already. I have taken some recovery drinks after long runs. That is about it.

  2. 3 robfitness
    January 14, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Thanks for the information and getting back to me. If you do have the time I would appreciate it if you could find out that information about that ingredient. I am real curious now about it. I am so glad to hear that in the long run it all work out for your step mom. That is a pretty scary story that it happened after only one ingestion of it. Plus the book your talking about is it a hardcover one or is it an e-book. Was doing some research on it and only see an e-book format. That’s if I did my research right 🙂 All I want to do is to be able to live the best possible and most healthy life I can, all naturally. It is a hard task but one that I have to try my hardest to work on and accomplish.
    Yes, I do take pride at being a man of God, as you are too. Like I have mentioned before I have been so blessed every since I accepted him into my life. I owe all that I am and all that I will ever be, to HIM.

    • 4 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 7:03 pm

      The book is an e-book. This is the book about fitness and diet that I would recommend above any other. I think it is the best one hands down. THere is just no BS in it. I think that the diet and healthy industry pretty much hates the guy because he exposes so many lies. Like I said, I did it and it worked, but I just couldn’t eat that clean all the time and be that organized. Weight watchers has clicked within me and that it the perfect way for me to do this life.

    • 5 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 7:04 pm

      I will ask about the herbs

  3. 6 ladlam
    January 14, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    I can’t believe those two videos. Maybe it’s just because I don’t really understand marathons, but personally I don’t see the need to destroy your body in such a horrible way. I admire their strength to no end, but can’t understand the motivation…

    • 7 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 7:05 pm

      Yeah, those videos almost scared me away from doing ultra marathons until I learned that they simply “bonked”. That is the term cyclist use for what you saw. They did not take care of the most crucial element of all big ultra distances. Food and hydration.

  4. January 14, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Damn that was impressive!

  5. January 15, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    You do realize that my long term goal is to do an Ironman, right? I was already scared thank you very much. LOL I like how Moss was pushing them away when they tried to help her. I actually volunteered at Ironman Wisconsin and got to work the finish line for 6 hours. I also worked one of the first aid stations and none of the pros took any water, drinks, food etc. It was amazing to see what people would do to cross the finish line.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • 11 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 12:47 pm

      These ladies were pros. Especially in the “crawl” video. If you notice, many people finish around these ladies without issue or problem. Caloric intake and hydration are absolutely essential. Remember that when it is your turn. I was afraid of being like them so I talked to and interviewed many coaches regarding those videos. All of them said the same thing. It was avoidable if only that had taken care of intake of food and liquid. You won’t have to be there.


Leave a Reply

