14
Jan
09

Up, Up, and Away! Got a gain this week

Caped MaxWell, this week did not go as I had hoped.  I gained 0.8 on the scale at my WW weigh-in.  Not only did I gain weight though, I also gained a good insight that I had forgotten about.  Every really long run or race that I have done caused a gain at the scale on the next weigh-in.  This Sunday I did 20.5 miles,  my first longer run in about 2 months.  I was a bit sore.  Sore means water retention by the muscles as they process their training and work to heal.  This was a relief.  I will reign in the tracking a bit to make sure that it was not my eating, but I don’t think it was.  Maybe it was the pie :).  All in all it was a good WW meeting.  Lots of encouragement and lots of victories for the attendees this week.  It was nice to see so many happy people.  There were a lot of guys too, the leader made me get up in front and do a little pep talk for the guys.  It was a nice time.  Then I watched the biggest loser with my sister.  I failed miserably with my eating when it came to dinner.  My points were ok, but all I ate were these bread chip things that are soooooo gooooood.  High in points, but it was my weigh-in day so I had the points available.  Not to bad, not to good.  Thanks everyone.

11 Responses to “Up, Up, and Away! Got a gain this week”


  1. January 14, 2009 at 7:22 am

    My daughter found a similar bit of information online about how you shouldn’t weigh right after working out because you actually have a gain at the scale because of something the body is doing. I don’t recall the specifics but it’s interesting to me that you found the same thing. I think it’s really cool that your leader had you do a pep talk for the guys. I think you are insirational and I wish more men realized that WW is not just for women. Do you think it is harder for a man to get himself to WW? Do you think there is a stigma attached to men that says they should be able to do it on their own and easily?

    • 2 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 7:31 am

      Yes, I think that a lot of men have it in there mind that WW is for the ladies. I think that most ladies think that WW is for the ladies. I am a man, and I get looks of surprise from the ladies who are used to seeing only ladies. I am welcomed no doubt, but it is new to them. I will do a QA post on that question I think.

  2. January 14, 2009 at 9:08 am

    It always sucks to see the weight go up slightly but I’m sure by now that you know its normal and doesn’t necessarily mean anything.

    • 4 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 9:22 am

      Yes, it is something I know for certain, but it never really feels that great. I am still in te range that I want to be in and that is what matters I guess. I just wanted to lose a couple pounds for my race in may

  3. January 14, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Keeping pushing forward. I’m sure that 0.8 lb will come off next time! Thanks for the tip on the spring rolls. Those sound delicious.

    • 6 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 10:35 am

      Thank you. Not sure if you have Costco where you live, but they have those spring rolls like chungs only smaller. They are thee for 1 point. Just as good too. Sam’s club may have them too. Thanks for the comment

  4. January 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    I’m expecting a similar experience at my weigh in this Friday. Getting back into the swing of things after a little holiday has meant more soreness than usual. I usually strength train on Thursdays, which can make the Fridays a bit dicey to begin with, but I’m planning to kickbox AND strength train this Thursday. If I weigh more than I would like on Friday, I’m just going to try to keep it in perspective as it seems you have, and remember that next week will most likely be better after things get back to normal.

    Good for you for running such a long race!

    • 8 run4change
      January 14, 2009 at 1:36 pm

      Thanks Sweetie Pie. I appreciate your encouragement. You are right, we need to keep it all in perspective.

  5. January 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Howdy. Hey. Wanted to let you know, I joined the WW group I visited today. Am excited but a little nervous. I was really busy today and actually didnt eat like I should have ~ I kept track of my points and has 12 left over ~ from what I understand, I should try and eat all the points, to make sure I am getting enough food…today was a bad example of that, but am happy that I am on the right track. I love reading your blog ~ and would love any words of wisdom you might have for a new WW person. Smile, SAM

    • 10 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

      Never miss meetings. Lifetimers, newbies, goal people, they all come back because they stopped going in the first place. Also, you can’t cheat if you count it so always count it. This is very freeing actually because you can eat what you like or want but you have to account for it. It you want a doughnut, go for it but make sure you save points. It is best to save the points for a planned indulgence rather than just spontaneously eat something and try to adjust later. Great job and keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

