15
Jan
09

Easy answer questions: Q&A

today-0012

How much weight do you want to lose?

  • This is a short and simple Q&A post.  At my lowest I had lost 133 lbs.  That put me at 173 and I think it was a weigh-in on a day where I was pretty dehydrated.  My ultimate life goal for weight is to stay below 185.  Right now I weigh 184.  I want to get down to 175 for my 40 mile ultra marathon in May.  So I would like to lose 9 pounds by then.  This is not for health reasons though.  Ten pounds is a lot of weight to have to carry 40 miles in one 7 hour push.  That is why?  I am pleased to stay below 185.  Thanks for asking this question and being a great contributor to this blog.

How many hours do you spend working on your blog?

  • A lot.  It is hard work but so well worth it. I just love you guys. 🙂

Is your wife cool with the no TV choice?

  • Yes.  As many of you know, we don’t have TV.  We do have A tv, but we don’t have the channels, etc.  We watch movies.  That is pretty much it.  I really like movies.  When I had regular cable the last time (about 8 years ago), I watched it to much.  I learned that the average person watches 13 years of TV before they die.  I figured I could get a lot done with 13 extra years. I do watch it if I go to my mom’s or my sisters also.

What do you do when you don’t get time to exercise as much as you want to?

  • When I don’t have time to exercise that much, I do what I can.  Even if that equates to only 10-20 minutes of running.  If it ends up that I don’t have time to do it at all, I make sure to stay within my daily points allowance for that day.  That has worked for me pretty well.

Do you tell everyone you see that you have lost 130 lbs?  I would be telling them all!

  • No, I don’t tell everyone.  My wife says I tell a medium amount of people about it.   I usually only tell them when the subject of running and/or weight loss comes up.  I do tell a lot of people about it via blogging and the WW forum since it is always relevant at those times.

Ok, that is all for this post.  Those were the questions that offered the opportunity for a quicker answer.  I thought about stretching it out to more posts but I just couldn’t make you wait.  I am not patient for surprises.

14 Responses to “Easy answer questions: Q&A”


  1. January 15, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I love the idea of not having cable. Really it’s overpriced for the amount of channels that actually have something worth watching. I used to stay up late watching tv just to watch it. It’s not even like it was a favorite show or anything. It was like oh…well this is on…this isn’t a bad show I’ll stay up to watch it. Being hypothryoid I really need to get my sleep each night and I’ve learned more and more to just let it go. It’s only tv. It’s nothing that will change my life.
    Recently I took the tv out of our bedroom and moved it to the dining room not hooked up to cable but only to a dvd player and vcr so that I can have room to do some workout videos at home. The husband wasn’t thrilled because before he met me he’d fall asleep to the tv, then he met me and he’d have to at least watch tv in bed before going to sleep. I was about ready to smash the screen on that thing. lol.
    Fortunately I don’t spend a lot of time watching tv….but I think the internet will be the next stats to be done because I know I spend far too much time on here. lol.
    Enjoying reading your blog!

    • 4 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 3:06 pm

      I know. I was actually thinking about the internet when I wrote my answer about the TV. I will probably spend 15 years in front of the internet 🙂

  2. January 15, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I would love to get to my goal weight, that would be about ten more pounds. I am hoping I can do it by April when I run the Country Music Marathon. Good luck to you.
    BTW… this is sad, but I couldn’t live with out my TV. I just DVR my shows and watch when the kids go to bed. I have no life here in Ky. 😦

  3. 7 robfitness
    January 15, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Hey there Jason.. Loved your answers. I wish I could live without cable but me and my addictive personality and I can’t do without it, at least not yet. Maybe that can be another goal of mine though. I do have another question if you don’t mind. Besides running what other form of exercising do you do know and what did you do while losing the weight? Was it all running and no other cardio or weight training?
    I know why goal weight for now is 210 pounds and if I can achieve it that would be an awesome 175 pound total weight loss. That’s kind of unbelievable for me to even think about. Have you had those thoughts as well?
    Have a great night there.
    By the way may I ask were you live?

    • 8 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      Hi Rob. I have those thoughts all the time. i just can’t believe sometimes how I have been so blessed to be able to lose this weight. I can’t understand why me. I made it to the finish you know. It is amazing. I am actually humbled by the whole thing, especially as I see that it touches others. I started running after 60 lbs were off. I started on a stationary bike. But my main machine to really kick the weight loss into gear was the stair treadmill. Not the stairmasters, they are of the devil 🙂 , this machine I called the gaunlet. it is actual moving stairs. That is the best machine I can think of using. It works. I prefer running long, but that machine did wonders my friend. I did the rowing machine a lot. I never ever weight trained. I had done so much of it during my life that I figured if Iwas still losing than I just didn’t want to add on more activity with it. I did P90X for a long time though as I prepared for running ultra marathons. That program will kick you ……. That is not a joking around workout. It is the real deal even if it does look gimmicky. It is not. One 45 min session of plyometrics made me sore for more than a week. That is hardcore. God bless ya.

  4. January 15, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Okay, another one… Weight Watchers. We did weight watchers at work as a group. We didn’t really have any way to stay accountable other than weekly weigh in’s.

    What has helped you stay on weight watchers versus other diet/nutrition plans? Is it more the meetings, support, or something else entirely? Okay, sorry :). No more questions, promise!

    • 10 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Forlife, I love your questions. I am thankful for them right now too because I am in a serious funk and want to eat everything not in sight (pizza, doughnuts, pepperoni, chips, etc.) I just posted on it so you came in for my rescue. First I say the meetings help a lot. Also, my sister and I started at the same time so that keeps me going too. Another aspect that helps is that for some reason it clicked with me that I can eat real food and that WW is a livable plan for the rest of my life. I believe this because my theory is that you can’t cheat on it unless you just choose not to count what you ate. My wife helps too. The blog helps a lot. Also, just seeing the changes and feeling the difference is a big deal too. Hopefully that answers your Q’s. So partners in crime, no-cheat theory, wife, blogging, and before and after pics. Oh, and do ask more, ask more.

  5. 11 myweightylossjourney
    January 16, 2009 at 12:58 am

    Thanks for answering my question about when you don’t have time to exercise! I need to find something other than running, but so far my swimming regime appears to be working..

    • 12 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 5:21 am

      You are so welcome. I did a post on swimming vs. running and it will be up soon. I enjoyed your question so thank you very much for joining in

  6. 13 myweightylossjourney
    January 16, 2009 at 12:59 am

    oh, by the way, cool pic of the cow!!! I love cows.


Leave a Reply

