15
Jan
09

weight loss lies: I lie to myself about food

I have to admit it.  I lie about food.  No, I don’t lie to you, or my wife, or my family about food.  I lie to myself about food.  I walk by my pantry and grab a small handful of my wife’s special “healthy nuts”.  These nuts that have all the good fat in them.  The moment they touch my lips the lie is born.  What is the lie you ask?  I tell myself that the nuts didn’t count.  I tell myself that there wasn’t enough nuts to make a difference in my points or weight loss goals. 

Another way that I lie is I will grab a HUUUUUGE potato, look in my WW book to find the points value, see “small potato=xxx”, and then I am like “Cool, my potato is on the medium to small side, so it is only xxx points.”  These lies don’t hurt anyone other than me.  When I hit the scale for a weigh in and I don’t do that great, do I have a right to be disappointed when I have been lying to myself all week. I don’t think so.

It is so important to just be honest.  So what!!  I ate some healthy nuts.  I go over my points, not a huge deal.  The huge deal comes when you want to maintain a weight loss and you have no “real” information to base your points adjustments on.  I might lower my points because I gained and then I feel hungry all the time.  Why?  Because I never needed to lower my points because I never actual ate the amount of points that I tell myself that I ate.  Does this make any sense at all?

20 Responses to “weight loss lies: I lie to myself about food”


  1. January 15, 2009 at 4:16 am

    It totally makes sense and I think most of us are guilty of this, at least a little. It is so easy to tell ourselves, “this little bite doesn’t count”, all the while knowing that it does.

  2. January 15, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Yep. I agree. Am going to my first WW meeting today at 930am CST, pray it goes well. Am a little nervous. smile, SAM

  3. January 15, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Yes, yes, yes!!! It makes perfect sense and I do it, too, particularly with portions. But we can overcome. We will overcome!

  4. January 15, 2009 at 7:13 am

    this is SO true. I try to make myself measure things out on a plate and sit down with them (I had a WW leader talk about “F-ASS,” or “food assimilation sitting still,” and now I hear that acronym every time I reach for a handful of trail mix), but it doesn’t always work!! So true that we become stronger if we’re honest with ourselves about ALL the little things!!

  5. 9 afatgirl
    January 15, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I am HORRIBLE at this! I’ve been better this week; but I know it’s just my enthusiasm…

  6. January 15, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Definately. My lie I say is “Oh I can eat this now and I’ll just eat less later on so it’ll all balance out.” But I never eat less later…

  7. 13 Tlove
    January 15, 2009 at 8:57 am

    So true! Although I am trying to maintain, I let these little lies happen and then think I need a new “plan” to maintain. What I need to do is really stick to what works for me, because I know what that is.

    Thanks for writing this post- it is something I have known, but not put together as a complete thought (does that make sense?). Seeing it written out makes so much sense, and gives me some perspective for today. This is a super helpful post!

    • 14 run4change
      January 15, 2009 at 9:09 am

      We certainly need to stick to what we know works don’t we. Thank you very much for your contribution and you words of encouragement.

  8. January 15, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Aah…that sounds like me and peanuts. Just a small handful. Think of the protein!

  9. 17 charleshbaker
    January 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    @run4change Brad Pilon the author of Eat Stop Eat has an interesting concept he calls OCE, obsessive compulsive eating. Check out some of his blog posts about it.

  10. 19 Rhonda
    January 16, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I know what you’re saying. We only fool ourselves, don’t we? …Or at least we try. 🙂 All those “little” things add up to something bigger. My old WW leader always said: If you bite it, write it. I try to do this….even when I don’t want to. 😉


Leave a Reply

