16
Jan
09

Life after a binge: A new day is at hand

Caped MaxDid you binge, fall of the wagon, go off program, or go over your calories last night.  It is not the end of the world and I wanted to talk about the most important aspect of moving on.  As you all know, my internal struggle last night to just eat everything in sight was short lived and I survived without doing it.  We/I don’t always make it through though.  Sometimes we give in and have a blow out.  This is what I call it for the ultra marathons.  The videos I posted, those were videos of a blow up.  To make it through a day or a race without a blow up is the goal, but we don’t always attain that. 

The most important aspect of dealing with a blow up is forgiveness.  You have to forgive yourself and move on.  If you don’t forgive yourself, it will be impossible to move on.  The guilt will settle into your mind and heart.  The weight of it and it’s internal dialogue is to heavy to keep moving in the journey.  We need to strip ourselves of the guilt, forgive, figure out what might have happened, and then grow stronger.  For me, I am not sure what happened last night.  Not sure how to learn from it, can’t figure out the cause.  I did learn that if I can just get myself out the door to do a little exercise than I can gain the victory much easier.  It seems that I have learned this lesson a hundred times over but it is also so easy to forget the lessons when you are in the thick of it. 🙂 If you didn’t gain the victory last night, don’t stay down today.  It is a new day.  It is the first day of the rest of your life and you don’t need to live in the past failure.  Keep on keeping on.

8 Responses to “Life after a binge: A new day is at hand”


  1. January 16, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Really great post! Thanks! It is really about forgiving and moving on.

    • 2 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 9:57 am

      Thanks sharon. I really needed your encouragement. I left some of this same post at my WW forum and the ladies blasted me for it saying that it was bizarre, holier than thou, evil, “way out there’.. Cinical I guess. Thanks

  2. 3 CJ
    January 16, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Great post….only thing is, I did have a binge last night. I had a cadbury egg, some pringles potato chips, and part of a coke. Well, afterwards, of course, I felt terrible. So, I sat down and decided to figure out my points. Guess, what? I didn’t go over my points for the day! Believe it or not. I had a 2 pt. soup for lunch and a 2 pt. breakfast, and only a 6 pt. dinner, so after adding up all of my mistakes, I still didn’t go over my points. Now, I realize I shouldn’t be happy about the binge, which I am not, but I am happy I stayed within my points range. I was ready to binge some more, but something made me quit this time and say “wait, let’s see how much damage you actually did and move on from it”…Your post helped me with that and I want to say thank you! So, that made me more determined today to have a great OP day. Doing good so far. Of course, nighttime eating is my enemy, but the hubby will be home and I do better when he is home at night!!

    Thanks for your inspirational blogging. Its truly helped me!

    • 4 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      This often happens. We eat “bad” but once we actually sit down and add up the points we find that we really don’t have to feel bad at all. THis is one reason why always counting points is important because it teaches us that we can eat what we want and have the indulgence if needed. Thanks for your comment. It will help many

  3. 5 ladlam
    January 16, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Great post! In the past a 1 day binge often turns in to a week or even 2 week long binge… I’ll remember this post next time that’s about to happen!
    Oh, and I did avoid my binge yesterday. I think knowing there was so many other people out there struggling with it also helped quite a lot!

    • 6 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 2:33 pm

      I know. You wouldn’t believe all of the people struggling just last night with that binge thing. It is amaing. We are all cut from the same cloth in a way I guess. Great job on avoiding the binge brother man.

  4. 7 Kim
    January 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    The operative word of that day seems to be Grace. Grace for yourself…cuz your not perfect and cannot and will not do it perfect all the time. Grace for others as they will always fail you too. Grace to move on. Jason you have such great posts here. I am glad I am making your site a habit!

  5. 8 run4change
    January 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    Thanks Kim. I am glad your are making it a habit too. I appreciate your comments and uplifting encouragement. I am sure the readers do too. Keep up the good work. And you are so 100% right. Grace. Without it we won’t be able to move on or live life how it should be lived. Thanks for you contribution.


Leave a Reply

