16
Jan
09

Simple ways I increased my activity for weight loss

Caped MaxI used to be really active in high school.  I played football and basketball.  I also lifted weights regularly for these two sports.  Over the years I slowed way down as far as activity goes.  By the time I started Weight Watchers in Dec. 2006, I wasn’t doing any exercises except practicing how I was going to order my deep fried burrito at the gas station.  I didn’t really even want to start exercising but my sister talked me into it.  I decided at that time I would do as little as possible and if I stopped losing I would increase the amount.  I started with 12 minutes, 3 times per week on the stationary bike.  It wasn’t hard, I just didn’t want to put anymore effort into it.

As I started to lose more weight and I realized that activity was making a big difference in the rate at which I lost, I decided to do a paradigm shift.  I figured it would be good to just add activity into the small places in my life.  I think that these little additions helped me lose and also helped me not look at activity in such a negative way.

  • I started to use a pedometer.  This was exciting to me and gave me a tangible way to see my activity victories.
  • I started parking far away in all parking lots.  I never would have don’t that before.
  • I started to use the stairs when I could find them.
  • I started to walk with my sister when we would talk and catch up on things.
  • I tried not to sit down at work as much and move as much as possible.

Hopefully I am not boring you guys.  I need to talk about how I got to where I’m at so I can remember what I need to do right now.  I needed to remind myself to increase the activity in these small areas of my life AGAIN. These are just simple little things I did to increase my activity.  Not big things, just little changes that transformed how I viewed exercise.

6 Responses to “Simple ways I increased my activity for weight loss”


  1. January 16, 2009 at 6:26 am

    I missed out on all the action here last night, sorry you were having a tough time. Sounds like you came out on top and are right back on track here today trying to help us still losing. I used to use a pedometer a while back but kind of forgot about it. I forgot how much fun it was. I think I will have to dig mine out of storage again. Thanks for reminding me!

    • 2 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 6:37 am

      It is such a good tool to use. It is a great way to recieve immediate feed back and it allows you to play a little game with yourself so that you can increase the activity. I think we all should use one.

  2. 3 Turnip
    January 16, 2009 at 9:31 am

    As always, thanks for the advice, and the words of kindness on my blog. I love reading your blog, you are always so positive and motivational. And these are great ideas to jumpstart a more active lifestyle. 🙂 Thanks!!

    • 4 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 9:35 am

      Your are welcome. I just got completely blasted on my weight watches forum about a post I put up about last night and trying to start again after messing up. And I mean completely blasted, they pretty much said I was evil and stupid. So it was nice to hear from you at just the right time.

  3. January 16, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Great suggestions we could all learn from. I think I am going to start taking a walk around the office (three stories) a few times a day and since I cannot find my old pedometer, a new one is probably in order.

    • 6 run4change
      January 16, 2009 at 7:15 pm

      You that pedometer is such a cool thing. The feedback is what I like. I know where I am at. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

