17
Jan
09

She got her weight loss miracle, but she is a miracle in the making too!

rock_n_roll_marathon_startHello everyone.  This is a very special post today.  I recently came into contact with an absolutely wonderful woman named Cheryl.  She lost an amazing 240 lbs on WW.  She also starting running and has finished half-marathons.  I asked her to tell me her story.  I was so blessed and moved by it because I saw myself in the story.  I was encouraged very much.  She has had a bit of a struggle of late, but we will all be privileged to see her rebound even stronger than before.  Let her story teach you and inspire you in your pursuit of health and weight loss.  This is what it is all about guys.  Coming together, helping each other, learning from each other, and growing strong and healthy.  Check it out and make sure to leave some of your awesome comments.  You guys know how to lift people up.  Here it is in letter form:

Hey Jason:
 
I wouldn’t mind you telling my story at all. I remember when I was losing the weight how many people told me I inspired them and not only did it help me along, but I was so happy I was able to help them as well. So here is my story in a nutshell. 
The beginning
 
I am 6’1″ tall and my highest weight was 410 pounds. I don’t know what the actual reason for me starting to lose the weight was though. I think it was a bunch of little things adding up that led to it. I remember at one point that to pick something up off the floor, I couldn’t bend down to get it. I had to get on my hands and knees, that was a huge sign to me that my size was not serving me at all. The first thing I did was quit drinking pop. At my peak of pop drinking, I drank approx 3 litres of Pepsi a day. Quitting the pop led to a 40 pound loss in about 3 months right there. I then decided to join a gym and began working out in the mornings;  I also joined Weight Watchers. At first I could barely do anything, at 370 pounds, walking was a workout on it’s own. I did as many minutes as I could on cardio machines, then moved onto weight lifting. I loved the weights! There was no cardio involved, and the weight lifting made me feel so strong. I slowly built up over the next few months. 
Now she’s running

When I got to approximately 310 pounds a few friends and I joined a learn to run clinic. After the first session I wanted to quit – it was so hard! One of my friends and I made a pact to stick to it no matter what. We were always in the back of the pack, but we were there pushing through. I was never a fast runner. I was amazed that after 10 weeks that I could run for 10 minutes straight. I eventually started entering races and loved it. My personal best for a 10k is 1:01:23 – darn, I really wanted to get under an hour. That will be a goal for this year. My best half marathon time is 2:48. I love the accomplishment of finishing a race.
 
THE POINTS NAZI

With Weight Watchers I was a “Points Nazi”. I never used any activity points, and had one cheat meal a week. I also was over exercising. I worked out for 1:15 in the am at my gym and was doing a one hour boot camp after work. All this lead to rapid weight loss. I started my weight loss at 410 pounds and after two years was 169 pounds. I was too skinny, and a lot of people started to tell me so. I never wanted to be skinny – I wanted to be fit! So as a result, I quit going to Weight Watchers meetings as soon as I knew I would have a gain for the week (I was around 240 pounds at the time). I was able to continue my weight loss myself at home, but when I got to where I wanted to gain a few pounds and maintain because I didn’t want to be skinny, I went the wrong way. Instead of eating more “healthy points”, I started having more cheat meals each week and stopped exercising consistently.  I should have stuck with the WW meetings and learned maintenance properly. Hindsight is always 20/20 isn’t it (sigh). Over the past two years I have put back on approximately 80 of the lost pounds and have felt very frustrated, embarrassed and guilty. My aerobic capacity feels like it is at zero. I hate the hold that food has over me. I spend way too much time in a day thinking about it. There is a happy balance between being over board on track and totally off track. I think that the trick is to find that place where you can do it for the rest of your life and still enjoy your life.
 
After all that…you have inspired me. Thank you so much for your inspiring words. Tomorrow is always a new day, and it will be a much better day. I will get on the treadmill and start again to build back what I once had. But this time I will be better, maybe even faster. I will break the 1:00 10k, and be fit – not skinny. I am going to set a goal to do a trail run this year. Here’s to continuing the journey and never giving up!
 
Thanks for letting me share my story with you Jason.
This awesome lady also got a tummy tuck.  She left a great comment with specific details regarding the loose skin and the abdominoplasty surgery.  Make sure you read her comment on that post
14 Responses to “She got her weight loss miracle, but she is a miracle in the making too!”


  1. January 17, 2009 at 11:36 am

    What an inspiring story and one that I am so glad you shared with all of us. It just really shows me that I need to balance everything, so that this will be a lifestyle change. Thank you for sharing. you will do it. I know you can. Hang in there and just take it one day at a time. Sincerely, Melissa

  2. January 17, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    That was a very inspiring story. Glad to know that no one is alone in their journey.

  3. January 17, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Such an inspiration story, thanks for sharing that!

  4. January 17, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    WOW. I know I might be overusing that word lately, but really, WOW. I am in just constant amazing of the committment of others, including Cheryl’s. My gosh, she has gone a long way and I know she will get back to that place again, and this time, she will stay there. Please wish her the best of luck for me, Jason, and thanks for sharing her story. You know, I’m beginning to see you emerging not only as a cheerleader, but a weight loss social worker of sorts. Keep it up! It’s looking good on you! :0)

  5. 9 ladyc0005
    January 17, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    What an inspiring story. Thank you for sharing her story. I wish her all the best on her journey.

  6. 11 Cheryl
    January 18, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Thanks so much everyone for all the wonderful comments. I will you all well along your journey’s too. If I could do it the first time I can do it again. We all have what it takes inside. Have a great day, and keep up all the hard work! Cheryl

  7. January 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    An absolute inspiration. Thanks for a great post!


Leave a Reply

