19
Jan
09

Things are looking up and relief is upon me.

Caped MaxHey alright now.  I am feeling much better today.  I am overwhelmed by the response that I got on my long post that I thought would lose your attention by the third paragraph.  Emails, comments, and replies to comments.  You guys were great.  You are so great, that at times I think I should set up a……………..  well, I will keep that little secret for another post.

Anyway.  No running or exercise yesterday.  I did bad by not counting my points either.  I completely rested all the way and spent the rest of day after work with my wife.  It was nice.  There is a new horizon in view today.  It is the start of a new focus on balance.  I have made my mind up regarding what to do.  I am releasing the death grip on all of my races except for one.  The Strolling Jim 40 Miler.  I may do the Portland Marathon too, but that would just be an added bonus if I am feeling good at the time and it has a very long time limit.  This will be great.  The race is in April which means that each year after the race I will go through a recovery period and have lots of time to go hiking with my wife, do landscape projects at home, and other fun things.  Last summer I was training for the 50 miler and after that was done I was training for the 100.  This should be a much more fun and personally lucrative year for me.  I think what the races did for me was validate that I had done a great job on fitness.  I know that I have done well now and will move on from dependence on the outward for validation.

Once again, thanks for all of your support.  That is what this site is all about.  I just hope that I help you guys as much as you help me.  Community is important so thanks for building one here you guys.

16 Responses to “Things are looking up and relief is upon me.”


  1. January 19, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I’m glad you are feeling better. Getting through the hard times is what makes us stronger, I think.

  2. January 19, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Looks like you are creating space in your life for new wonderful things to unfold. Congrats Jason 🙂

  3. January 19, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Of course you help us too. I was just going through some dark times last week and your advice and blog helped me get through it without emotional eating even one day. I’m so glad you have been able to work through this. I know you will be happy, your wife will be happy, and most importantly our Lord and Savior will be happy. God is going to use you for great things, my friend, great things and I’m so glad I’ve met you so I can see what those things are. Have a blessed day.

    Total unrelated random thought. . .
    have you ever considered being a WW leader? You would rock!! I would even consider moving to be at your WW meetings. 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      January 19, 2009 at 10:02 am

      To tell you the truth, I want to be a WW leader. Or atleast weigh people in and love on ’em a bit you know what I mean. I just don’t know if I have the time. Maybe this is something I can try and add into my life. I was to serve as well as a way to interject something new and different. Thanks

  4. January 19, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I agree with the above post, you would be a great leader at WW. I did just join a local group last week, and am excited about my first real weigh in on Thursday morning. I have kicked around the idea of joining for a long time ~ but reading your blog made me decide to take the LEAP. So, THANKS. smile, SAM

  5. January 19, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Thanks! I had a big success in regards to “ice cream” yesterday ~ it is nice to have control over what I consume. Have a great day! Smile, SAM

  6. January 19, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Hey Smiles, getting to the meetings is always the hardest and I applaud you for getting there. It will be the best thing that you have done for yourself. I want to encourage you to make sure that you go even when you gain weight. I had a setback for awhile and I felt bad, so I told myself that I would go back to WW once I lost the weight. I ended up taking quite a break. November 8, 2008 was my first time back in awhile and I have lost 18 since then. I have vowed never to miss a meeting again. No one will ever judge you for a trouble week. They just want you there, so you can keep making improvements. Again, AWESOME job. We are all here for you. To date I have lost 26.8 pounds on my way to losing 130. YOU CAN DO IT!!

    Melissa
    http://www.mommymeepa.blogspot.com

    • 12 run4change
      January 19, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      So so true. Going when you don’t want to or are scared of the scale is the best time to go. That is when the benifits of the meetings really kick in

  7. January 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re giving up that bad habit! Do you have anything to replace it with? I think giving something up is easier if it’s replaced with something. Do you like gum? They do even make all natural gum that is biodegradable. Those bad habits are a struggle to get rid of.

    I read the post about loose skin and how you can tell you’re dehydrated. Everyone recently that I’ve been willing to bare my belly to says mine is looking better. I recently quit soda and replaced it with water. Now after reading that, I wonder if it’s really the water that’s making it look a bit better. After ten years now, I don’t think it’ll ever look normal or even something I’d wear a bikini with, but hey, I’ll take what I can get :).

    • 14 run4change
      January 19, 2009 at 7:20 pm

      THanks forthelife. I do chew the gum like a mad man. . My jaw will be sore. 🙂 Maybe I should give up the ol diet coke and my belly would get better. Giving up the D coke would have to be an act of God for sure. I love my coffee and coke

  8. January 19, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    The blogosphere is wonderful eh!


Leave a Reply

