19
Jan
09

Warning! Food is more than just nutrition

inspireproject.net

image credit: inspireproject.net

There may be an aspect of the weight loss journey that you forgot about.  Food to many of us, if not all of us, is so much more than just simple intake of nutrition.   We are all attached to food.  For me, Doritos chips conjure up feelings and memories of my childhood sitting on the couch watching Revenge of the Nerds.  Oh what fond memories.  Yeah, it made me fat, but the memories are pleasant.  Why?  Because the food made me feel better.  We all have these special memories.

We often think that when we get to the starting line of our weight loss journey, we just need to eat good and exercise.  Only we find out very soon that we have emotions attached to our eating.  What and the heck do we do when we can’t or don’t want to take our medication (food) anymore.  We need new medication.

What kind of new medication can we use to replace our old medication.  I think it is important to replace the old with something new.  If we don’t, we are in danger of not keeping the weight off.  This journey is more than just losing fat, it is about changing our lives and moving towards total health.  Here are a couple of my little suggestions with links to a couple of relevant articles.

  • Talking with others about our emotional journey.  This is weird for many, but not talking about it isolates us.  If you never talk about how you feel about food and your journey, you are likely to feel like you are the only one.  Just knowing that so many others feel like you is healing.
  • Exercise is a great emotional outlet.  It is a proven way to help depression.  It is also a good new medication in moderation.
  • Accountability will help us work through the baggage of our eating.  When you want to eat the whole pie, talk to someone, they will help you through it.  Just like you guys helped me through it.
  • Counseling and groups.  Many many people resist counseling, but it is not so bad.  It gives you an outlet to talk about your junk to someone who can see it for what it really is from the outside.  If this doesn’t work for you, try a group setting.  Run4change is a group setting.  Weight watchers is a group setting.  Blogging in general is like a group counseling session. You catch my drift.  Gathering around like minded people on the same journey is healing.

Hopefully these couple of little ideas can help us work through the inside journey while we are working on the outside.  Here are a couple of articles that may also help us:

Weight loss via emotional healing.  Don’t listen to the “DETOX” part of this article.  Detox is usually a fad perspective that is short lived, but this article has some insight though it is not perfect.

Emotional eating.  This is a better article than the previously mentioned one and should be pretty helpful.

14 Responses to “Warning! Food is more than just nutrition”


  1. 1 CJ
    January 19, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Thanks, as usual, for the tips! I enjoy reading all your advice. Emotional eating, of course, is a biggie for me! It’s something I know I will always struggle with.

    Thanks again!

  2. January 19, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Great post, great post. I can definitely relate to emotional eating and such.

  3. 5 Mel
    January 19, 2009 at 8:42 am

    my new drug to cure emotional eating is to BLOG.. Love it!!

  4. January 19, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I am an emotional eater. I eat for comfort, for luxury, to celebrate, to cheer me up, to get me through stress. I am working on changing this because it is not good for me. I find that the Shrink Yourself book (by Gould) is great. It opened up my eyes to why I was overeating, and has helped me start to battle this habit that I have developed. There’s an online program too, but I found the book suited me much better. The website does have free articles though, so perhaps you could take a look there and see what you think? Some of it is a bit too ‘shrinky’ for me, but it has definately started me thinking about my relationship with food, and I think that awareness of the problem is really helping me to overcome it, slowly but surely.

  5. January 19, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Thanks for this post. I have never thought of my eating as medicine. When we stop the bad eating we are taking away the medicine and we will need something for the pain. I blog, workout, and write poetry. Thanks again.

  6. 11 sarahlovesfood
    January 19, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Jason, Thanks for the great post. Emotional eating is definitely something that I’ve been dealing with for the majority of my life. But blogging is definitely like therapy. It’s a great outlet for me, and obviously for lots of people. Thanks for all the great support and motivation, once again. Off to the gym I go!

    • 12 run4change
      January 19, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Yes, blogging does help. It is another piece of the support puzzle. It is somewhat like group therapy HAHA 🙂

  7. 13 hope59
    February 21, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Jason,
    I am a newbie to your blog. I find it helpful in a lot of ways! I love what you say about replacing the old medication with new. I am trying to replace the old (Food and Food and…) with something equally as alluring, but good for me. I have found that running really has helped me during the day. It is at night that I am still trying to find that new med!!

    Keep up the great work!!

    • 14 run4change
      February 22, 2009 at 8:05 am

      Hope59- You’ll find a replacement med. I know you can do this. It is hard to find sometimes but once you do it helps so much. Love to ski too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

