20
Jan
09

Want to quit in the middle of your run? Learn how to keep going

Coach Dean

Coach Dean

Warning.  Expert advice in this post.  This is another answer to a question I recievd during the last Q & A session.  It is a topic that we all deal with during our daily exercise and activity.  I am so glad that Coach Dean Hebert agreed to field this question.  He really knows what he is talking about when it comes to running, exercise, and sports psychology.  You may have read my post regarding the awesome encougement I recieved from him at a time when another “coach” really discouraged me.  There will always be those who try and keep us from achieving our dreams.  Coach Dean is one of the people who build us up and help us achieve our personal dreams.  If you need help with designing a good running/exercise program, he can help tremendously.  Here is the question that I recieved during the Q&A session:

“I’d like to know how you keep going during training, and don’t just go ‘that’s enough, I’m stopping now'”

Here is Coach Dean’s aswer

This is actually a more profound question than it appears on the surface. Certainly, physically there are certain limits depending on our general present condition. To push slightly beyond them is in fact how we improve conditioning and not just maintain our condition. That is good. On the other hand, reading our bodies and knowing when to back off because we don’t want to overdo it and get injured is quite another thing. My experience though is more often that people do not push themselves. We are accustomed to being comfortable. Discomfort is not something most of us seek out.

Which brings me to what is usually at issue: the mental aspect. As a Mental Game Coaching Professional I work with people constantly on this and related issues. The first point has to be that exercise itself has to become a value of the individual and not merely something being done out of guilt, or being done for someone else. These yield very short term motivation. So, what makes someone keep going is a deep down knowledge that they are better for sticking it out – physically and mentally.  Related to a “value” for working out is doing the type of workout that best suits the personality of the individual. Not everyone should be running (I know, that seems like heresy for a running coach to say.) But, waning interest and burnout are highest with individuals not matched personality-wise to their workout of choice.

So, with all that, let me also introduce that sometimes it’s OK not to push through. Illness, stress and general fatigue can greatly affect one’s motivation to complete a workout on any given day. If it is a random once in awhile thing, I would not worry much about it and just chalk it up to a bad day. Your goal is to just have the best bad day possible – as I tell my athletes. Do not succumb to the no pain no gain approach to training.

Now, perhaps more to the meat of your question: what specifically can be done to get through workouts?

First, I recommend the “Just One More” approach I write about in my book on excuses not to run (“Coach, I didn’t run because…”). Get your mind focused on the immediate here and now. Focus on just one more rep, just one more corner, just one more hill, just one more mile. Pick something out on the road to focus on. Or, play a mind game like counting telephone poles. It gets you away from thinking of the next 10 or 20 minutes or more of running and onto the only thing you control – your next step.

Next, be sure you add variety into workouts. Sometimes sticking it out is what you do because it’s tedious. Run different paces, different routes, different distances and different tracks. Run on a treadmill with a computerized running program that randomly throws in hills and different paces.

Too often people get into running thinking it’s the “best” exercises because it burns lots of calories. The problem with that thinking is that if you don’t like it and therefore don’t do the workouts or complete the workouts you aren’t burning those calories! A very social person for instance will often find running tedious even torturous as they go day after day on solo runs. Get real; if you are a social person you need a social setting to optimize your success at running. Make a date for your runs. Join a team. Enlist your spouse or children to run with you (It has been very rewarding doing some runs with my son; who makes it clear he is not a runner.) Just stop running alone.

And finally, if you previously were able to do workouts and now you have difficulty sticking with them, re-evaluate your training. You need a change. You may need some time off. You’ll come back refreshed and ready to go!   

Coach Dean Hebert MGCP

http://coachdeanhebert.wordpress.com/

“Coach I didn’t run because…”

 

19 Responses to “Want to quit in the middle of your run? Learn how to keep going”


  1. January 20, 2009 at 5:10 am

    It is good advice. I have the opposite problem … knowing when to stop. My mind wants to keep my body going when I should rest. I have a serious ITB issue I am dealing with right now. It has been made more serious by my hard-headed insistence on running 10 miles farther on it than I should have last Saturday.

    My Coach has advised me to stop running for 2 weeks to heal. The not running is killing me.

    • 2 run4change
      January 20, 2009 at 5:45 am

      Not running for two weeks will allow you to start running IN two weeks. Get injured more seriously will keep you out of your running show for potential months. Keep up the good work, I know it is hard to hold back especially when you are feeling good on a run

  2. January 20, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Great advice. I had one of those mental block days yesterday, mentally, I just couldn’t keep going. I ended up just walking but it seemed like the right thing to do.

    • 4 run4change
      January 20, 2009 at 5:58 am

      That is almost always what I do. If I want to stop all together, I just walk. Walk is more feasible mentally and it is 100% better than stopping

  3. January 20, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Its great advice. I always have to talk myself into doing one more minute….just one more minute…… just one more minute. (yes, it can be a very long 30 minutes!)

    • 6 run4change
      January 20, 2009 at 6:09 am

      OH yeah, when you aren’t in the mood, 30 mintues can seem like forever. Good job on doing “just one more minute”

  4. January 20, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Great post and good advice. You are so awesome for looking out for us with these kinds of guest posts. I really like the just one more technique and Coach Dean reminded me about the computerized programs on my treadmill. I’m going to use it today! Thanks, Jason.

    • 8 run4change
      January 20, 2009 at 6:33 am

      Yes, he is a very encouraging person with wisdom is this area. Thanks for leaving a comment and have a great day LTER

  5. 9 Jackson
    January 20, 2009 at 7:52 am

    Thanks for the excellent advise, it help me to remove the mental block of not completing my running program.

  6. January 20, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Great post, forwarding it to some friends now. The “just one more” can include 100 more calories (if you’re running on a treadmill), until the end of this song, until the person next to me stops … all manner of things. Thanks Jason and Dean.

  7. 13 afatgirl
    January 20, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I love the “Just One More” approach. It really helps me, both in exercise AND in other areas.

    “Just one more block…”

    “Just one more healthy meal, then I can splurge a little…”

    For me, it really works. To focus on NOW and take my mind off of the future.

  8. January 20, 2009 at 11:44 am

    What great advice! I’ll use the “just one more” mentality once in awhile…one more song on the ipod, one more commercial break if I’m at the gym…and you’ll always feel better about yourself if you just “go one more.” I’ll definitely be checking out both Coach Dean’s and Natasha’s Linton’s blogs! Thanks for the great resources!

  9. 17 myweightylossjourney
    January 21, 2009 at 4:38 am

    I have an injury at the moment – I tried to push through it yesterday, and today I didn’t bother. I hope it’s ok tomorrow, because I want to be able to meet my weekly swimming goal. I don’t want to fail only 3 weeks into this! But it is good to know that I shouldn’t subscribe to the ‘no pain, no gain’ theory, because I hate it.
    Thanks for the post!

    • 18 run4change
      January 21, 2009 at 6:00 am

      No pain no gain can really back fire. Right now, if you take the time off and eat a little less to balance it out, get healthy and healed, you will be able to stay get back on the exercise faster. If you get really messed with your injury becuase you kept pushing, you may be out for a long time. I am glad the post helped and you keep up the good work ok.

  10. May 9, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I’ve read with interest all these comments. Good insights and even MORE ideas on doing just one more. Several of you mention the old injury thing… yup, that’s when just one more is contraindicated and Jason was right on with his comment about time off. Some time off NOW means getting back to running sooner by keeping the injury less serious.
    To all of you… keep up the good work!
    Coach Dean


Leave a Reply

