22
Jan
09

A new balanced schedule, coming right up!

Kabota Tractor and MeAlright, I am pretty excited right now about my new balanced schedule for fitness.  I think it is realistic and it will help me both get more fit and balanced at the same time.  I will have an exercise schedule that is livable that will carry me to my two goal races.

I hope to beat the times that I got in the Strolling Jim 40 miler and the Portalnd Marathon.  So rather than go for number of races, I am going to try and make the two races that I will be doing count as quality.  It is a great change of pace yet still challenging and motivating.

 

 

 

Here it is in a generic nut shell.

Mon: Walk or Row

Tues:  WW meeting and X train

Wed: Run

Thur: Run

Fri: Run

Sat: Skiing/Hiking

Sun: Long run but not super duper long every week.

So there you have it.  I like it.

14 Responses to “A new balanced schedule, coming right up!”


  1. 1 CJ
    January 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Sounds like a good balance! Enjoy your life along the way!!!

  2. January 22, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Wow, sounds amazing!

    • 4 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks. I think it does to. i am really looking forward to doing new things. Monday is going to be rowing and a talk-walk with my sister. It will be time for us to hang out. If my wife gets off of work in time she will be able to join us too if she wants. Appreciate you, thanks

  3. January 22, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    It’s really difficult to turn down the running once you get bitten by the bug. Especially, I assume, when you do like the uber-marathons or whatever. I am a firm believer in cross-training. It helps to balance out your muscle groups (thusly) and can help you with injury prevention. I’m a big fan of spinning classes. You get an endurance workout, and work your anaerobic system as well (especially if you do longish classes). You can also do it in the home — my friend Dev has a thing that he puts on his bike so he can do it in his house and then listens to nike + itunes for routines. I did a circuit Friday which was pretty awesome — 30 min rowing, 10 km run, 30 minutes biking. It was fun to mix up my cardio work out by doing a bunch of sports in one go. But yeah,I recommend reading up on interval training –many argue that you can get more bang for your buck by working out for shorter periods of time more intensely (you know I have that stuff on rowing intervals on one of my posts too if you are looking for specific workouts). I have even read about a 3 runs a week marathon training schedules (google FIRST and marathon) (it is 3 runs + crosstraining).

    Do you do any strength or resistance training? That might help with overall fitness, toning, increasing your running efficiency and all that jazz. You could incorporate something like yoga or just do weight lifting.

    Anywho, just throwing some stuff out there. I too have been trying to find the workout schedule that works for me and with my schedule, so I kind of know what you are going through!

    • 6 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 8:39 pm

      I did do strength training last year, but I got so bogged down with the big miles (for me) and so much time at work. The only time I could fit it in was before work which meant I had to get up at 3 am and leave to work around 4:15. It just took the fun out of it and I had to go to bed at like 7 but I was getting home at 5:30. I love how you mix it up p4. Your awesome, hardcore. Thanks for your contribution.

  4. January 22, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Sounds like a needed change to stay out of a rut. Sometimes slightly shifting focus like that is just what’s needed to kick things up a notch. Good luck.

    • 8 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:54 am

      Oh yes, it is actually a relief to me. It is going to be a new and fresh start to the next segment of my journey

  5. 9 lissa10279
    January 23, 2009 at 8:53 am

    My only concern would be no days off at all. Be kind to yourself if you need a day off.

    • 10 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 8:56 am

      Thanks, the days that are for X-train (walking, rowing, etc) are also off days. The x train would really only occur if I was feeling extra good. Thanks for the heads up 🙂 now that I look at it, haha, 7 days isn’t that balanced haha 🙂

  6. January 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I’m jealous that you have a weekend skiing option! Good luck!

    • 12 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 10:40 am

      Thanks, I promised my wife I would take her so she could learn. It is kind of a life time dream for her. Now I am loving it too. Thanks for your comment and visit.

  7. 13 lissa10279
    January 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I only noted it bc in my exercise addiction days, I’d work out every single day for several months with no break. It was sick. And unsustainable 🙂 Do you eat your maintenance points? I don’t remember!

    • 14 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      I agree. I have never really worked out 7 days a week. My addiction was doing like 3 hours of running on the 4-5 days that I did run. So the no-run days are easy, open, and social. Right now I am eating 31 daily points. For me 31 is for losing and 34 is for maintenance. I am only doing this because I would like to be around 175 for my 40 mile race in may. I tend to eat all of my 35 every week and most of my AP’s. This still puts me pretty much to were I never lose and if I don’t get to that 175 by may, no problem. My goal weight wise is to be 185 or lower forever. Right now I am at 185. Thanks for caring enough to ask, I appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

