22
Jan
09

Three strikes and I’m out! Not self-promoting! A bit off topic

“I can’t see that I am promoting myself spending hours at a time responding to comments and personal emails in order to help people in emergencies and crisis and weight loss journey struggles.”

 Caped MaxBlogging is great.  I have had such a wonderful time since I started this blog. Met nice people, been lifted up by great stories of success and hardship, and had a chance to help others in their journey.  Well, I am not very happy about the blogosphere today.  I may just be to sensitive of a person to be putting myself out here like this, I don’t know.  I have had a couple of run-ins with comments from others that particularly hurt.  Thus, I named this post “Three strikes and I’m out”.  Three times in the last week or two I have been rebuked for being something that I am in no way trying to be.  Each and every reader has been great.  Even one of the people who rebuked me is great and full of love and encouragement.  These “strikes” happened outside of run4change, they were not comments that I got here. 

And don’t get me wrong on this post please.  I feel honored and privelaged to even be able to write and share myself.  I feel humbled that people email me with questions.  I take it seriously, and I love it.  So I think you guys are great, remember that.

Those three strikes almost took me out completely.   I thought to myself, “man, this is supposed to be helping me and others.  I shouldn’t be feeling so bad like this for trying to encouage others.  What am I doing wrong?  Should I just say forget this stuff and stop trying to encouage people and stop blogging?”  These were the thoughts that were going through my mind.  Read on to find out what the “THREE STRIKES WERE”

STRIKE 1: I posted a long comment about emotional eating at this forum that I go to for running and  WW accountability.  I just got ripped.  They tore my head off.  They said that I was WAY OUT THERE and that it WAS REALLY BIZZARE and that I need to do better EDITING.  Not only that, but a person asked to see my before and after pics, I put my address in my post and was ripped again.  Being, in a nut shell, called a self promoting evil spammer.

STRIKE 2:  At another forum where I really started to recieve and give encouragement I got blasted too.  This time, I could not figure out how to upload my before and after pics for the life of me.  I tried for like 2 days straight.  During my time there, I saw that everyone had “My blog here” or “See my blog here” or “their blog address” at the bottom of their comments.  So I did it.  I was there for awhile and everything, encouraging others and I get this message from the big boss saying that I was a self promotor.  That I will get kicked out if I put my blog address in my comment as a way to look at the before and after pics.

After taking care of that, I asked some people if they had secrets about the weight loss journey.  They shared, they told me to put it on my blog to let the world see, I did. I got a message that I was there to harvest and prey on peoples stuff so that I could have content for my blog.  So so so far from the truth.

Strike 3:  This one has nothing to do with the person sending me the message.  That person is great, but the message really hurt.  They did not speak hurtfully though, but I was already sensitive beyond repair at that point.  The message said that people were saying that I was a self promotor and that my posts basically spoke “at” them rather than “with” them.  This crushed.  It is so far from what I desire I almost got sick.

With this third blow I thought about saying “Screw it” to the whole computer universe and stop using it.  So here is my little tiny statement for all to hear and hopefully understand.

The blog started as a place for me to share my feelings with myself pretty much.  Then people really began to be touched by my little posts.  As I got used to writing my feelings down and sharing things I had learn, it got more fun and thearuputic.  I began posting blog posts at other websites too, they liked them also.  Now, I am so happy to have this blog and it is such an encouragement to me.  From what you guys tell me, it is an encouragement to you too. 

So just for the record, I may leave the ‘ol blog address in a comment or post if I think that the run4change readers or a post would encourage that person or if I just want to learn more about the person.  But self promotion, I just don’t get it.  I don’t get anything for doing this blog except mutual respect and encouragement from the readers.   Is it self promotion to invite people to a blog with no advertisements, no money making potential.  I can’t see that I am promoting myself spending hours at a time responding to comments and emails in order to help people in emergencies and crisis.  This is not self promotion, I am not self promoting.  I care about the people who visit, read, and comment on this blog.  I care about the people who’s blogs I read.  I comment to inspire and to encourage.  I try to post good info. that will help and at the same time share my inner life and struggles too.

Don’t worry, I am still going to be blogging my head off over here.  Just had to share the feelings.

60 Responses to “Three strikes and I’m out! Not self-promoting! A bit off topic”


  1. 1 whisfam4
    January 22, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Man I’m sorry you have to deal with that. I’m glad you didn’t decide to give up on your bloggin’. I’ve only been reading for a short time but have been very encouraged. I have not got a “promotor” vibe from your blog or from you. In fact I think your sincerity is evident in your writing. Keep up the good work.

    • 2 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      Oh thank God. I appreciate you sooo much for that comment. Thank you so much. You words did wonders. Those “strikes” really got me worried because I so don’t want to put that vibe off. Thanks again. Be blessed and have a great day.

  2. 3 robfitness
    January 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Wow man, You know you my 100% support. I am also glad that you decided to stay around. Your post, blog and comments are inspiring and have helped not only myself but I kn ow others. I don’t see how others can view you as a “self promoter”. I don’t get that vibe either. What I get and see is a very caring, thoughtful, kind, generous and spiritual person. All you’re trying to do is help others in the way you can re;ate to and others as well and you’re doing an awesome job at it. You are a “real”person who struggles through life just as we all do. Some days are better than others and it’s nice to see and read about what you go through because we can relate to it all.
    Be strong brother and please don’t let others get in your way of doing what is right for you.
    Your in my prayers.

    • 4 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks a million. Not letting others get in the way. Through out the week I got to the point many times where I said, “I ain’t stopping this. This is good what I am doing. I have the proof that it is good. ” But then I would get all deflated again. THanks for your prayers and powerful comment. I am feeling much better just know that at least two people don’t sense that vibe. Thanks man

  3. January 22, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Oh, Jason! So sorry that you are getting ripped like that. There is just no way possible to please everyone. I don’t think you are self-promoting at all. Your posts are so honest and helpful. I value and appreciate you. Please don’t let those comments bring you down any further.

    • 6 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      No further LTer. I was down pretty far, but no further and I am once again on my way up. Thanks for the love. I appreciate it. Have a great night.

  4. 7 Kim
    January 22, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Jason, First off I have been incredibly encouraged adn inspired by what you write. I have even shared your web address with others and added it to my blog roll, which I must say I do rather selectively. It makes me incredibly sad that people would see you and your site as something other than what it is…a place for encouragement and hope, inspiration and support.

    I am not one to give credit where credit is not due and I am not a “religious” type although my faith is grounded in CHrist. With that said, I cannot help but think about what kind of damage you are doing to Satan’s kingdom as you post things about your own struggle and invite others to share as well. I mean you are seriously helping to knock down some serious strongholds by having a page for people to confess their secrets (aka SIN). I wonder how many people are WINNING today because of the work you are doing. Is it any wonder that suddenly you’re being attacked for being a catalyst for such great change and redemption. I don’t want to give Satan too much credit, nor do I want to put you on a pedestal, because ultimately it is God, right!

    Keep on blogging my friend! If for no other reason than I need your story to keep me plugging along in mine.

    • 8 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      Woah. You comment was very benificial to me. I thank you with an emphatic thank you. I must email you to say it in person. Thanks

  5. January 22, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    You know, unfortunately this is part of life. If you take THREE comments that were negative and discouraging as opposed to all the ones that are positive and supportive you know they win hands down. In the face of adversity we have to continue to strive for the best and do what we know in our hearts is the right thing for us. Maybe those forums aren’t for you, just stay away. I will not put myself into situtations like that if I have a choice. Many people are jealous and envious because they can not achieve what you hav achieved. I lost friends when I lost all my weight and it hurt, as part of life I had to look at it realistically and keep going in life. Most people do not have a clue how hard it is to lose the weight of a person! I know it is no easy task, and keeping it off is even harder! Kudos to you for ‘exposing’ your true inner self to help others (and yourself).
    Please don’t stop sharing on your blog…. the fact that you are maintaining your loss and helping others is a gift to yourself and others. when you share from your heart, that’s what counts!

    • 10 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      THanks a lot. That is right down to the nitty gritty truth. Thanks for that. I like what you said and take it to heart. I won’t stop blogging, I will as I usually say, “Keep on keeping on”

  6. 11 somedayistoday
    January 22, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Jason, You are an honest blogger and like whisfam4 said, the evidence of how you care indeed comes through. Like you said, you’re not selling anything so there is nothing to promote. I see you as someone who has been successful at losing weight and now is working on staying that way. Blog how you want to blog. People can either read it or not read it. My advice is to stay away from the forums that have blasted you. Surround yourself with those who know your intentions and can support and encourage. Believe me, I know how hard it is to honestly blog and “put yourself out there”. Be yourself. God is proud of who you’re becoming. The enemy does not want you to help others…I’m not surprised this happened as you’re becoming more successful in helping others through what you’ve been through. Please don’t get discouraged. Be encouraged, because you must be doing it right! Blessings to you my friend!

    • 12 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 1:04 pm

      Oh thank you mucho. I think I will just stay away from the venomous arenas. It is what it is, I am a sensitvie guy and those places just get a little out of hand sometimes. My discouragement is flying away as we comment. Almost said speak 🙂

  7. 13 robfitness
    January 22, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    You are absolutely right, to some degree! What you are doing here is GREAT man, not good. You are helping so many people through your actions, words and caring nature.

  8. 15 Cheryl
    January 22, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Jason:

    Oh my gosh. I am so sorry that you have to be going through that. I know how much you have helped me, let alone everyone else out there who reads your encouraging words. You are nothing but helpful and encouraging. It is not self promoting to ask people to come to a blog where there is nothing but helpfullness on a very hard journey to go through alone. Keep up the great work. I for one would be very sad to not have your blog out there.

    • 16 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      Thanks my friendly journeryer. You are amazing. How is the running going. I just got my new schedule for a more balanced approach to running and fitness today. I am pretty excited. Thanks for your encouragement. I should be here to stay so don’t worry.

  9. 17 The not-so skinny chick
    January 22, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I genuinely hope that you understand that you are an encouragement to those of us who come here to read regularly. Why else would we come? Your posts not only encourage us to be healthier, but also to be real and honest with ourselves. I have found myself telling myself little lies here and there about food and I think “why? What does it benefit?” I still know the truth, even if I don’t admit it. It’s kind of like trying to lie to God. You know He really knows right??

    I have been involved in online groups for several years. Topics like pregnancy, childbirth, parenting, and weight loss. Each and every one has a few that are just there to stir up trouble or are just a little “off” and read everything in the negative. Some don’t like a newcomer who steals the attention from them. You can’t stop them from saying what they will, but you can decide how it will effect you. Don’t let those FEW bad comments erase ALL the good responses you get.

    You really are an inspiration and you SHOULD be proud of it!

    • 18 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      Thanks skinny. It is just a few and I can see that what you are saying is true about the online groups. It is a fact of life. i just didn’t know that. Really, all my experiences were here and there has not been one mean comment sent to me here. Never and not even one. THe atmosphere is so positive and uplifting and that I what I work hard to foster you know what I mean. I branched out a little to see what was going on and bam, i saw what you are describing about the groups. Thanks for your comment.

  10. January 22, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    YOU know who you are, why you are here, and what your intentions are. Do not allow someone else the satisfaction of getting in your head and telling you any different! Jason you are an amazing person, what you have accomplished is outstanding and a dream for so many others that are on their journey. To read your blog that is filled with passion, strength, determination, knowledge, heart, love, dreams, goals, real life experiences….is a blessing to so many others. Others of us that are about to, or currently are, or already have walked down that path of making such life impacting changes find it more than encouraging to have someone that can relate. I know just from the things that we have talked about that you are here for no such selfish reasons that these people have suggested to you!

    • 20 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 3:35 pm

      Thank you for that. I love your comment. It contains the perfect blend of STRENGTH and PASSION. It was very strengthening to me. I appreciate it to no end. THanks a lot.

  11. January 22, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Jason, a lot of people have given you very excellent feedback here and I would just like to underscore what they all said. I have learned one thing in my life about human nature: There are people who, when they see others succeeding, being honest, full of love for life, will do whatever they can to tear that person apart and destroy them simply because of their own insecurities and lack of integrity. You have nothing to apologize for. You have inspired so many with your journey, your advice, your willingness to just put it all out there.

    I used to belong to a few forums and I stay away from them now. I just didn’t mesh with the collective mentality of them and there exists a phenomena of group bullying and cliquishness that I cannot explain. Now I just have my own blog. I have the philosophy that it’s my blog, I can write what I want on it, and those that “get it” will come back and read, and those that don’t can go somewhere else. If someone has something rotten to say on my blog – which, btw, has never happened yet – I can always block them. I don’t spend my energy on the negative folks. Either in the blogosphere or in person.

    Life is too short and you have so much to offer. Keep doing what you’re doing here and sharing. I’ve come to look forward to your blog posts!

    • 22 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 3:59 pm

      I am thankful that the posts here are something to be looked forward too. THank you for your honest and understanding answer. I appreciate it and it sounds as though I am not the only one who feels “uncomfortable” in some forumns. Thanks a lot for your comment.

  12. 23 Sarah
    January 22, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    It is so disheartening to read that others would act like that towards you. You could get hundreds of positive comments a day and its the 1 or 2 negative ones that stick in our brains. I’m sorry that this has happened to you. I love coming to your blog and find it no way self-promoting, if it was then so are all of us bloggers right? And we’re not, we are stating our struggles, triumphs and YOU are so tremendously inspiring! Seriously you work your butt off and respond almost immediately to messages. I only read sincerity here. I’m thankful you will continue to blog. 🙂

  13. 25 CJ
    January 22, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Jason, I hate that some people out there made some comments that made you doubt how much you inspire others or doubt your intentions. Its truly sad that people cannot be supportive and move on. I don’t understand it. It seems to me there may be a jealousy issue. Some people don’t understand a healthy, happy, stable person with an upbeat attitude. ‘

    Please keep blogging. You inspire more than you know! There are always going to be some who are unhappy and no matter what is done for them, they won’t change. That’s what you seemed to have run in to.

    Keep up the great work! Don’t work too hard!!

    • 26 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 5:16 pm

      Thanks CJ. I will get thicker skin maybe as time goes on. Just not used to it in the internet world. Thank you for your comment it really did make me feel better and I appreciate your support very much

  14. January 22, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I think I saw the post over on the WWMB that you are talking about. The one about editing posts. It was a bit rough.

    Not as an excuse for bad behavior, but as a way of explaining the WWMB … The Boards over there have people who have known each other for quite a while. They are a fairly tight-knit group. Heck, I am very close to a handful of people over on the Newbie board. We have even met IRL a couple of times now.

    Some of the long time posters are very wary of new people … moreso than they should be. It’s true that trolls have come on the Boards and said very cruel things to the posters there. Things designed to hurt that really did. So, new people are often under suspicion for a while. It’s not right; it’s just the way some of the posters protect their feelings.

    On the other hand, there are a few posters that are just mean. Always have been; always will be. Every now and then, I will take one of them on when they go way over the top. But, not often. It is really too stressful.

    Anyway, I hope you will continue to post over there. I enjoy what you have to say, and have never seen it as self-promoting.
    🙂

    • 28 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 5:33 pm

      I know that thread to. I posted some in that one to the protection of the newbie, but that is not the particular one that messed me up in the head. THat thread you are talking about is pretty large now. The one where they balsted me was small and onlly about 5 people blasted me. Anyway, I will continue to post over at the WWMB. There are some beautiful people there. I just check the names before I put my message up now 🙂 THanks for the heads up about the “feeling” of the place. I love the runners maintenance group. They are so nice

  15. January 22, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I have never been to the Runner’s maintenance group. I love the Marathoner’s Thread on the Fitness Challenge Board. You should check it out! It is a great group of people. Totally supportive!

    I haven’t posted there this week since I’m out with an injury. Just wallowing in self-pity, I guess.

    • 30 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 5:50 pm

      I used to go to that group for a while. Don’t know why I stopped. Oh yeah, I canceled WW oline. Now I have a dif. name over there because I started using online again so nobody remembers me. 🙂

  16. 31 afatgirl
    January 22, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    ((HUGS))

    As a person who has turned to the internet for a LOT of support in the past. (Heck, I even own a forum for truckers wives!) I take things a little to personally sometimes and get burned easily. So I defintely understand.

    As for the WW forums specifically? I’ve always been more annoyed by them than they’ve done me good. I think that’s why I’m so thankful for the blogs now. I can find the few that I like (like yours) and avoid those that I don’t.

    • 32 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 7:41 pm

      Thanks. I appreciate a good comment from someone who has experienced first hand. I am glad that you left a comment to encourage. Thank you

  17. 33 Donna
    January 22, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Jason,the Lord blessed you with a gift and you have been using it just like he wants you to.Other people who put you down unfortunately are very unhappy people that dont know Gods all healing love,they are jealous and scared.Remember just turn the other cheek and thank him for all that you were gifted with.And keep up the good work.

    • 34 run4change
      January 22, 2009 at 8:36 pm

      That is so nice of you Donna. I appreciate it so much and it helps to think of God’s gift giving grace in the situation. It sure does help. THanks a lot and have a wonderful night.

  18. January 22, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    The world, and ipso facto to blogosphere, is full of douchebags. You are not one of them. The support you give to people like me every day is immensely valuable — even vital at times, and is appreciated.

  19. January 22, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    Illegitimi non carborundum

    • 38 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:49 am

      Illegitimi non carborundum is a mock-Latin aphorism jokingly taken to mean “don’t let the bastards grind you down”. Wikipedia

      THanks Andrew. I won’t let them grind me down. I am done with feel down about it. It is now the next day. thanks

  20. 39 Candice
    January 22, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I feel bad that you feel so bad, but we should probably be feeling bad for those who are leaving you criticisms about your blog. Everyone is free to visit or not visit your blog. Those who are criticizing you are probably jealous at your success with your weight loss, your blog, friendships and happiness. I came across your blog by going to the ww site and you said to check out your blog if anyone was interested in seeing before and after pics of you. No one forced me to and I liked your blog and added it as one of my favorites. Your loss of 130 was indeed of journey, and creating a forumn to assist others and yourself (so that you do not regain this weight) is part of the process of ensuring that you continue to be successful.

    Criticism hurts, but try to just take it as part of life and try to keep healthy thoughts for you and all of us in support of each other.

    Candice

    • 40 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:51 am

      I am glad that you found this place through the WWMB. I have enjoyed time spent there. As I said earlier. I am just checking out who posted before I do. There are many many awesome people there and also many safe zones. Thanks for your encouragement and continued reading. I appreciate it.

  21. January 22, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Jason,
    As a homeschool mom, I’ve recently gotten ripped. It hurt. The best thing is just remember why you started this site and keep true to that. Could jealousy be a factor because of your tremendous success? Sure, you seem to comment lots of places (including my site thanks), but it is always positive encouragement and appreciated. You’re welcome on my site anytime. Keep up the good work and try not to let the naysayers get to you.

    • 42 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:54 am

      No to the naysayers. Thanks AK, I like checking out your blog and commenting. Thanks for your encouragement.

  22. January 23, 2009 at 3:51 am

    Jason, I just read through all the messages and they are all right on. You found my blog, encouraged me on there and in no way did I find it self-promoting when I saw your blog address at the bottom of my comment. My first thought was, “great this person has a blog.” As you know the rest is history. I think we have emailed and left comments more than once a day since meeting through my blog.

    I have found that many people are not sure what to do with my success that they do turn negative. Like others have said I think these negative people are afraid of you, that you might steal their thunder. I will be prayign for them and for you as you go to different blogs/message boards. I will pray that this will not change who you are. You are an incredible gift from God who is helping so many. I”m glad you are not going to stop. Forget them and come here and we’ll encourage you.

    By the way you don’t need to self-promote. We are all doing your promoting for you. Just gave my WW leader your web address and will be giving it to my whole WW meeting next week. I can’t go this week due to my schedule.

    Take care my friend
    YOU ROCK AND YOU ARE MY HERO!!

    • 44 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:56 am

      Wow, meepa, you are soo encouraging. Thanks a lot. I had to leave my meeting and start going to a different one. Some how my old leader got my blog address, that was a nice surprise visit. Nobody at my meetings knows I have a blog. Thanks again

  23. January 23, 2009 at 3:53 am

    I just came up with an idea. Tell us what message boards and threads and we can go on there and put a message that says, “Hey, I just found a blog that has been really helping me” and put your blog address. HAHA That would be fun!! Anyway, if you want me to, I’ve got your back. 🙂

    • 46 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:57 am

      Sounds fun, but then you would be the one getting the “meany” notes from the moderators and naysayers hahahaha 🙂

  24. 47 myweightylossjourney
    January 23, 2009 at 3:56 am

    Jason, I have just started my journey, and you were the FIRST person to comment on my blog. It made my day!! I’ve been following your blog, and you answered some of my questions (maybe all, I can’t remember), so I’m not saying anything bad at all, only good stuff. Don’t take it to heart when people write bad stuff – it’s their problem, not yours.
    Take care, and keep up the fantastic commenting and blogging!

    • 48 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 4:59 am

      It is fun and encouraging to get comments isn’t it. If everyone who came her left a comment I would have to quit my job, hahaha. i love the comments and I think that that is what it is about. Interections that bring growth, laughter, healing, etc. I am now not taking it to heart anymore. THanks for your kind words

  25. 49 maggieapril
    January 23, 2009 at 4:23 am

    I know it is hard not to take criticism personally, because I have the same issue. When people are hateful, it is typically because they are unhappy when themselves and instead of directing their energies inward, they turn their negativity toward others.

    Try to think of it as a landscaping project. You put 36 flower plants in the ground and two die. Do you dwell on the deaths? Of course not – it’s just a fact of life. You throw them away without a second thought and enjoy the beauty and joy that the remaining (and large majority of) plants give you.

    I try never to post anything negative and I avoid the blogs and forums that do like the plague that they are. Come visit me at TasteNotWaist.com (speaking of being an evil self-promoting spammer) because there is some wisdom there today that I think you will enjoy.

    And BTW, I think you’re awesome and a motivational success story!

    • 50 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 5:01 am

      Thanks maggieapril. I really identified with the landscaping project thing. Thanks a lot and I am on my way to promote myself on your blog now 🙂 see ya in a minute.

  26. 51 Angela
    January 23, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Jason, my brother,

    I came here this morning to send you an e-mail, to thank you for your encouragement this week. Instead I was met with my suscription to your blog in my inbox. My first contact with you was in response to a comment you made on my blog. In that comment you posted your blog address, and I admit that my first response was “super, another spammer.” But one visit to your blog and I realized, this guy is for real.

    The adversity you are meeting is cruel, but these are responses from a cyber-world of cynical haters who have nothing in their lives but silver-tongued eloquence and passive aggressive sarcasm. So let them have it. There are thousands of people who have been touched by your passion and sensitivity.

    I am on my way this morning to my beloved grandmother’s funeral. You have been as kind, as dear as any close friend in my life to me this week, with your encouraging e-mails and kind condolences. Thank you so much for that. Grandma used to tell me this: cling to those who most dearly love you, and accept that some will not.

    And I say this: “Embrace your haters, they are your biggest fans.”

    Hugs dear friend,
    Angie

    • 52 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 6:00 am

      “And I say this: “Embrace your haters, they are your biggest fans.” Maybe this is true, HAHA,, wouldn’t that be something. Thanks Angela for your help and care. I hope all is going ok for your and I pray that today will go good for you. Thanks a lot for your encouragement and fun spirit. Actually, and I swear that I am not joking, one of the first things I thought when I woke up this morning was, “Oh no, I remember that first one I did at Angela’s. I hope she doesn’ think I am talking about her.” Funny how things come together. Glad you come here, glad your my fried, happy that you are kind, have a great day

  27. January 23, 2009 at 6:20 am

    I’m glad you decided to continue. I read it somewhere, no matter what you write or doing, 30% of people going to hate you, 30% going to love you, 30% don’t care, and 10% they don’t even know about you. What I want to say to everyone is be prepare for attack and nasty comments. I don’t know if that helps, but the figures put things in perspective a little bit. Blogosphere has rules and people are too guarded, you may come off a bit too strong by leaving too many links in many places at once? Anyway, you make your own rules and you’ll come out of this stronger =)

  28. January 24, 2009 at 4:01 am

    I’m still available to kick some cyber butt for you. 🙂

  29. January 26, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Jason – May you NEVER feel attacked on our running board. While I believe the people there are honest and have not let me use excuses, I have never felt anything but encouraged. I hope that this is your experience also.

    • 58 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 12:41 pm

      Never, not even one tiny bit have I felt attacked on the wonderful running board. i love it and have had nothing but a positive experience there. I appreciate, and need honest accountability, I just don’t need to see people breaking other people down. Especially when they are new to the journey. That is when we ALL needed the most encouragement.

  30. 59 Sheila
    September 20, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Like everyone else I can’t IMAGINE what could have come across as self-promotion! You are about as humble as anyone I know, despite the fact that you have HAAA-UUUGGE accomplishments and successes to your credit.

    “WE LOVE YOU MAN!” 🙂 Hope you keep blogging for a looong time to come!


Leave a Reply

