23
Jan
09

Sex is for Losers! Weight loss can help!

living.health.com

image credit: living.health.com

Sex is sometimes a taboo subject, but it is a normal part of life.  One of the possible benefits of being on our weight loss journey is more sexual enjoyment.  Now I know that I am a guy and all, but being 307 lbs even made me not want to do it sometimes 🙂  I also know that this can be a sensitive subject and I post about it with the utmost respect for my wife, myself, and all of you. We all know that sex has much more than meets the eye.  My good friend who was my teacher as I got my Masters degree in Marriage and Family Studies always used to say, “Parts is Parts.”  Meaning, our parts are the same.  We have the parts, we all have the goods to “do it”.  The point was, our brains are the most powerful sexual organ.  And this powerful organ is used to communicate.  That is simple fact!

So how can weight loss increase sexual enjoyment you ask?  Well, I am going to tell you some of my ideas and then point you to a couple of article on the subject.  Research has found that being obese has a negative impact on our sexual performance as well as desire.  Here are a couple of ways that my weight loss has affected that part of life.  Don’t worry, no perversion here.

  • More access.  This is totally embarrassing but it is just so simple.  Less stomach more access.  This is the least important improvement however.
  • Self-image.  When I was 307 lbs, I NEVER felt good about how I looked.  My wife was really nice and loved me at that size, but I did not love me.  After losing weight this improved and it helped my sex life because I felt better about who I was and how I looked.
  • Energy.  This may seem like no big deal, but 300 pounds is a lot of weight.  Losing those pounds made everything in my life easier physically, including “doing it”.  I mean hey, if I could hardly tie my shoes!
  • Improved communication across the board.  Communication is the most important aspect of the sex life since the brain is the most important organ in the sex life.  Once I started feeling better about how I looked, had more energy, and began to think more positive; I was able to communicate better with my wife in every aspect of our marriage.

Here are a couple of articles that talk about the positive things weight lose can do for our sex life and some of the negative things that being over weight can do.  Enjoy.  All clean articles.

Packed on the pounds.  This is a testimonial type article of a couple who lost weight together.

Common sexual problems amoung the obese.  This is an information article by WebMD

Weight loss improves sex.  This article is geared toward the male side of sexual dysfunction due to obesity.

Hope you enjoyed this fun topic.  See you next time

21 Responses to “Sex is for Losers! Weight loss can help!”


  1. January 23, 2009 at 6:30 am

    I agree 100% on this one. That is one of the reasons on my list: to have a more satisfying intimate life with my hubby.

    • 2 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 6:36 am

      Thanks Lter. I am glad that it is on the list. Intimacy and the satisfaction that it can bring about is so healthy and rewarding.

  2. January 23, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Thanks for this post. I think it’s worth noting, too, that even if you lose a bunch of weight, if your self-image isn’t good you’ll still be just as self-conscious being physical w/ someone else. The root of physical confidence is self-love and self-acceptance (at least I think so!!) If weight loss helps you love and accept yourself (and feel more energetic), then great. For some people, it might be exercise and the self-confidence that comes along with that. For others, it might be finding a creative outlet and becoming more confident that way. I think weight loss is one of many possible options to lead to physical confidence.

    • 4 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 6:35 am

      Fit4, I couldn’t agree more. That is why the brain/mind is the most powerful sexual organ that we have. I still feel weird about how I look at time during those moments. Loose skin, etc. Thanks for your contribution. It is 100% true. I am glad you noted the emphasis on the self-image/esteem issue. It is the curx of that type of relationship, that and communication

  3. 5 lissa10279
    January 23, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Great post. I know I felt a helluva lot sexier after losing weight. Sexier, more confident. It made me feel like a new woman in so many ways.

    My transformation happened 4 years ago when I was living in a different country than my then-boyfriend, now-husband … and he was quite shocked with the “new me”! And even now, even though I’ve gained a little and am not 100% happy with my body, he thinks I’m beautiful and loves me as I am — regardless of my weight — and always has.

    Physical fitness is a great aphrodisiac, and we do enjoy working out together, so it’s nice when both partners are physically fit.

    • 6 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 9:09 am

      Thanks for that honest contribution. Just feeling sexier is such a powerful thing. I am glad that your husband just loves you the way you are. You are a lovely person both inside and out. Thanks again and have an awesome day

  4. 7 Kim
    January 23, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I have to say, not being married, I look forward to the day that I get to enjoy this activity and to do so as a healthy fit person! As for sexiness and confidence, I already feel that much more so have lost 30lbs…and I have another 200 or so to go!! I notice I walk taller, make more eye contact with guys (except doggone it the ONE I actually like!)…and let me jsut say, my male friends have noticed. One told me that it is great to watch me come to a place of acknowledging my beauty and really knowing that it is true. All this to say…whoever my husband is gonna be….he has got something special in the works right now!

    • 8 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 9:32 am

      You got it Kim. He better watch out. You are awesome and I am thrilled to know that you are gaining sexiness and confidence both inside and out. Great comment and thanks for sharing it.

  5. January 23, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I’ll just nod and give a big grin here. 🙂

  6. 11 robfitness
    January 23, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    What I love and enjoy about your blog is that no subject is taboo and we can all talk honestly and openly about everything we go through and experience, both the good and the bad. Now for me sex isn’t an option because I am single and because of my religious beliefs. I do agree that once you do lose the weight for the most part we do feel better about ourselves and that feeling could in fact enhance you in other areas as well. I kind of side with Andrew I am nodding away and grinning because I don’t know what to say. 🙂 Oh I do but not here. Thanks for allowing us to speak up and express ourselves in a way that is safe, enjoyable, helpful and non-judgmental.

    • 12 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm

      No problem man. It is funny, every time I get notified that someone left a comment on this post I am like, “Ok, here we go. What is this one gonna look like. Will they be mad, will they say that I have gone to far.” But no, I swear that the readers here are totally awesome. Everyone is done to earth real. Sex is one of those down to earth real subjects. The post has had a large volume of reads today, so I know that many are following Andrews lead. And I can understand that. But I also know as you and some others have shared, it is a topic that goes in and out of our minds during this journey. Thanks

  7. 13 lissa10279
    January 23, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Thanks Jason!

  8. January 23, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    This is a topic I’m all too familiar with. My husband has been in the category of obese for some time and as his weight has increased, our sex life has decreased. Quite drastically. I’ve tried, but his desire is not there. With the new year and his new goals, I’m hoping more sex is a side effect :).

    And no, you didn’t go to far. It’s a topic that too many are afraid to bring up but we all think about.

    • 16 run4change
      January 23, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      Sorry about this. From the my perspective as an obese person, this was a hard area to deal with. I wanted to do it, but was ashamed about my body at the same time and felt bad about doing it. Another thing was just not having energy and being so tired due to the weight. I wish you the best and hope that the resolutions will come through and that the sex life will be more to your expectations and desires. THanks for your contribution

  9. 19 Rhonda
    January 26, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Well, love (sex) makes the world go around. When you feel good about yourself, then you’re not afraid to get naked. That’s just the bottom line. See, I feel like a tub o’ lard lately and it’s the last thing on my mind. My husband doesn’t care, but I do. It’s a vicious cycle because both of us wind up losing out. I’m very self conscious and even with the lights out…I feel jello-ish. I hope to lose this weight and feel better about myself and he better watch out because it’ll be like the Honeymoon all over again. lol 😉

    • 20 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 9:08 pm

      Thanks a lot for your comment Rhonda. I appreciate it, and he better watch out, cause you’re gonna get him! 🙂 Ha ha ha ha.


Leave a Reply

