25
Jan
09

Don’t throw the towel in yet. Response to a secret!

28 🙂 1/24/2009– I’m throwing in the towel! I am giving up! I don’t deserve to be here! I am just sick of failing and letting myself down. …….

Dear Secret Person,

I am so very sorry that you are having a hard time right now. You are right. This journey, as well as other journey’s, are not easy. Many people throw the towel in. Damn, I have thrown the towel in. Many, many times. You are also right that sometimes things don’t go the way we dreamed in marriages and relationships. We hit a road block and don’t know what to do or how to feel. One thing I know for sure is that IT IS OK TO FEEL! You know and I know that you are hurting right now. Hurting a lot. Hopelessness, helplessness, fatigue, worry, fear, depression! I have been in the deep dark place of disillusionment. It hurts and the sight that I had in that place was very dull. It was difficult if not impossible to see any light. I am sorry my friend. I feel for you. When I got your comment, I was on my way to skiing for the night. I prayed inside for you as I drove. I hurt for you, I cared for you, I hoped for you.

I don’t want to tell you not to feel this way. It is very difficult to stop feeling and you shouldn’t stop feeling. All I can tell you is the truth. The truth IS visible from outside that darkness. If only I could grab your hand to pull you out only for a moment. It would only take a moment of clarity. You don’t have to throw in the towel. It is you choice, but you don’t have to. You are not helpless nor are you hopeless. There is hope. God has a plan to give you a good future and not to harm you, regardless of what has happened. You can overcome these hard times and recover even stronger than ever……..

Once again, I am sorry that you are hurting so much. Other people also have that same reality. You are not the only one. People all around have hurts, that stay inside, that aren’t visible to the people around them. I am glad you shared your story, your feelings. Please, don’t throw in the towel yet. One more step, one more hour, one more day. I know you can make it. I am human, we are human, it can be done. Be blessed. 😦

3 Responses to “Don’t throw the towel in yet. Response to a secret!”


  1. January 25, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Amen to that. This is not easy but it is worth it.


Leave a Reply

