26
Jan
09

Perseverance: Key in losing weight, attaining goals, and living life!

perseverance

Chinese symbol for perseverance

Hi there.  My name is Jason.  I have basically been fat all my life.  Even in times were I was actually not fat, I still felt or thought I was fat.  I am sure that many of you can relate to that.  Between Dec. 13th 2006 and Dec 13th 2007, I lost about 130 lbs.  Not only did I lose the weight then, but have kept it off since and have also been blessed enough to finish 7 marathons and 4 ultra-marathons.  I tell ya, it has been a tremendous journey to get here today.  The journey wasn’t always fun though, it had many ups and downs, it came with joy, it came with discouragement.  Although I am still on the journey, I think things worked out pretty well.  I want to share  with you a little of the journey because I want you to know that a normal, regular, obese or over weight person can accomplish amazing things.  If I could do it, I know you CAN do it.  A key ingredient to weight loss, fitness, health, and life in general is perseverance.

Perseverance: To keep at something in spite of difficulties, opposition, or discouragement (Websters). 

Throughout my journey, I have learned that this simple little trait can bring a person further than ever imaginable.  This word is in every aspect of what we are trying to achieve in our bodies, minds, and emotions.  It may take time to loss the weight and get healthy, but if you can just hold and persevere YOU WILL MAKE IT!

Here are some examples of cross-roads that I reached (we all reach)during my own journey when perseverance took me through.

Weight loss

  • I was afraid to start:  I had to overcome serious mental and emotional barriers to just get started.  We all have them.  The fears that we won’t succeed or that if we do it will all be gained back. 
  • I fell off the wagon (in other words, I chowed down)- To most of us, this can be devastating.  We feel guilty and  say things like, “Oh dang, I’ll just start again Monday.” or “I just can’t do this, I knew I couldn’t do it.”  During these times I just jumped right back up and started right then and there with my program.  I still felt guilty, depressed, and lacked motivation, but getting up from a fall as soon as possible is all we need to do.
  • I was doing great but I still gained/didn’t lose:  Hey, we are on a journey.  Lets say you gain 2 lbs in a week and you are going to live healthy for years to come.  This 2 lb gain is just a blip on the radar.  A pebble in the road.  So I moved on, stuck to my plan. Our bodies react and adjust, it takes time. 

Running/Exercise

  •  I could hardly do any exercise and I was embarrassed:  When I started I could only ride a stationary bike for 12 minutes.  Now, I can run a 50 mile ultra marathon without stopping.  It took me  about 11 1/2 hours.  It’s ok to start out small because with a little perseverance and time you will transform yourself into a strong and healthy person.
  • I wanted to give up and quit:  Ultra-marathons taught me so much about life and weight loss.  When you run for 7-12 hours straight you go through many emotional ups and downs.  It hurts, you want to quit, I think you can’t make it,  you get discouraged.  But you know what, you can actually just keep going.  Sure, all that hurt and discouragement is real, but it has nothing to do with being able to take one step after the other.  I learned that I could keep going regardless of feelings.
  • I quesioned myself as to whether I could even be a runner:I was till pretty fat when I started to run.  I had 70 more lbs to lose.  When I finally made it to my first marathon and saw that there were people way bigger than me way ahead of me, I realized anyone can run.  It was hard, but I just kept going.  Two miles, then 3, 4, 5, etc. all the way to 50.  Persevering with one foot in front of the other.

 The great thing about perseverance is that EVERYONE HAS IT!  Think about all the things you have persevered in.  We get masters degrees, stay married for 20 years, get promotions in our jobs, lose weight, take care of our kids even if our spouse isn’t there, we start businesses, we move on, we make good, we don’t stop, we keep going. 

We all have it in us. I am not trying to sound like a motivational speaker either.  This is just so true.  I didn’t know it or didn’t believe it before, but now I do.   So what did perseverance do for me?  I lost 133lbs total, kept it off for over a year, went from 12 minutes on a bike to 11 hrs and 47 minutes of running non-stop, I went from eating the whole large pizza to eating only 2 pieces.  It is possible.  NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER STOP!

This post can also be viewed at this blog

15 Responses to “Perseverance: Key in losing weight, attaining goals, and living life!”


  1. 1 Angela
    January 26, 2009 at 3:27 am

    This man speaks the truth! I weigh 279 pounds and I’m doing the “Couch to 5k” program. Just start small, and keep telling yourself to “get up!” Kudos Jason, you inspire me every single day.

  2. 3 johnisfit
    January 26, 2009 at 3:42 am

    I think it is very important to remember that it is a journey – although maybe I am just telling myself that because mine has been rocky!

    • 4 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 5:20 am

      Oh no, just take a look at the secret page. We ALL have a rocky journey. That is just how life is. Up and down and up and down then smooth then up, etc. Thanks for your contribution

  3. January 26, 2009 at 4:27 am

    Great post, Jason. The only way to ensure you will not win is to quit while you are down. Perseverance is the key.

    • 6 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 5:22 am

      I see it as the most essential key. Stopping your efforts on the journey is the surest way to not get to the finish line. Thanks South Beach

  4. January 26, 2009 at 5:06 am

    Awesome post, Jason! I especially like the reminder that we persevere in other areas of our lives, not just weight loss. I can’t say it enough, really, you have and are doing an amazing transformation in your life! Rock on!!!

    • 8 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 5:22 am

      Yes, sometimes I forget that I have accomplished other great things and that I can do the weight loss thing too. Thanks Lter.

  5. January 26, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Thanks…this was just what I needed to read this morning. I’m noticing some really good changes in my body, so I decided to get on the scale a day early. It is showing a .2 gain. It is sooo disappointing to see a gain (even if it is small) when you are working so hard. But I know that I MUST keep fighting through this disappointment.

    • 10 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 7:40 am

      Yes, just keep on keeping on. .2 lbs could have been anything. I have actually gained around 9 lbs in one day onlyl to show a loss for the week. Our bodies are amazing and if you are working really hard on your muscles, they are likely to retain some water to heal up. Great job and keep up the good work. Thanks for stopping by and God bless ya.

  6. January 26, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Words of truth there. It also requires dedication.

  7. January 26, 2009 at 9:58 am

    You are really encouraging. I’ve recently started running and I’m way overweight too. I can do nearly 2 miles but I worry about my knees. They don’t hurt, it’s just that I did injure them a few months back. Now I’m a bit gun-shy. Did running while you were over-weight have any adverse affects on your body?

    Also I wanted to say that Steve’s comment about the only way to ensure you won’t win is to quit while you’re down. That’s great, eh?

    • 14 run4change
      January 26, 2009 at 10:02 am

      I have never had problems with my knees from running or any other activity. The only time my knees hurt is when I am running with shoes that are worn out. Then they might hurt some for an hour or so. Then it is gone. If you knees worry you, maybe you could take some walk breaks and slow the pace down some. The faster and harder you go, the more stress it puts on your body I think.

      Steve was sure right with that comment. It is a 100% guarantee that you will not make it to the finish line if you quit. Thanks a lot for your comment and your encouragement.


Leave a Reply

