27
Jan
09

Cold hands? Keep ’em warm with these running gloves!

Mizuno running gloves

Mizuno
Little Miss asked a question about keeping hands and feet warm.  My hands are always cold and I hate it.  I tried lots of different types f gloves and finally found a pair that worked really well. 
These Mizuno Running Gloves turn moisture into warmth.  It has something to do with the material used to make the gloves.  So in the rain or with sweaty hands, the gloves get a little warmer.  They have never failed me yet.  I have even used them skiing and they are very thin gloves. 
I have used some other types of gloves including some heavy duty Brooks gloves.  None of them worked as well as the ones pictured here.  Another very important thing to consider is the fit of the gloves.  Gloves that fit tightly never keep your hands as warm as well as loosely fitted ones.  The air just moves around you hand more in a the loose fit.  The tight fitting gloves also cut off circulation which is a nemesis to warmth.  Good luck on staying warm.
 
As for keepig your feet warm, I have no idea. Thin Smart wool socks are the best in my opinion for keeping feet warm, but running and most walking shoes have so much open space to make them breathable that they are not good at warmth.  Fit is also important for socks.  I have had my toe nails fall off because of doing long runs in socks that don’t fit well.
9 Responses to “Cold hands? Keep ’em warm with these running gloves!”


  1. January 27, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Excellent. I am going to pick up some of those gloves this week, and some decent socks. I could only manage two 20 minute stretches yesterday because I was so bleedin’ cold! Mostly my hands. Thank you, Jason.

  2. January 27, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Good to know! I have been wondering how well this new “Breath Thermo” fabric works.

    Thanks!

  3. 5 Anna
    January 27, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Stumbled upon your blog doing research for my blog called Cold Hands! We specialize in products to relieve cold computer hand pain, i.e. a cold mouse hand. Just curious if your readers ever get freezing fingers and hand when sitting at the computer? Gloves don’t work because there’s no grip on the mouse. But, we found other products: Mouse Hand Warmers, heated mice and heated mouse pads.

    Thanks for the post. Love the gloves, too.

    • 6 run4change
      January 27, 2009 at 9:06 pm

      Hi Anna, thanks for stopping by. I am glad that you liked the post. I actually wear gloves at my work while on the computer sometimes. It is like 30-40 degrees at my work so it is cold

  4. February 11, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Interesting. I’m curious as to the temps/wind chill you’ve run with them in? I’ve tried a few different pairs of gloves and glove combinations for some of the extreme temps here in MN. Thanks!

    • 8 run4change
      February 11, 2009 at 9:40 am

      To be totally honest, the temps are not that extreme where I live. Maybe in the 20’s at the lowest. I do where the same gloves skiing underneath my ski gloves too. I guess I just have cold hands. THanks for stopping by. I appreciate you contribution


Leave a Reply

