28
Jan
09

Super Skinny Super Models: Give me something beefier!

pennilessjellyfish.webs.com

image credit: pennilessjellyfish.webs.com

If you haven’t already, make sure to subscribe to my blog to stay inspired on your weight loss journey.
I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the modeling industry.  I had a friend back in the day who was a model.  She was 5’8″ and weighed 120 lbs.  After she became a model, they wanted her to lose 15 pounds.  That is crazy.  In order to do so, there was not much eating and a whole lot of partying.  The first picture from pennilessjellyfish had a comment by it that asked if guys thought that this was attractive.  I sure don’t think so.  Not that there is anything wrong with the girl, she just fell for the lie about health and  what is attractive.  The second picture dealt with Spain putting a ban on models that were too thin.  I like the idea myself.
I think that this overly thin look isn’t good for anyone.  It’s not good for the models, it’s not good for the kids, it’s not good for the adults, it’s not good for anything.  Sure it brings in the dough like crazy and that’s why they do it, but at what cost.  Most people have meat on their bones.  A whole lotta people have a whole lotta meat on their bones.  Boy, the pressure in that industry must be agonizing.  
I mean, I go to weight watchers and see all these wonderful and beautiful “real” women.  They will never look like this probably and I thank God for it.  They might want to look like this, but that is what makes me upset.  It ‘s good to have a visual image for your goal, but one that is healthily attainable as well as maintainable.  This is just my two-cents worth of course. 
20 Responses to “Super Skinny Super Models: Give me something beefier!”


  1. January 28, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I definitely think women need better media role models! It’s so sad that most women think THAT is what they should look like.

  2. January 28, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I am with you on the too skinny issue! They should make models look like your normal everyday women. Have you seen all the gossip about recent pictures of Jessica Simpson and how they are saying she’s fat now? Um hello, it’s called curves and they look great! It’s sad when society has gotten to the point, they put down anyone in the entertainment industry who looks normal.

    • 4 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 10:40 am

      It just is soo sad, I agree. A normal person is being made ugly by a bunch of people who are themselves just normal

  3. January 28, 2009 at 10:33 am

    I whole heartedly agree!

    • 6 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 10:40 am

      THanks for your comment. I totally love your name too. Beadie. It is great. I appreciate your contribution

  4. January 28, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Those photos are just gross! I would rather be my 192lb self than those poor girls. It makes me so sad that these images are so influential in the wrong way.

    • 8 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 10:42 am

      You are right. They influence people in the wrong direction. You don’t see those images of meth addicts attracting anyone to that lifestyle. You know what I mean. Why does this unhealthy lifestyle have to attract so many.

  5. 9 robfitness
    January 28, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I agree as well those photos are quite appalling! I don’t mean to be judgmental but they are. The reality of it is what it is though. I feel the problem starts at a very young age when the kids are growing up and these parents have 4 and 5 year old already in beauty pageants. The pressure that the parents put these kids under should be a form of child abuse. To me this is the how it all begins the children are taught at a younger age that they have to be thin to be beautiful and as the grow up the thought is still in the back of there head and not only in there heads but at the people promoting them as well.
    Just thought I’d add my 2 cents in as well.
    Again another great post to get a good topic out there. It is the reality of it, a sad part though.

    • 10 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 11:31 am

      It is hardcore reality, I really saw the truth when that girl friend I had became a model. The industry as a whole is destructive in my opinion. Thanks for your contribution Rob

  6. 11 maggieapril
    January 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    It’s ok to be skinny if that’s who you are naturally. I have a cousin who was always super thin – I guess she just had a very high metabolism. But never at the expense of your health. And I agree, promoting these types of images is a diservice to our youth.

    • 12 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 2:18 pm

      That is so true also. My wife had a friend in college who was totally skinny. I mean really skinny. She was always asked if she had an eating disorder. My roommates in college were also skinny, as guys they wished they could gain weight so bad. They actually said that they wished they looked like me. HAHA:)

  7. 13 myweightylossjourney
    January 29, 2009 at 2:07 am

    I need to loose weight. I want to loose weight. I want to be thin. I do NOT want to be skinny. I have curves, and although they are too big at the moment, I want to keep them. It is sad when girls / women think this is what they should look like.

    • 14 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 5:30 am

      Honestly, I love the curves the God gave women. They are wonderful if you ask me. THanks for your comment.

  8. January 29, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I think that the model in your post is looking like she is dying. Unfortunately, I see death and dying regularly working in a long term care facility- and she looks like death. It’s definitely not healthy.

    • 16 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 10:56 am

      My wife worked in one of those for a long time too. SHe now is a nurse at a heart clinic (dream job basically). Thanks for your comment

  9. 17 Sophie
    April 4, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Hi,

    I just want to ask you, if I can use the little picture of the model for my website.

    My website is an German one and is about my everyday-life with my eating disorder. I want to use the picture for my website as an example for unhealthy looking bodies.

    Sorry for my English but I’m still a student.

  10. 19 Tom Bryne
    October 28, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Yah dat’s right curvy and shapely girls look hotter than those thin model’s. No offense but those model’s looks like they came from a starving country in africa. 5″8 with the weight of 120 lbs. oh come on that’s to light for her height….. : )


Leave a Reply

