28
Jan
09

I can see the future, but only through a fog!

Low visibility skiing

I can see into my future.  I can see my wife and I, driving up to the mountain with wild kids; all with our ski equipment in tow.  Oh what fun it will be.  In the picture above, you can see that I couldn’t see very far in front of myself during our last ski outing.  It was a blast, but the low visibility got me a little stressed out.

I can see what I want in my family’s future, but at the same time I have low visibility of it all.  I have hopes and I have fears associated with raising healthy children. This post is just about my anticipation of raising kids in an active family.  My wife and I will be starting that journey very soon.  Right now I am just enjoying the practice with this new body of mine.  HAHAHA  But in all seriousness, I want to have a healthy family who does active things together.  Be it riding bikes, running with my baby in stroller, hikes, talk-walks.  Oh I would love to have talk-walks with my daughter.  I don’t want my kids to have to be obese and feel bad about being fat.  I will love them nonetheless, but I don’t want that for them.  I am scared that I will fail in this area.  I worry that I will not set a good example of health for them.  I want to be at ease knowing that my children will experience life with a healthy, active, and participatory dad.  The good thing is that I am on the right track.  I have my goals and desires laid out before me.  I hope that this will lead the way to a healthy future.

17 Responses to “I can see the future, but only through a fog!”


  1. January 28, 2009 at 4:52 am

    I was wondering what happened to this post. It showed up on my blogroll yesterday and then it disappeared. You are already a step ahead of the game, Jason. You have thought it out and you are planning when and how to raise your children. They are very fortunate indeed. Parenting is hands-down the scariest thing I have ever done, but it is so worth it. At the end of the day, we do the best with what we have at the time.

  2. January 28, 2009 at 6:38 am

    My three children could not be more different from each other in every way. In just body type: one is average-tall and very thin; one is very tall and average weight; one is average height and overweight. They all come from the same household, eat the same food, etc.

    The overweight one is also the most physically active. He rows on a Crew team and has quite a bit of upper body muscle mass. But, also, a large belly. I worry about that belly and possible future health problems as much as I worry about his grades.

    It is frustrating when you realize as a parent that you cannot “fix” everything.

    • 4 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 6:43 am

      THey are their own people I guess. Everyone is different. I just hope to give my kids the best shot at health that I can. Thanks for sharing Lindarx. I appreciate it

  3. January 28, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I want to be wherever that picture was taken! Great post.

  4. January 28, 2009 at 7:11 am

    I think it’s so great you have these healthy aspirations for your future family. While I grew up in a loving home with a wonderful family, we weren’t active at all. My parents are both overweight and never did anything outdoors. I grew up overweight and had an eating disorder, and never really got any exercise. My first time ice skating was only a few years ago with my boyfriend. The same goes for skiing, cycling, and hiking. I wish I was introduced to these things when I was much younger, but at least they’re a part of my life now. Your future children will be very lucky to have you and your wife as parents. They will be introduced to great things and will learn how to take good care of their bodies and minds.

    • 8 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 7:16 am

      Thanks for such a wonderful and inspiring comment. That got me pretty excited about the future. Thanks for making me feel good about it.

  5. January 28, 2009 at 8:08 am

    You are not fat or unhealthy. You are the exact opposite! Your kids won’t have known the ‘heavy’ you – they will only see you for what you are. Plus, kids only think of their parents as parents, not about who they were before they became parents – I’m 23 and I still think it’s a bit weird that my parents were once teenagers!
    In my experience with my parents (I don’t have kids yet) they taught us by example. They didn’t preach or scold. What they did, in all aspects of life, my siblings and I just thought of as normal. Your kids will grow up thinking that all dads run marathons, that being active and healthy is normal and fun. You’ll do just great!

  6. 11 robfitness
    January 28, 2009 at 9:47 am

    I am sure with all that you have learned and experienced you’ll be the best Dad ever. You have come a long ways on this journey and have overcome many of obstacles. It’s these obstacles that we learn from and if you would have never experienced them then how could you lead by example then. If that makes any sense. At least in the future you can show your children this blog and they’ll realize and see the strength that you have to overcome in our journey of life.
    God I hope I am making sense here. I know what I want to say but the words just are typing out clearly. Plus with your strength and your spirituality you have so much good to teach and raise your kids with. So keep on practicing, my friend, and have fun 🙂

    • 12 run4change
      January 28, 2009 at 10:15 am

      HAHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHA 🙂 You said keep on practicing. Thanks a lot Rob. I always appreciate your advice and encouragement so much. That is funny that you said that you wondered if you were making sense. It all made perfect sense to me, but I have times where when I write a post or a comment and I feel the same way. It seems all jumbled up and random to me. HAHA

  7. January 28, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Bet you missed me today….been gone all day and am now trying to catch up. My you have been busy blogging away! You know, the fact that you are even thinking about these things now shows that you are gonna succeed. It is when “there is no vision, that people perish” YOu have a vision for your family, just keep it in the forefront and you will do fine!

  8. 15 lissa10279
    January 29, 2009 at 11:32 am

    You’re well on your way!! Great attitude.

    • 16 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 11:34 am

      Thanks a lot. That makes me feel much better about it. I appreciate your encouragement. You are an awesome blogger and I get a lot of inspiration for both my health and blogging journey from you. Thanks a million


Leave a Reply

