29
Jan
09

5 ways to fight off fat paranoia!

agoraphobia

Fat person paranoia.  Oh yes, those dreaded thoughts of anguish that people are looking at us and  our extra weight in horror.  Those crazy thoughts that we all have (I still have them).  The ones where we seem to think that others notice the tiniest details of our chunkiness.  I was reminded of this by a friend who is on this journey with us.  Here is what jogged my memory:

“Ya know, I was always afraid of talking to “in shape” looking people, especially men. Fat my whole life, I figured they all made fun of me, or looked down at me, or felt sorry for me. Part of my fat person mentality is definitely that all skinny people think negatively of me. I appreciate and applaud you for sharing your story. If I saw you on the street, I never would have thought you’ve gone on the journey that you have through your life.”

So here are 5 simple ways to fight off this ugly beast.

  1. Remember all of the people who love/loved you the “weigh” you were before.  You are a special person who is worth the effort and the love of others.
  2. Focus on and be proud of the hard work that you are doing.  If you are not doing the work yet and you are just walking to the starting line, let this be a fire under your rear to help get you motivated.
  3. Remember that they are just people, albeit skinny people.  They have there own fears.  They are probably having the same paranioa as you.  I am skinny now and I think that way sometimes, but I guess I still have a “fat mind”.
  4. Realize that they could have lost weight themselves and have the “fat mind” at work in their lives as we speak.
  5. Take it to heart that you are the captian of your own ship and you are going to make a huge difference in your life.  This is the “I don’t give a darn what you think, even though you are not thinking it, I just think you are thinking it!”  How’s that for a simple remedy.

Bonus:  There is a thing called the looking glass self.  Teens have it to the max.  They feel that everyone is focused on them all the time.  The truth is, no matter how big we are or how ugly we look, for the most part people just care about themselves when you’re out there in the public.  They have things to do, places to go, and work to get done.

Hope this helps a little with your paranoia.  It is all too real to me.  I have felt like the wonderful woman who posted the comment a million times.  Be blessed and have a great day.

10 Responses to “5 ways to fight off fat paranoia!”


  1. January 29, 2009 at 5:51 am

    Thanks for the reminder Jason. There have been sooooooo times in my life when I let my weight keep me from doing the things that I wanted to do. Fear that I was too big or that others would think that I was too big just kept me away. A couple of years ago, we went on a cruise. There were two things that I wanted to do but was afraid of everyone else’s eyes being on me. Swimming with the dolphins and doing a zipline adventure. I did them anyway!! They were both incredible. I was honestly afraid that someone would tell me that I was too big — that the dolphins wouldn’t be able to do the “tricks” with me. But it was incredibly fun and I forgot how big I am while I was in the water. You are right, I’m sure everyone in our group was so focused on the fun that they were having that they didn’t focus on my weight.

    Here’s to lots of years of fun adventures where weight isn’t a factor — physically or mentally.

    • 2 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 5:59 am

      Yes, here’s to those wonderful years ahead Jennileigh. Thanks for your contribution. It is appreciated.

  2. January 29, 2009 at 7:05 am

    I definitely still have the “fat voice” in my head, even though it’s been a few years since I’ve been overweight (like you). After going to therapy for over a year now, I’ve accepted that those voices may never go away. So, I’ve added another voice to my head! When I hear the fat voice, my healthy voice responds by telling me I’m being silly and to not focus on unimportant things like that. Sometimes the fat voice is louder, and sometimes the healthy voice is. It will always be a battle, but I’d rather have my healthy voice on my side than combating the fat voices unarmed.

    • 4 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 7:07 am

      Oh ya, totally agree. Thanks for your great contribution today. I appreciate it and I am sure others do to. Have a great day

  3. 5 sarahlovesfood
    January 29, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Oh gosh, you quoted me!! This was a great post. It’s interesting how a few nice skinny people can really change my perspective on myself and how people look at me. You’re great, Jason. See you in 2010 🙂

    • 6 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 9:18 am

      HAHAHA, YES YES YES. I will see you in 2010. don’t forget now. THanks for the inspiration for this post

  4. January 29, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Heh…quite right…we are all too worried about ourselves to care about what others look like!


Leave a Reply

