29
Jan
09

Best of both worlds. Got my chips but kept my points. Well, some of ’em

kettle chips baked

Last night I still wanted to eat those darn kettle chips.  A special person from the WW message boards recommended that I get the baked Kettle chips instead.  She posted the cals., fat, fiber.  Very helpful and encouraging person. So I got some last night and I think I made a big step towards health, at least in my own mind.  Instead of getting the fully fried kind that I really wanted in the full sized bag, I did something different.  I bought the baked ones in a personal sized bag.  This to me was a balanced effort to eat what I wanted yet stay on the healthier side of things too.  So here I am, eating my wonderful snack.  It amounted to 7 points.  Another amazing thing is that I only ate 3/4 of the bag and gave the rest to my wife.  By the way, these chips beat the pants off of baked lays because they are actual potato slices rather than compressed mashed potatoes.

 

 

kettle chips baked 2

I had a wonderful run last night too.  I did 6 miles at a 8:51 pace.  That is pretty good for me.  My new training program calls for more pace work to enhance my fitness instead of all loooooooooooooooooong slow running.  Long slow running got me in the shape that I am in and it is a great base, but as you know, I want more balance.  I don’t want to run for 14 hours a week anymore.  The program will get me in shape for my races in a little different fashion.

Other than the chips, my eating went well.  I used 11 of my extra 35 points after eating my dinner and some popsicles. Over all it was a good WW day and night.

28 Responses to “Best of both worlds. Got my chips but kept my points. Well, some of ’em”


  1. 1 Kim
    January 29, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Where does one find baked Kettle chips? I have never heard of such a thing! If I had known that, I might have been able to have MORE!!!!

    • 2 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 10:58 am

      HAHAHA, They are with the regular chips. If they are not there they also put them into the organic/natural stuff. I usually stay away from that area though. I don’t trust the organic and natural stuff.

  2. January 29, 2009 at 10:41 am

    BAKED kettle chips, you say? I haven’t seen those, but I should look for them 🙂

    • 4 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 10:59 am

      I am tellin you. They are leaps and bounds better than baked lays. They are actually similar in texture to the deep fried ones. It was a great find.

  3. 5 Kim
    January 29, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Where in the world do you get BAKED Kettle CHips? Never heard of or seen these before!! I could have had more than 15 chips!!!!

    • 6 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

      I think that 20 chips is a serving and there is 4 servings in the bag that you see. It was 10 points for the whole bag and 7 for the amount that I ate.

  4. 7 Kim
    January 29, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Sorry to have posted twice…usually it says my comment is awaiting moderation….it didn’t so I thought maybe I didn’t really hit the submit button!

  5. January 29, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Well you just put me to shame. LOL. The other day I ate almost the entire bag of the bbq kettle chips..you know the ones. But what’s done is done. I’ll take a peek to see if I can find the kind you have next time I’m in the mood. Just curious…did you ever find counting points to get old? I’m struggling with the attitude that I’ll just guestimate my points or I lack counting points for dinner time. And with how far I have to go I know it’s not going to get me anywhere any faster. Did you ever go through that and if so what did you do to get past it?

    • 10 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 11:32 am

      I hope you come back and read my reply comment because I am happy to answer. Oh freakin yes that has happened to me. In fact, it goes in cycles. I think that this is just the nature of the journey. I go really good for a time where I measure, weigh, count points to perfection; then I get comfortable. That’s when I start to feel like a pro. at estimating my portions, my points, my activity minutes, etc. Then I stop losing or maintaining. I stop being as succesful, then I go back to being more proficient in my measuring, weighing, etc.

      So it is not that I feel like counting points is old, it is just that I get confident/cocky in my ability to estimate. After a while I find I am not as good as I thought and that is when I revert back to doing it the other way. Does that make sense?

  6. 11 lissa10279
    January 29, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I love these in BBQ flavor — hickory smoke or something, delicious and I can totally stop after a few.

  7. January 29, 2009 at 11:58 am

    It totally dose make sense. I just want to be able to trust myself and that I know what to choose without having to check points, count points, write everything down, measure it, try to make my points stretch, etc. I know that’s not the case…because If I knew how to choose I wouldn’t be in this place to begin with. agghh some days I just feel like it’s a lot of work, and I think “okay I just busted my ass, am I skinny yet”. lol.

    • 14 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      HAHAHA, I still ask myself if I am skinny yet. Overtime it gets a little easier and you learn what you can do to make things work specifically for you. Keep up the good work. You are doing awesome.

  8. 15 maggieapril
    January 29, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    LOVE Kettle Bakes!! At my grocery store they are hidden on the very bottom row. The secret is to weigh (not count) them. A serving is 1 ounce and 2 WW points. 4 ounces total weight = 8 total points per bag. So you have more flex points left this week than you thought – always a good thing!!

  9. January 29, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    It just goes to show that we can have our favourite foods as long as we budget them into our healthy lifestyles. I’ll be looking for some baked chips tomorrow!

  10. January 30, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I had a really intense craving for pepsi and pretzels yesterday. I don’t even like pretzels. I wanted a nap. But you wanted some Kettle chips, and this was a superb compromise. Way to have your chips and eat them too.

    Hey also, you noted that you are training harder for shorter periods of time — could you share your training regime?

    • 20 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 6:00 am

      THanks p4. As you know, I love it when you come over to my house and talk 🙂 Thans for visiting. i will talk to you soon

  11. 21 Angela
    January 30, 2009 at 6:30 am

    As you already know Jason, your blog is my morning therapy and my motivation to run for yet another day. This image of you eating chips is hilarious! I must just be loopy today, but I seriously have tears from giggling at you and your wife taking the time for this “photo shoot.” Although you have opened a can of worms for me now, because I have never even tasted Kettle Chips and now I want to try some. Uh oh! Thanks for the fun stories….

    • 22 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 6:33 am

      You know what, just stick to the baked ones. I promise you that they are actually a very good chip. High quality and real. If you only try these and not the fried kettles, you would be a blessed woman and better off.

  12. 23 Candice
    January 30, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Why do you say you don’t trust organic and natural foods?

    • 24 run4change
      January 31, 2009 at 5:15 am

      It is not that I don’t trust the food itself. It is that I don’t really think that there is much difference. I will say that “organic” does mean something and that to be “certified organic” requires producers to pay annual fees to be certified as well as process audits to remain certified. Natural on the other hand is not that way. I could actually go on for a long long time about this but I probably should not.

  13. 25 Candice
    January 31, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    After reading about these baked chips, I bought some for the first time and had a 1 ounce serving and they are quite good. Definitely worth 2 points. It’s nice to hear about and try new items.

    • 26 run4change
      January 31, 2009 at 11:56 pm

      That is great Candice. I shared some with my wife tonight myself. Tasty morsels they were. THanks for the confirmation that they are yummy. I appreciate your comment.

  14. 27 Angela
    February 1, 2009 at 6:32 am

    I earned 14 activity points yesterday between boxing and running, so for a treat with my turkey mini, I searched for your chips. Couldn’t find the baked ones, so I bought the regular ones and took them to work to share. I’m happy to say I didn’t like them enough to have more than a few. Hope we can still be pals. 🙂

    • 28 run4change
      February 1, 2009 at 8:33 am

      You rock. I find that if I can plan ahead of time to share an item that might be slightly dangerous, I have a better performance in the eating area. Great job and 14 ap’s kicks booty. THat is awesome. I suppose we can still be friends even though you insulted the attractiveness of my other friend (kettle chips) HAHAHAHA 🙂


Leave a Reply

