29
Jan
09

Thinking about doing a contest, what do you think?

skiing-1-18-9-002I was inspired by Teresa over at mammawantsasixpack yesterday.  She commented on my post about seeing the embarrasment in peoples eyes as I run by them.  She said this about the title to the post,

“You should put that on a t-shirt! Then you can wear it on your run and heck I’d buy it and wear it to the gym.”

So I got this idea to do a contest where someone can win a shirt that says that on it.  I have never done this and I have a few concerns about it.  I would love to hear your input regarding the few concerns that I have.  Here are my concerns, please leave a comment with your opinions/observations/recommendations.

  • What do you guys think of the general idea of a contest?
  • When someone wins the shirt, I will have to mail it to them.  That means I will have to get there address.  Does this weird you guys out?  My wife says that anyone who doesn’t want me to know their address just won’t take part.  What do you think?
  • What kind of contest would you like to have?  Throw out your ideas on this.

That is it for this little curiosity post.  Have a good day.

28 Responses to “Thinking about doing a contest, what do you think?”


  1. 1 Candice
    January 29, 2009 at 7:20 am

    A contest sounds like fun.

    Your wife is right.

    Can you clarify: What would the t-shirt say?

    • 2 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 7:22 am

      The recommendation was that the T-shirt say,”I can see it in your eyes, but can you see it in mine.” Or I could just make a cool run4change shirt too, not sure. Thanks a lot for your feedback.

  2. January 29, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Personally, I love contests. They encourage you to push yourself a little harder for several reasons…bragging rights…the friendly competition/trash talking…prizes (no matter how big/small they are).

    If someone wanted to track down my address, they probably could. I don’t post it on the internet — but I would share it in order to get a prize. We do it all the time with various things like ebay, other internet ordering, etc. I agree with your wife…people afraid to give you their address just wouldn’t participate.

    Type of contest…hmmmm…not sure about this one. Maybe total calories burned through exercise for a specific number of days/weeks?

    • 4 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 7:32 am

      Thanks a lot Jennileigh, I love your feedback. I like the contest idea and I am now feeling a whole lot better about the address thing. I will certainly do a contest now.

  3. 5 robfitness
    January 29, 2009 at 7:37 am

    You know I have no problem giving you my address either. I trust Ya , bro…
    How about a contest of who can stay away and not eat any Kettle Chips 🙂 HA HA. or any other vises that one has. For me it’s peanut butter.
    If your doing a contest online like this I guess there would have to be total trust and honesty though. We can track weight loss over a period of time? I just believe that if you lie about your progress on your journey than you are really only hurting yourself anyways.

    • 6 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 7:41 am

      You bring up a valid point Rob. The honor system. I thought about this several times as I went over the idea. Not that I don’t trust everyone, it is just that as competitiveness is added to the mix, things change sometimes. By the way, I love peanut butter so much. It really it one of my favorite things ever. Just plain, or on bread, or on fruit, or on my finger HAHA. My wife hides it from me or I eat the whole jar in a week probably. Thanks for your help on this

  4. January 29, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Contests are always fun!
    I wouldn’t worry about the address thing. If someone doesn’t want you to have it, they can decline an entry, or use a PO box or whatever.

  5. January 29, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I love the quote and think its a great idea!

    As for the challenge… how about a treadmill challenge? Like having to do so many miles… like doing 5 or 10 miles.You can even say they have to post a picture of the face of the treadmill on their blog to prove it! Then you can even put everyones name who posted a pic into a bag and then randomly draw a winner.

    Whatever you decide.. .you can count me in!

  6. 11 Rebecca
    January 29, 2009 at 8:09 am

    A contest sounds like a great idea! I’m in!

    We’re about to kick off our second fitness challenge on our blog. The first one had some great response and results.

  7. 13 Katie
    January 29, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Great idea Jason! I agree with the others on the address issue. Maybe you should sell them too :). It’s a great quote!

  8. January 29, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I would love you to do a contest, but please leave it open to international bloggers too! All the contests on blogs are always for US bloggers and us international bloggers never get to take part in the fun! Thanks Jason!

  9. 17 Sarah
    January 29, 2009 at 8:31 am

    That is funny, when I read your post on this I thought the same thing ‘well if you had a shirt that said I lost 130lbs than it might change perspective’. A challenge sounds fun.

  10. January 29, 2009 at 8:32 am

    That’s a cool slogan. Would this be a tech-shirt or a cotton? Also, please no treadmill contests. I use the treadmill only when I have to and then only begrudgingly

    • 20 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 8:48 am

      HAHAHA, I don’t use one anymore either, but I though about getting one so I could do running in home when snow outside

  11. January 29, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I think a contest sounds fun. There are always give-aways going on in the food blogs. If people don’t want to share their info, they won’t participate.

  12. January 29, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Do it Jason, jsut do it!!!

  13. January 29, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Great idea. You could just have a random contest – more like a giveaway. I know that Roni (you know Roni right?) has some techy gizmo for her contests – she gets everyone who wants to enter to leave a comment on a post, then generates a random number and the comment that corresponds to that number gets the prize. Please please make it an international contest though!

    • 28 run4change
      January 29, 2009 at 2:24 pm

      Do you think that random selection of a winner would be better than the readers voting for the contest idea that they thought was best.


Leave a Reply

