30
Jan
09

Great speed work, bad finish!

lost-keys-001

You can see the fog particals in the upper part of the pic

I did it.  It was a real victory for me to do the speed work.  What is speed work?  It is a running work out where you go to the track, run 1 or 2 times around at a particular pace.  Usually your 5k or 10k race pace.  You do it like weight lifting, with reps.  I did 6 reps at my 5k pace which was waaay faster than I imagined I could run.  My new program calls for more of this type of training because I don’t want to spend all my time running.  It is a more specific running program to take advantage of the limited time that I have.  Many call these work outs, “quality runs”.  In between each 5k pace lap I did push-ups, crunches, and lunges (oh lunges are evil but they are so good for you).  It was a very taxing time.

You may be asking yourself, “So what does that picture have to do with this post?”  Let me tell you.  The track is a little over a mile away from my work.  I ran there so when I was done I had a cool down run going back.  After my run; I get to my office, gather my stuff, feel around in my pockets and, “Arrgghh, my keys, where I are my keys. I can’t find my keys.”  Thus, I put this picture up.  I lost my dang keys during my runs.  It was 6 pm at this point, fog had rolled in really heavy and it was also dark now.  I had to go back track my route with very tired legs to try and find my keys.  I walked and walked and walked in dense fog with a flashlight keeping my eyes peeled for the keys.  They turned up at the track where I was doing the crunches.  Wow, so happy I found them.

As a side note, it was a personal victory for me also that I did not get angry and all pissed off that I had lost my keys.  I stayed calm and collected and figured I just needed to back track to find them.  This is huge for me.  Normally I would have gotten really mad and maybe made an excuse to go eat bad bad yummies.  In my mind though I thought I would go out to eat somewhere.  My lovely and wonderful wife drove 20 minutes from home just to help me find the keys.  I found them by the time she got there so she just drove me back to my work.  She had already eaten so I put away the idea of going out to eat.  Ended up eating 1 cup of egg beaters, 2 extra thin corn tortillas, 2 pieces of toast, 1 piece of light string cheese, and veggies.  Very tasty I must say.

11 Responses to “Great speed work, bad finish!”


  1. 1 run4change
    January 30, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Just a test to see if this is working or not

  2. 2 run4change
    January 30, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Ok Rob, It looks like it is working ok now. Hope to hear what you have to say about this post soon

  3. 3 Kim
    January 30, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Great job Jason! way to run fast and not get mad!!! then to eat well on top of that!! EMotional eating is such a killer for me! Just caught myself this morning and last night doing it…all cuz I am nervous about something I am doing tomorrow….ok REALLY nervous!

    • 4 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Not sure if you ever read any post’s that mentioned my favorite teacher in the world Willard Tate, but here is something he told me. It was regarding my nervousness to speak in fron of others (5000 extually) regarding my christian testimony. He was also a professional Teacher, Pastor, and Motivational Speaker. He told me that he got nervous every time that he was going to speak at a motivaitonal conference or a church meeting. I ased him why since he was very seasoned at it. He said it made him remember that that what he was about to do was important for him and others. Now, without putting un-due pressure on myself, I realize that my nervousness is just way that my mind and body are telling me, “Go for it Jason. you are doing something good.”

      On another note, I always get nervous if I am going to get into trouble. HAHAHAHA

  4. 5 Kim
    January 30, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Wow, i wanna print this out and take it with me tomorrow!!!What agrea perspective. Cuz what I am doing tomorrow has the potential of being important for others, but for sure very very important for me and my journey….Thank you sooo much for writing that comment!! That has seriously made my day and changed my perspective from tomorrow being potentially horrifying and embarrassing and shame filled to being something powerful and amazing and life changing!

    • 6 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 12:13 pm

      Woah! did it just get cold in here. I got the chills. Thanks for your comment. That made me feel great. Good luck and you already inspire us, and you will do it tomorrow too!

  5. 7 robfitness
    January 31, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Well I did finally get to post a comment on here 🙂 Must have been my computer causing the issue. You should be proud of yourself doe not allowing the situation with your keys get the best of you. Great job in conquering that obstacle. So have you learned a lesson for this experience. maybe by a chain and keep you one key on it and wear it around your neck. Either that or the sell this little packet that is attached to you shoe laces that can hold a couple of keys while your running. That way you won’t lose them no matter what activity you are doing.
    Another thing bro.. I am still trying to figure what that picture is! 🙂
    Keep you the great work and by the way… You da Man too 🙂

    • 8 run4change
      January 31, 2009 at 11:02 am

      Thanks Rob. That is a pic of my keyless entry remote that I lost. I usually will leave my keys in the car and just keep the remote with me so there is no jingling. Thanks for you encouragement. Now I have a spare at work, with my wife, and one on my work keys. I should be good now. 🙂

      Also, I think maybe something was wrong with the comments. I hardly had any yesterday and I usually get a lot of them, so hopefully it is fixed now. I was really missing everyones comments. Thanks again.

  6. February 1, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I love interval training. And, over time, it van really improve your speed and like lactate threshold and shit. I used to do it on a path by the canal but when you start sprinting for apparently no reason it scares the shit out of people on like dates or walks with their children or dogs or whatever. Not that I am equating children with dogs. The running room’s marathon training schedule puts interval training and hill training back-to-back — personally, I think the day after interval training should be treated like the day after a long run: normal running, or better yet recovery crosstraining.

    Way to not get mad about your keys. I have lost my keys so often I kind of just expect it of myself at this point ; )

    Have a good week,

    p4.

    • 10 run4change
      February 1, 2009 at 3:26 pm

      I hope the intervals will help me in the long races. THis a very new way of going at running so I am curious. THanks for your input. I will keep you updated. You so funny about taking off on a sudden sprint. HAHAHAHA 🙂


Leave a Reply

