30
Jan
09

Heal and relieve sore muscles in the comfort of your own home!

My tiger stickIf your muscles are sore and you are hobbling around, you can speed up your healing process.  Being sore is a good thing usually, but it is never a pleasant thing.  The picture in this post is of my “Tiger Tail”.  Many runners use this and other massage tools to roll out sore muscles. 

The purpose of these tool is to slowly and easily push out some of the lactic acid that has built up due to hard workouts and long runs.  I have found it to be pretty useful.  I am not 100% sure that it works great, but I am 100% sure that it feels great.  So maybe you should give it a try.  They are not too expensive and if you don’t want to buy one, dig through your kitchen and find a rolling pin.  It will do the same thing, and it is what I used for a long time before I bought this one at the Seattle Marathon.

The one that I use is rigid and it is called The Tiger Tail  I really have enjoyed it. Since it is rigid, it gives more of a focused massage than othe tools.  Because of this, you can use it to massage other sore parts of your body.

The most popular self-massage tool for runners is called The Stick.  It is not rigid like The Tiger Tail and it has small rollers on it.  The Stick will conform to your leg more.  I like a little more pressure so the rigid feel is better for me.  The Stick gives a great whole muscle massage.

Another very popular massage tool for runners is the simple foam roller.  This is commonly used for overuse injuries to the IT band.  That is a common problem with people who never talk walk breaks and push it every time they go out for a run.  This tool is effective at loosening the IT up.

Here are a couple more articles about self massage for runners.  Also keep in mind, that these tools are not for runners only.  Any exercise induced soreness can be relieved a bit with any of these tools.

Runner’s World article on massage

Foam Roller information and use

8 Responses to “Heal and relieve sore muscles in the comfort of your own home!”


  1. January 30, 2009 at 4:07 am

    I have been having IT Band trouble for a few years and it is really discouraging. It gives me trouble everywhere from my lower back, knees and right to my ankles, on both legs. I had phsyio and training but unfortunately it is something I will just have to live with and be constantly building its strength. I will definitely be using my rolling pin to relieve some soreness, thanks for the tip!

    • 2 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 5:16 am

      I am really sorry about your IT Band issues. It must be really discouraging and madning as you say. I have heard that it is a son of a gun once the issues start, but i have read that strengthening, stretching, and massaging can help. THanks Rebecca 😦

  2. January 30, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I use the Foam Roller twice a day to work out my ITB tightness. It does help. That, and resting it will hopefully get me back into running soon.

    • 4 run4change
      January 30, 2009 at 5:51 am

      Thanks a lot for your contribution. I am so glad that I am hearing from people who have to deal with IT. I have been blessed to not have any problems thus far. Keep up the good work

  3. 5 Anonymous
    January 30, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Great tool choices are out there for assistance is massage therapy for healing the sore spots. Your listed choices look great and we will look into those items.
    Massage Therapy Tools are a wonderful aid in finding relief of pain and discomfort, an easy way of zeroing in on the troubled areas to eliminate the CAUSE of stress. Why tools? Our bodies are in constant need of attention. Depending on how we live our lives and what we use as nourishment we can work with a tool accordingly on a daily basis without using an excess of energy, when we have the time. Even while relaxing on the sofa or in bed reading for instance, a wonderful time to also use a tool to help facilitate a speedier & deeper relaxation. It’s always available, never gets tired and no need to pay per session.

  4. 7 robfitness
    January 30, 2009 at 11:13 am

    My trainer used that on my back and shoulder when I was having some problems. Boy did it hurt yet boy did it feel great too.
    I have to mention something about your other post about your running and the fog…
    I tried to finish reading it and then was going to comment, but it gave me a error message. Don’t know if Word press is having issues or what. I was able to get here and read, Thank God, I need this fix of reading your blog 🙂
    Today is my day off from the gym 🙂 Love those days.
    A bit sore, but feeling good though.
    Man, thanks for everything again! Love the support you gave as well as all of the other bloggers here as well. With all your support and hep, I was able to work through my latest struggle. I think if it wasn’t for you and the others I would have kept falling. I thank God as well for the strength and for connecting me to you all.
    Till later.. have a awesome day!


Leave a Reply

