31
Jan
09

Tired and vulnerable: After work eating antics

Pic from musiccitybowl.com rib eating contest

Pic from musiccitybowl.com rib eating contest

 

 

There are times when I have a crazy day at work.  I leave work feeling exhausted with a sense of entitlement.  That sense of entitlement tells me that “I deserve to eat whatever I want when I get home.  I worked hard, I want to relax with my friend (food).  I am worth it.”   It’s not  always a conscious thought, sometimes it is just sitting in the back of my mind and I almost don’t notice it.  But then, when I least expect, my resolve flies out the window and I go for it.  It doesn’ t happen all the time, but it does happen.

I am learning to remember this scenario on my way home so that I can assess it and stop the steam train before it starts to pick up speed.  After all, it is only going to take 5 minutes for me to blow my points, it is not even going to be very satisfying, it might bring a gain at the scale, and I will feel guilty for a couple of hours.
So now when that sense of entitlement says, “I am worth it,”  I agree and tell it right back that since I am worth it, I am going to take care of myself, live longer, live happier, and stay thin.  That IS worth it.
 
Everyone has crazy days at work.  Do you ever let your weight loss guard down when you get home from work?  Take the poll.
8 Responses to “Tired and vulnerable: After work eating antics”


  1. January 31, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    When I go crazy at home after work, its usually because I didn’t have an afternoon snack to tide me over until I can cook something and/or I haven’t got ingredients in for quick healthy meals. I think the “I’ve worked hard so i deserve X” attitude -which I get sometimes – is due to my relationship with food, as I am trying to overcome thinking of food as a reward, or as a comfort, or a stress-busting mechanism. I’ve got to stop thinking of food that way.

  2. 3 myweightylossjourney
    February 1, 2009 at 1:54 am

    This is why I am so glad that I get my meals delivered. I don’t have to worry about working out what is good to eat for dinner, I just pull a meal from the freezer. It’s also great when I’ve been at the gym doing boxing, and my arms / legs / whole body is tired and sore, and all I want is pizza (pizza hut is right outside my gym!!!). I know I have a good healthy meal at home, so I don’t stop at pizza hut or any other junk food place on the way home!

    • 4 run4change
      February 1, 2009 at 8:28 am

      Good for you myweightlossjourney. Sounds like you have a fantastic plan of action for those tired days. Keep up the good work and go box the heck out of someone 🙂

  3. February 1, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    myweightylossjourney – pizza hut is outside your GYM! That’s insane! I sympathize though, I live 3 doors away from a fish & chip shop – battered, deep fried, chicken, fish, sausages, chips (fries for everyone outside of UK/Ireland!). I can smell them cooking when I open my front door.

  4. February 2, 2009 at 1:44 am

    It’s tough alright – my bus stops right outside the fish and chip shop, and it can be so tempting to grab dinner from there when I’m tired or just had a tough day – but I’ve asked the bus driver if he wouldn’t mind stopping a bit further up the road, so I don’t have to walk by the chippy. I’m the only person who uses that stop, so he/she usually doesn’t mind. Other than that, my best defence against the chippy when I’m tired/stressed is to make sure I have tasty, quick and healthy food in the fridge. Still, I’m glad its a chippy and not a pizza place – pizza is like my kryptonite!

    • 8 run4change
      February 2, 2009 at 5:22 am

      I would probably have more of a problem with the pizza myself too. I just love pizza. So versatile 🙂


Leave a Reply

